We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BREATHTAKING VIEWS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile


Worth staying here for the views alone. Location is excellent, close to many good bars and restaurants. Breakfast on yhe deck is very nice but we arrived at a busy time one morning and it took staff some time to replenish items. Rooms are fairly small and dated but the views from our balcony were spectacular. Reception staff very helpful when organising tours or transport.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enjoy_VangVieng, Manager at The Elephant Crossing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to review our Hotel.We are so glad you enjoyed the views and our facilities. Hope to see you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 13 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

I ate here twice during my time in Vang Vieng. It is the cheaper 'sister' hotel of the Silver Naga Hotel.

I ordered:
Sundried beef - like fried hot (temperature) jerky. Not what I was expecting but surprisingly delicious.
Steamed vegetables and salsa. Salsa was good, but it would be better if vegetables were fresh rather than steamed. Also, they don't provide a knife, so makes the dipping slightly awkward long Bok Choy type vegetables.
Chicken Laab - at 35,000 kip, which was delicious (had a great Laab at Silver Naga hotel as well, seems to be same recipe).
Beef spicy salad - 35,000 kip - just ok.

Wifi didn't work.

Similar to Silver Naga Hotel, they have 2 for 1 cocktails between 5 and 6pm. A good place to watch the sunset. Mango cocktail seemed to be the best. Suspicious of the amount of alcohol which is actually included, so probably better off sticking to beer.

As prices seem to be similar to Silver Naga Hotel, I would probably head there instead, as it just seemed a bit more polished.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jwatts87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enjoy_VangVieng, Manager at The Elephant Crossing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank for your review! Your experience and feedback is very valuable to us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

We were here for one night as part of an organised tour around Laos. You couldn't better the location, along the riverside with views to the mountains.

The group had a meal in the restaurant in the evening and the food was good. Service could have been better/quicker.

The room was OK but could do with some tlc to bring it back up to a good standard, particularly the shower/bathroom.

Breakfast we found was fine with the egg/pancake station working well.

It's a great location it just needs a bit of an update.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Charles_and_Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enjoy_VangVieng, Manager at The Elephant Crossing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to review our Hotel. Your experience and feedback during your stay is very valuable to us! Hope to see you back in the future for a longer stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

Where to start....the staff at the reception was not smiling when we arrived.
The hotel displayed sign everywhere to respect the guest's sleep and to avoid noise after 21:00.

I went to bed at 22:00 and woke up suddently at 01:30 because a group of contiki people were having a big party on the balcony of the room right below us. They were shouting! The hotel was also hosting a group of more senior people from an arranged Australian Group Tour. They complained to the hotel and we also complained. I got up my bed at 01:30 and went down the 5 floor to find the receptionist sleeping like a rock and could not careless about the noise. He finally went to the room and told them to stop. People were coming and leaving the hotel without any control, even outside people.

The door of the room do not lock on the handly. The door have a separate sliding lock and ours did not work (room E5), so in the middle of the night, someone entered our room. The person was drunk and when my husband got up the bed to ask him what he wanted, he simply said that he was looking for people to party with.

Overall, bad sleeping experience. And same bad experience for the breakfast. They were low on bread, low on tea. The re-fill did not come quickly and the staff gave me a "pissy" look when I asked her for more tea as the jug was empty.

The manager did apology for the mis-behavior of those contiki people but to my knowledge did not express so loudly to them that they should be more quiet.

Those Contiki people are a pain for those trying to enjoy relax holiday and if we would have known that this hotel accept this kind of people, we would have backed-off immediately.

Room Tip: Make sure the sliding lock work for your room before renting it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Veronique2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enjoy_VangVieng, Manager at The Elephant Crossing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hotel on TripAdvisor. Your experience and feedback has been very valuable to us and we will use your comments to improve what we offer. We are sorry for your bad experience and again we apologize for the unacceptable behavior of certain guests and we will take all measure for this not to happen in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

Check in was swift and receptionist was polite.
There were strands of long blonde hair all over the bath towels, toilet and on beds. Toilet is extremely basic and stinks. The shower was good and hot water works fine, but you can smell the drainage in there.

Beds are comfortable, but had ants crawling up. AC works great. Our river view room has a nice balcony overlooking the karst mountains and river, but part of the view is blocked by the restaurant.

Restaurant is absolutely terrible. After checking in we went for a drink and no one was there (despite the nice view) but it was easy to understand why. The staff are just lazy. All of them just sat on the bar stools playing with their phones or youtubing or chatting with each other. The breakfast there was also disappointing. Food was cold. When we asked for omelettes (they had an egg station), the staff did not care to move. I had to walk all the way to the reception to tell the staff that we were being ignored. A manager returned later with the chef and it turned out that is how you start them working.

Stayed for one night and decided to change hotel the following day. For that price, you can easily find something better. Avoid!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mingson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enjoy_VangVieng, Manager at The Elephant Crossing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hotel on TripAdvisor. Your experience and feedback has been very valuable to us and we will use your comments to improve what we offer. We are sorry for your bad experience and We apologize that you have had a poor experience during your short time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

The hotel is not badly located but the rooms are very small and simple, water and hot water in the bathroom are optional, though nice balcomy overlooking the river. Restaurant lounge and space are nicely located along the river facing the mountains.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enjoy_VangVieng, Manager at The Elephant Crossing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to review our Hotel. Your experience and feedback during your stay is very valuable to us! Hope to see you back in the future for a longer stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel has amazing views of the Song river and the stunning limestone mountains surrounding Vang Vieng (providing you book a river view room). It's centrally located with a good selection of bars and restaurants nearby.
Each room was simply decorated and has an en suite shower room, which was quite basic but functional (although the grouting could do with a spruce). They have air con units and a fan in each room too with a balcony.
The majority of activities nearby are either easy to walk to or a cheap Tuk Tuk or cycle ride away.
The hotel also has a great bar and restaurant which offers some lovely food and drinks all served by great staff.
It's an ethically run hotel and therefore hires local people as staff and utilises the local Laotian talent to create the furniture, decor and even the soaps and shampoos in the bathrooms.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 00Shawn00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enjoy_VangVieng, Manager at The Elephant Crossing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to review our Hotel.We are so glad you enjoyed the views and our facilities. Hope to see you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.6 km away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.3 km away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 24 in Vang Vieng
211 reviews
0.4 km away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 24 in Vang Vieng
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#9 of 24 in Vang Vieng
182 reviews
0 km away
Inthira Vang Vieng
Inthira Vang Vieng
#5 of 24 in Vang Vieng
341 reviews
0.4 km away
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
#13 of 24 in Vang Vieng
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant Crossing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant Crossing Hotel

Address: Ban Viengkeo | (PO Box 5512, Vientiane), Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range: $51 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Elephant Crossing Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Crossing Hotel is a welcoming, warm and friendly accommodation venue situated on the river with fabulous views of the Karst limestone mountains! A boutique hotel, well established gardens and long terrace that stretches along the river. We aim to please all our guests and may they have a memorable experience while staying here with us. The bar and restaurant utilizes local farmers produce and serves Lao, Asian and Euro food. We are doing our best to reduce miles and serve clean chemical free food, with our own organic grown rice and winter vegetables from our own gardens. Our team of local staff are always willing to help with a friendly approach and authentic touch! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Elephant Crossing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Crossing Hotel
Hotel Elephant Crossing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing