We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to rest and relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sanctuary Nam Ngum Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

This place was a great place to go and relax and get some well deserved rest. View is great...rooms are nice and i thought the food was delicious. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Fyi there are local fishermen there and yes they like to start early but with doors close you can't here them, but I enjoy watching them make their living. I will say there was not much to do in area...unfortunately the water level was too low to enjoy any fun power water sports ( jet ski, wake boarding)..which I really wanted. But overall a great place. Thanks for a great stay.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank vil s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Hote... L, Assistant Sales & Marketing at Sanctuary Nam Ngum Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Dear customers,

Thank you very much for your interest in Sanctuary Nam Ngum Beach Resort and the kind review that you posted on our Tripadvisor page. Know that it goes heartening us.
We are pleased to hear that you appreciated the peaceful setting, as well as the services offered by our hotel.

We understand your disappointment with the various water activities, actually the level of water is currently insufficient to enjoy the activities on the lake. We hope that you made the most of the peace and tranquility of our location, the swimming which remains accessible, as well as appreciate the wonderful views that make Nam Ngum a real piece of paradise.

Thank you for your lovely comments on our helpful staffs. Your positive message have been shared with our team!

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you once again soon.
The whole Sanctuary Hotels and Resorts team and I wish you a pleasant day,

Sincerely,

Marion Dukiel – Assistant Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights, it was the best sleep I've had since traveling around Asia the only thing I would change is the pillows are pretty hard and aren't very fluffy! But that's ok, the rooms are big a spacious and the toilet/ shower are seperate which is wonderful!

You have to remember that this is a Sanctuary so it's in the middle of nowhere, if you want shops they are just over 1km away - its very peaceful and relaxing.

We ate at the restaurant every day which was delicious, great menu and service.

Dale I believe? The operations manager was very lovely and welcoming he sat down with us and had a drink. He took the time to know us and make sure we were comfortable.

If we ever travel back to Lao, we will be back here for sure!

Thank you


Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Hote... L, Assistant Sales & Marketing at Sanctuary Nam Ngum Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear customers,

On behalf of the entire team Sanctuary Nam Ngum Beach Resort we wanted to thank you for the glowing review you posted on us. It has made our day.

We are pleased to hear that you appreciated our rooms and the facilities. Our rooms are very comfortable, ergonomic with a sober and modern design.

As you pointed out, we have an exceptional and peaceful setting, you could enjoy the magnificent view of the lake, surrounded by mountains.

We are delighted that you appreciate the menu of our restaurant. Indeed, we offer a wide range to satisfy Western tastes but also Asian dishes for that all our customers find satisfaction.

Thank you for your lovely comments on our helpful staffs. Your positive message have been shared with our entire team!

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon, the entire Sanctuary Hotels and Resorts team and I wish you an agreeable day.

Best regards,

Marion Dukiel – Assistant Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed here one night as another accommodation was fully booked. They picked us uo from the other resort and brought us back the other day. The rooms are very very clean (shower and toilets are separate which I liked a lot). There are no wooden floors where bugs can hide and the bed is very comfortabel (the rooms are huge). I had the best sleep in months.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Constanze K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Hote... L, Assistant Sales & Marketing at Sanctuary Nam Ngum Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Dear customers,

On behalf of the entire team Sanctuary Hotels and Resorts, we wanted to thank you for the glowing review you posted on us: Know that it goes heartening us.

We are delighted to be able to bring you satisfaction. Indeed, we make sure to provide you with the greatest level of service and satisfaction at the Nam Ngum Beach Resort.

We are pleased to hear that you appreciated the services offered by our hotel. Our rooms are comfortable, decorated with a sober and modern design, and the internal layout in addition to the interior facilities are functional, allowing you to enjoy the magnificent view of the lake from your room.

Thank you again for choosing us for your stopover in Vang Vieng, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon!

The whole Sanctuary Hotels and Resorts team and I wish you a pleasant day,

Best Regards,

Marion Dukiel – Assistant Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

Awesome place to spend your holidays. I had my weekends and the view over lake was wonderful. The hotel rooms are spacious and offer with balconies overlooking the lakes and small islands. After enjoying variety of outdoor activities like kayaking, bicycling, running, it was great to enjoy the floating pool which is inside the lake. This is a perfect spot to see the sunset too. The hotel manager is friendly and available for social chats on breakfast and dinner time at the restaurant which is located in the heart of the resort. It is exactly the place where you can enjoy your pleasant holidays with beautiful and serene environment. It is more than worthy to travel out of the city and avoid the busy places to see the truth nature.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Zin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Hote... L, Assistant Sales & Marketing at Sanctuary Nam Ngum Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2017

Dear customers,

On behalf of the entire team Sanctuary Hotels and Resorts we wanted to thank you for your interest in the Sanctuary Nam Ngum Beach Resort and the glowing review that you posted on us: It has made our day.
We are delighted to have been able to bring you satisfaction. Remembering it is fundamental for us to satisfy our guests, we ensure to meet your expectations at the best.

We are pleased to hear that you appreciated the exceptional setting, services offered by our hotel and especially our swimming pool: It is a true heaven of peace that offers both relaxing times with its sandy beach, the pool overhanging the lake, but also offers water activities, such as jet ski, kayaking, boat ride, for your enjoyment.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon, the whole Sanctuary Hotels and Resorts team and I wish you an agreeable day.

Best Regards,

Marion Dukiel – Assistant Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

The hotel and its location look fantastic but all that glistens is not gold.
There is no in-room wifi - in this day and age?? Really? You can only get it in public areas or maybe one bar if on your balcony.
Food options were limited and very poor and its a long walk back to the town / main street.
The rooms are amazingly well fitted out but it seems that some little extras have been ignored.
A hotel this new and impressive should not be skimping on things like in-room WIFI. :-(

Room Tip: Rooms nearer reception may be able to pick-up wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Hote... L, Assistant Sales & Marketing at Sanctuary Nam Ngum Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Dear customers,

Thank you for posting a comment on Tripadvisor on the Sanctuary Nam Ngum Beach Resort and for sharing your experience.

We are pleased to hear that you appreciated the environment and the modern design of our hotel.

We are disappointed not to have been able to bring you satisfaction concerning the restaurant. We sincerely believed to have a wide enough range to satisfy everybody’s taste. We offer a la carte menus to satisfy Western tastes but also Asian dishes. Be sure that I will personally take care to relay your comment to the chief.

Regarding the internet connexion, indeed it is available in the common areas of the hotel for the moment, we will install it very soon.

We wanted on behalf of the whole team to apologize for the inconveniences encountered during your stay at Nam Ngum.
Hoping sincerely to welcome you again to prove that we have been able to consider your comments, please accept our respectful greetings.

Best regards,

Marion Dukiel – Assistant Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

The rooms and landscaping of the property are lovely. However, it is a long way from Vang Vieng town and nothing to do at the resort. There is a "swimming pool" in the dam but there was blue green algae in it and therefore unsafe to swim in. This applies to all the water sports you can do too: paddle boats, JetSki, etc. The restaurant has a very basic menu, we ate the same things both nights and juice is from cans and awful. The breakfast was very poor. I wouldn't recommend staying here, despite the nice rooms and location.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rapunzella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Hote... L, Assistant Sales & Marketing at Sanctuary Nam Ngum Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Dear Customers,

Thank you for having left a comment on Tripadvisor on the Sanctuary Nam Ngum Beach Resort and for sharing your experience.

We are pleased to hear that you appreciated the rooms and the environment of our hotel.

Indeed, we are sorry that you have not been able to fully enjoy your stay among us, especially because of the sudden drop in the water of the lake, which has indeed caused several inconveniences. The problem is now resolved.

We are disappointed not to have been able to bring you satisfaction concerning the restaurant. Thank you for pointing out the disadvantages encountered during your meals. Be sure that I will personally take care of it and will relay this inconveniences to the chief.

On behalf of the whole team Sanctuary Hotels & Resorts we wanted to apologize for any problems encountered during your stay at Nam Ngum.
Hoping sincerely to welcome you again to prove that we have been able to consider your comments, please accept our respectful greetings.

Best regards,

Marion Dukiel – Assistant Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Pros
- great views
- contemporary design
- conversation pit

Cons
- apathetic / untrained staff without a leader
- pool had no chairs and needed a clean (couldn't see the bottom)
- restaurant limited menu and poor cooking standards

We're a group of 4 female travellers and we were super excited to arrive - we were aware that it was 22km from Vang Vieng but figured there would be easily accessible transport to town (for a fee of course). The resort is VERY difficult to find - there are 2 massive billboards with a map at either end of the town but as for turnoff signs and directions there were none. Our poor Laos driver ended up stopping to ask about 6 different local people for directions and they all seemed unaware of the resort. We eventually stumbled across it and we were very pleased - the view was amazing, the resort villas are stunning. We checked in and our room had a ladder inside and a dismantled air conditioner so we went back to reception and we switched rooms (slightly disappointing but fine). We went to the pool for a swim, the staff were there but the bar was closed because of New Years (okay, understand). We tried to hire canoes and paddle boats but couldn't because the staff member had gone home. We then went up to the restaurant to have a few cocktails (aka jet fuel) and then retired to our rooms to relax. The staff at the restaurant consistently took our orders and then sent another staff back to take our orders (I don't the first person could speak English). We ordered smoothies and juices but we're told they didn't have a blender. The next day we booked a driver to take us to the blue lagoon (we thought it was return but it seems it was only 1 way so we needed to find a return trip later). When we came back to our rooms they weren't made up, it seems the onus is on the guest to request this. Our breakfast on day 1 was a buffet and day 2 was a la carte. The omelette was uncooked in the middle so we didn't eat them. On checkout the CC machine wouldn't work so we had to scrape together the Laos KIP to cover it. Overall it was a strange experience - the resort just missed the mark. It's a shame because it is such a beautiful location. The staff don't seem to have a clear leader or direction and not much of a focus on hospitality (you feel like you're an inconvenience) and there isn't anything to do out there. There was 1 standout team member, unfortunately I don't recall his name (he was very new apparently and ran a school about 8 hours away in central Laos).

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank JBS85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Hote... L, Assistant Sales & Marketing at Sanctuary Nam Ngum Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Dear customers,

Thank you for posting a comment on the Sanctuary Nam Ngum Beach Resort Tripadvisor page.

We are pleased to hear that you appreciated the environment with its sandy beach and swimming pool on the lake, as well as the modern design of our hotel.

My team and I are sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectations. Indeed during the Pi Mai festivities the staff is less attentive, moreover the manager was absent for personal reasons at the same time, which indeed may have suffered.

Concerning the restaurant, we are disappointed not to have been able to bring you satisfaction, we will do our best to improve our service. Be sure that I will personally take care of it and will relay the problem to the chief.

We regret not have facilitated the payment, the resort being away from the city center, and the circumstances of the festivities made it difficult for find people to help us.

Once again we wanted on behalf of the whole team to apologize for any problems encountered.

Hoping sincerely to welcome you again to prove that we have been able to consider your comments, please accept our respectful greetings.

Best regards,

Marion Dukiel – Assistant Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
18.3 km away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
17.8 km away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 24 in Vang Vieng
211 reviews
17.6 km away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 24 in Vang Vieng
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 km away
Inthira Vang Vieng
Inthira Vang Vieng
#4 of 24 in Vang Vieng
342 reviews
17.9 km away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#7 of 24 in Vang Vieng
476 reviews
17.5 km away
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
#15 of 24 in Vang Vieng
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Nam Ngum Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Nam Ngum Beach Resort

Address: BAN Theua, BP 365, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos (Formerly Blue Lagoon Resort Laos)
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range: $70 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanctuary Nam Ngum Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 120 km away from Vientiane capital on route 13 towards Vang Vieng or Luang Prabang, the Sanctuary Nam Ngum Beach Resort is an island on the Nam Ngum lake by the banks of Thaheua, a fisherman's village in the heart of mountain surroundings. The resort can combine relaxation times with its sandy beach and swimming pool on the lake but also offers water activities for your pleasure. Why not have a thrilling water ski experience at Nam Ngum lake, Laos? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sanctuary Nam Ngum Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing