We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Laos Haven Hotel(Vang Vieng)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$22
US$19
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$41
US$32
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$29
US$23
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$37
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vieng Tara Villa(Vang Vieng)
US$58
US$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel(Vang Vieng)(Great Value!)
US$29
US$22
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
Maylyn Guest House(Vang Vieng)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 30/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$7
US$3
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$140
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inthira Vang Vieng(Vang Vieng)
US$124
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
38
19
7
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
19
7
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfloating poolthe general manageramazing locationrooms are nicevan viengvang viennice viewthe riverkayakingsleeplaosbungalowsunsetvv
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 72 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights, it was the best sleep I've had since traveling around Asia the only thing I would change is the pillows are pretty hard and aren't very fluffy! But that's ok, the rooms are big a spacious and the toilet/ shower are seperate which is wonderful!

You have to remember that this is a Sanctuary so it's in the middle of nowhere, if you want shops they are just over 1km away - its very peaceful and relaxing.

We ate at the restaurant every day which was delicious, great menu and service.

Dale I believe? The operations manager was very lovely and welcoming he sat down with us and had a drink. He took the time to know us and make sure we were comfortable.

If we ever travel back to Lao, we will be back here for sure!

Thank you


Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Hote... L, Assistant Sales & Marketing at Sanctuary Nam Ngum Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2017

Dear customers,

On behalf of the entire team Sanctuary Nam Ngum Beach Resort we wanted to thank you for the glowing review you posted on us. It has made our day.

We are pleased to hear that you appreciated our rooms and the facilities. Our rooms are very comfortable, ergonomic with a sober and modern design.

As you pointed out, we have an exceptional and peaceful setting, you could enjoy the magnificent view of the lake, surrounded by mountains.

We are delighted that you appreciate the menu of our restaurant. Indeed, we offer a wide range to satisfy Western tastes but also Asian dishes for that all our customers find satisfaction.

Thank you for your lovely comments on our helpful staffs. Your positive message have been shared with our entire team!

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon, the entire Sanctuary Hotels and Resorts team and I wish you an agreeable day.

Best regards,

Marion Dukiel – Assistant Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here one night as another accommodation was fully booked. They picked us uo from the other resort and brought us back the other day. The rooms are very very clean (shower and toilets are separate which I liked a lot). There are no wooden floors where bugs can hide and the bed is very comfortabel (the rooms are huge). I had the best sleep in months.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Constanze K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Hote... L, Assistant Sales & Marketing at Sanctuary Nam Ngum Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2017

Dear customers,

On behalf of the entire team Sanctuary Hotels and Resorts, we wanted to thank you for the glowing review you posted on us: Know that it goes heartening us.

We are delighted to be able to bring you satisfaction. Indeed, we make sure to provide you with the greatest level of service and satisfaction at the Nam Ngum Beach Resort.

We are pleased to hear that you appreciated the services offered by our hotel. Our rooms are comfortable, decorated with a sober and modern design, and the internal layout in addition to the interior facilities are functional, allowing you to enjoy the magnificent view of the lake from your room.

Thank you again for choosing us for your stopover in Vang Vieng, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon!

The whole Sanctuary Hotels and Resorts team and I wish you a pleasant day,

Best Regards,

Marion Dukiel – Assistant Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 3, 2017

Awesome place to spend your holidays. I had my weekends and the view over lake was wonderful. The hotel rooms are spacious and offer with balconies overlooking the lakes and small islands. After enjoying variety of outdoor activities like kayaking, bicycling, running, it was great to enjoy the floating pool which is inside the lake. This is a perfect spot to see the sunset too. The hotel manager is friendly and available for social chats on breakfast and dinner time at the restaurant which is located in the heart of the resort. It is exactly the place where you can enjoy your pleasant holidays with beautiful and serene environment. It is more than worthy to travel out of the city and avoid the busy places to see the truth nature.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Zin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Hote... L, Assistant Sales & Marketing at Sanctuary Nam Ngum Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2017

Dear customers,

On behalf of the entire team Sanctuary Hotels and Resorts we wanted to thank you for your interest in the Sanctuary Nam Ngum Beach Resort and the glowing review that you posted on us: It has made our day.
We are delighted to have been able to bring you satisfaction. Remembering it is fundamental for us to satisfy our guests, we ensure to meet your expectations at the best.

We are pleased to hear that you appreciated the exceptional setting, services offered by our hotel and especially our swimming pool: It is a true heaven of peace that offers both relaxing times with its sandy beach, the pool overhanging the lake, but also offers water activities, such as jet ski, kayaking, boat ride, for your enjoyment.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon, the whole Sanctuary Hotels and Resorts team and I wish you an agreeable day.

Best Regards,

Marion Dukiel – Assistant Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 25, 2017

The hotel and its location look fantastic but all that glistens is not gold.
There is no in-room wifi - in this day and age?? Really? You can only get it in public areas or maybe one bar if on your balcony.
Food options were limited and very poor and its a long walk back to the town / main street.
The rooms are amazingly well fitted out but it seems that some little extras have been ignored.
A hotel this new and impressive should not be skimping on things like in-room WIFI. :-(

Room Tip: Rooms nearer reception may be able to pick-up wifi.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Hote... L, Assistant Sales & Marketing at Sanctuary Nam Ngum Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2017

Dear customers,

Thank you for posting a comment on Tripadvisor on the Sanctuary Nam Ngum Beach Resort and for sharing your experience.

We are pleased to hear that you appreciated the environment and the modern design of our hotel.

We are disappointed not to have been able to bring you satisfaction concerning the restaurant. We sincerely believed to have a wide enough range to satisfy everybody’s taste. We offer a la carte menus to satisfy Western tastes but also Asian dishes. Be sure that I will personally take care to relay your comment to the chief.

Regarding the internet connexion, indeed it is available in the common areas of the hotel for the moment, we will install it very soon.

We wanted on behalf of the whole team to apologize for the inconveniences encountered during your stay at Nam Ngum.
Hoping sincerely to welcome you again to prove that we have been able to consider your comments, please accept our respectful greetings.

Best regards,

Marion Dukiel – Assistant Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 19, 2017 via mobile

The rooms and landscaping of the property are lovely. However, it is a long way from Vang Vieng town and nothing to do at the resort. There is a "swimming pool" in the dam but there was blue green algae in it and therefore unsafe to swim in. This applies to all the water sports you can do too: paddle boats, JetSki, etc. The restaurant has a very basic menu, we ate the same things both nights and juice is from cans and awful. The breakfast was very poor. I wouldn't recommend staying here, despite the nice rooms and location.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rapunzella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary Hote... L, Assistant Sales & Marketing at Sanctuary Nam Ngum Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2017

Dear Customers,

Thank you for having left a comment on Tripadvisor on the Sanctuary Nam Ngum Beach Resort and for sharing your experience.

We are pleased to hear that you appreciated the rooms and the environment of our hotel.

Indeed, we are sorry that you have not been able to fully enjoy your stay among us, especially because of the sudden drop in the water of the lake, which has indeed caused several inconveniences. The problem is now resolved.

We are disappointed not to have been able to bring you satisfaction concerning the restaurant. Thank you for pointing out the disadvantages encountered during your meals. Be sure that I will personally take care of it and will relay this inconveniences to the chief.

On behalf of the whole team Sanctuary Hotels & Resorts we wanted to apologize for any problems encountered during your stay at Nam Ngum.
Hoping sincerely to welcome you again to prove that we have been able to consider your comments, please accept our respectful greetings.

Best regards,

Marion Dukiel – Assistant Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews