We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sanctuary Nam Ngum Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$35
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$40
US$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vang Vieng Rock Backpacker Hostel(Vang Vieng)(Great Value!)
US$24
US$14
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Vieng Tara Villa(Vang Vieng)
US$53
US$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Laos Haven Hotel(Vang Vieng)
US$21
US$17
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel(Vang Vieng)(Great Value!)
US$17
US$16
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
Bearlin Bungalow(Vang Vieng)
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pan's Place(Vang Vieng)(Great Value!)
US$8
US$7
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inthira Vang Vieng(Vang Vieng)
US$102
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
35
20
6
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
20
6
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfloating poolamazing locationrooms are niceone nightvan viengvang viennice viewkayaksleeplaosbungalowwifisunsetvv
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 68 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2017

Awesome place to spend your holidays. I had my weekends and the view over lake was wonderful. The hotel rooms are spacious and offer with balconies overlooking the lakes and small islands. After enjoying variety of outdoor activities like kayaking, bicycling, running, it was great to enjoy the floating pool which is inside the lake. This is a perfect spot to see the sunset too. The hotel manager is friendly and available for social chats on breakfast and dinner time at the restaurant which is located in the heart of the resort. It is exactly the place where you can enjoy your pleasant holidays with beautiful and serene environment. It is more than worthy to travel out of the city and avoid the busy places to see the truth nature.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Zin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Hote... L, Assistant Sales & Marketing at Sanctuary Nam Ngum Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2017

Dear customers,

On behalf of the entire team Sanctuary Hotels and Resorts we wanted to thank you for your interest in the Sanctuary Nam Ngum Beach Resort and the glowing review that you posted on us: It has made our day.
We are delighted to have been able to bring you satisfaction. Remembering it is fundamental for us to satisfy our guests, we ensure to meet your expectations at the best.

We are pleased to hear that you appreciated the exceptional setting, services offered by our hotel and especially our swimming pool: It is a true heaven of peace that offers both relaxing times with its sandy beach, the pool overhanging the lake, but also offers water activities, such as jet ski, kayaking, boat ride, for your enjoyment.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon, the whole Sanctuary Hotels and Resorts team and I wish you an agreeable day.

Best Regards,

Marion Dukiel – Assistant Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 25, 2017

The hotel and its location look fantastic but all that glistens is not gold.
There is no in-room wifi - in this day and age?? Really? You can only get it in public areas or maybe one bar if on your balcony.
Food options were limited and very poor and its a long walk back to the town / main street.
The rooms are amazingly well fitted out but it seems that some little extras have been ignored.
A hotel this new and impressive should not be skimping on things like in-room WIFI. :-(

Room Tip: Rooms nearer reception may be able to pick-up wifi.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Hote... L, Assistant Sales & Marketing at Sanctuary Nam Ngum Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2017

Dear customers,

Thank you for posting a comment on Tripadvisor on the Sanctuary Nam Ngum Beach Resort and for sharing your experience.

We are pleased to hear that you appreciated the environment and the modern design of our hotel.

We are disappointed not to have been able to bring you satisfaction concerning the restaurant. We sincerely believed to have a wide enough range to satisfy everybody’s taste. We offer a la carte menus to satisfy Western tastes but also Asian dishes. Be sure that I will personally take care to relay your comment to the chief.

Regarding the internet connexion, indeed it is available in the common areas of the hotel for the moment, we will install it very soon.

We wanted on behalf of the whole team to apologize for the inconveniences encountered during your stay at Nam Ngum.
Hoping sincerely to welcome you again to prove that we have been able to consider your comments, please accept our respectful greetings.

Best regards,

Marion Dukiel – Assistant Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 19, 2017 via mobile

The rooms and landscaping of the property are lovely. However, it is a long way from Vang Vieng town and nothing to do at the resort. There is a "swimming pool" in the dam but there was blue green algae in it and therefore unsafe to swim in. This applies to all the water sports you can do too: paddle boats, JetSki, etc. The restaurant has a very basic menu, we ate the same things both nights and juice is from cans and awful. The breakfast was very poor. I wouldn't recommend staying here, despite the nice rooms and location.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rapunzella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Hote... L, Assistant Sales & Marketing at Sanctuary Nam Ngum Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2017

Dear Customers,

Thank you for having left a comment on Tripadvisor on the Sanctuary Nam Ngum Beach Resort and for sharing your experience.

We are pleased to hear that you appreciated the rooms and the environment of our hotel.

Indeed, we are sorry that you have not been able to fully enjoy your stay among us, especially because of the sudden drop in the water of the lake, which has indeed caused several inconveniences. The problem is now resolved.

We are disappointed not to have been able to bring you satisfaction concerning the restaurant. Thank you for pointing out the disadvantages encountered during your meals. Be sure that I will personally take care of it and will relay this inconveniences to the chief.

On behalf of the whole team Sanctuary Hotels & Resorts we wanted to apologize for any problems encountered during your stay at Nam Ngum.
Hoping sincerely to welcome you again to prove that we have been able to consider your comments, please accept our respectful greetings.

Best regards,

Marion Dukiel – Assistant Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 17, 2017 via mobile

Pros
- great views
- contemporary design
- conversation pit

Cons
- apathetic / untrained staff without a leader
- pool had no chairs and needed a clean (couldn't see the bottom)
- restaurant limited menu and poor cooking standards

We're a group of 4 female travellers and we were super excited to arrive - we were aware that it was 22km from Vang Vieng but figured there would be easily accessible transport to town (for a fee of course). The resort is VERY difficult to find - there are 2 massive billboards with a map at either end of the town but as for turnoff signs and directions there were none. Our poor Laos driver ended up stopping to ask about 6 different local people for directions and they all seemed unaware of the resort. We eventually stumbled across it and we were very pleased - the view was amazing, the resort villas are stunning. We checked in and our room had a ladder inside and a dismantled air conditioner so we went back to reception and we switched rooms (slightly disappointing but fine). We went to the pool for a swim, the staff were there but the bar was closed because of New Years (okay, understand). We tried to hire canoes and paddle boats but couldn't because the staff member had gone home. We then went up to the restaurant to have a few cocktails (aka jet fuel) and then retired to our rooms to relax. The staff at the restaurant consistently took our orders and then sent another staff back to take our orders (I don't the first person could speak English). We ordered smoothies and juices but we're told they didn't have a blender. The next day we booked a driver to take us to the blue lagoon (we thought it was return but it seems it was only 1 way so we needed to find a return trip later). When we came back to our rooms they weren't made up, it seems the onus is on the guest to request this. Our breakfast on day 1 was a buffet and day 2 was a la carte. The omelette was uncooked in the middle so we didn't eat them. On checkout the CC machine wouldn't work so we had to scrape together the Laos KIP to cover it. Overall it was a strange experience - the resort just missed the mark. It's a shame because it is such a beautiful location. The staff don't seem to have a clear leader or direction and not much of a focus on hospitality (you feel like you're an inconvenience) and there isn't anything to do out there. There was 1 standout team member, unfortunately I don't recall his name (he was very new apparently and ran a school about 8 hours away in central Laos).

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank JBS85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Hote... L, Assistant Sales & Marketing at Sanctuary Nam Ngum Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2017

Dear customers,

Thank you for posting a comment on the Sanctuary Nam Ngum Beach Resort Tripadvisor page.

We are pleased to hear that you appreciated the environment with its sandy beach and swimming pool on the lake, as well as the modern design of our hotel.

My team and I are sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectations. Indeed during the Pi Mai festivities the staff is less attentive, moreover the manager was absent for personal reasons at the same time, which indeed may have suffered.

Concerning the restaurant, we are disappointed not to have been able to bring you satisfaction, we will do our best to improve our service. Be sure that I will personally take care of it and will relay the problem to the chief.

We regret not have facilitated the payment, the resort being away from the city center, and the circumstances of the festivities made it difficult for find people to help us.

Once again we wanted on behalf of the whole team to apologize for any problems encountered.

Hoping sincerely to welcome you again to prove that we have been able to consider your comments, please accept our respectful greetings.

Best regards,

Marion Dukiel – Assistant Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 13, 2017

Together as a couple we have travelled the earth in search of natural beauty, soft shorelines, heart softening sunsets and food to wake the senses. The Sanctuary offers all of this in a secluded and exclusive setting. Privacy and nature are elegantly weaved togethter and the beach and pool settings are comfortable and yet close to the villages where the fishermen wave as they pass the shore going out to the vastness of the Nam Ngum lake. Kayaking recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ChiefRockband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Hote... L, Assistant Sales & Marketing at Sanctuary Nam Ngum Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2017

Dear customers,

Thank you very much for your interest in Sanctuary Nam Ngum Beach Resort, and the glowing review that you posted on us.

We were delighted to be able to bring you satisfaction. Remembering it is fundamental for us to satisfy our guests, we ensure to meet your expectations at the best.

We are pleased to learn that you appreciate the environment of the hotel, indeed the Sanctuary Nam Ngum Beach Resort takes advantage of an exceptional natural setting, with its sandy beach and swimming pool on the lake, but also the water activities for your enjoyment.

Moreover, we are pleased to hear that you appreciate the services and facilities offered by our hotel.

Thank you again for choosing us for your stopover in Nam Ngum and we do hope to welcome you again someday soon,

Best Regards,

Marion Dukiel – Assistante Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews