We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laos Haven Hotel(Vang Vieng)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$22
US$19
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel(Vang Vieng)(Great Value!)
US$17
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$29
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
US$18
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Maylyn Guest House(Vang Vieng)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 23/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$3
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Pan's Place(Vang Vieng)(Great Value!)
US$7
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
Inthira Vang Vieng(Vang Vieng)
Free cancellation until 23/07
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (489)
Filter reviews
489 results
Traveller rating
106
182
129
52
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
182
129
52
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverriverside restaurantamazing viewslimestone mountainseating breakfastrooms are smallno lifthotel is situatedthird floorwatch the sunsetin towntop floorair conpleasant staybalconycurtainscambodia
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 489 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2017 via mobile

I ate here twice during my time in Vang Vieng. It is the cheaper 'sister' hotel of the Silver Naga Hotel.

I ordered:
Sundried beef - like fried hot (temperature) jerky. Not what I was expecting but surprisingly delicious.
Steamed vegetables and salsa. Salsa was good, but it would be better if vegetables were fresh rather than steamed. Also, they don't provide a knife, so makes the dipping slightly awkward long Bok Choy type vegetables.
Chicken Laab - at 35,000 kip, which was delicious (had a great Laab at Silver Naga hotel as well, seems to be same recipe).
Beef spicy salad - 35,000 kip - just ok.

Wifi didn't work.

Similar to Silver Naga Hotel, they have 2 for 1 cocktails between 5 and 6pm. A good place to watch the sunset. Mango cocktail seemed to be the best. Suspicious of the amount of alcohol which is actually included, so probably better off sticking to beer.

As prices seem to be similar to Silver Naga Hotel, I would probably head there instead, as it just seemed a bit more polished.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jwatts87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enjoy_VangVieng, Manager at The Elephant Crossing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2017

Thank for your review! Your experience and feedback is very valuable to us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2017 via mobile

We were here for one night as part of an organised tour around Laos. You couldn't better the location, along the riverside with views to the mountains.

The group had a meal in the restaurant in the evening and the food was good. Service could have been better/quicker.

The room was OK but could do with some tlc to bring it back up to a good standard, particularly the shower/bathroom.

Breakfast we found was fine with the egg/pancake station working well.

It's a great location it just needs a bit of an update.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Charles_and_Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enjoy_VangVieng, Manager at The Elephant Crossing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to review our Hotel. Your experience and feedback during your stay is very valuable to us! Hope to see you back in the future for a longer stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2017

Where to start....the staff at the reception was not smiling when we arrived.
The hotel displayed sign everywhere to respect the guest's sleep and to avoid noise after 21:00.

I went to bed at 22:00 and woke up suddently at 01:30 because a group of contiki people were having a big party on the balcony of the room right below us. They were shouting! The hotel was also hosting a group of more senior people from an arranged Australian Group Tour. They complained to the hotel and we also complained. I got up my bed at 01:30 and went down the 5 floor to find the receptionist sleeping like a rock and could not careless about the noise. He finally went to the room and told them to stop. People were coming and leaving the hotel without any control, even outside people.

The door of the room do not lock on the handly. The door have a separate sliding lock and ours did not work (room E5), so in the middle of the night, someone entered our room. The person was drunk and when my husband got up the bed to ask him what he wanted, he simply said that he was looking for people to party with.

Overall, bad sleeping experience. And same bad experience for the breakfast. They were low on bread, low on tea. The re-fill did not come quickly and the staff gave me a "pissy" look when I asked her for more tea as the jug was empty.

The manager did apology for the mis-behavior of those contiki people but to my knowledge did not express so loudly to them that they should be more quiet.

Those Contiki people are a pain for those trying to enjoy relax holiday and if we would have known that this hotel accept this kind of people, we would have backed-off immediately.

Room Tip: Make sure the sliding lock work for your room before renting it.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Veronique2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enjoy_VangVieng, Manager at The Elephant Crossing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hotel on TripAdvisor. Your experience and feedback has been very valuable to us and we will use your comments to improve what we offer. We are sorry for your bad experience and again we apologize for the unacceptable behavior of certain guests and we will take all measure for this not to happen in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2017 via mobile

Check in was swift and receptionist was polite.
There were strands of long blonde hair all over the bath towels, toilet and on beds. Toilet is extremely basic and stinks. The shower was good and hot water works fine, but you can smell the drainage in there.

Beds are comfortable, but had ants crawling up. AC works great. Our river view room has a nice balcony overlooking the karst mountains and river, but part of the view is blocked by the restaurant.

Restaurant is absolutely terrible. After checking in we went for a drink and no one was there (despite the nice view) but it was easy to understand why. The staff are just lazy. All of them just sat on the bar stools playing with their phones or youtubing or chatting with each other. The breakfast there was also disappointing. Food was cold. When we asked for omelettes (they had an egg station), the staff did not care to move. I had to walk all the way to the reception to tell the staff that we were being ignored. A manager returned later with the chef and it turned out that is how you start them working.

Stayed for one night and decided to change hotel the following day. For that price, you can easily find something better. Avoid!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mingson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enjoy_VangVieng, Manager at The Elephant Crossing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hotel on TripAdvisor. Your experience and feedback has been very valuable to us and we will use your comments to improve what we offer. We are sorry for your bad experience and We apologize that you have had a poor experience during your short time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2017

The hotel is not badly located but the rooms are very small and simple, water and hot water in the bathroom are optional, though nice balcomy overlooking the river. Restaurant lounge and space are nicely located along the river facing the mountains.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are the best.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enjoy_VangVieng, Manager at The Elephant Crossing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to review our Hotel. Your experience and feedback during your stay is very valuable to us! Hope to see you back in the future for a longer stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews