We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
20
87
73
12
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
87
73
12
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolden rockcomfortable bedhotel is situatedmin walkhotel rooms arehot watersunsettemplemt
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 194 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2015 via mobile

This basic, clean hotel is about a 15 minute downhill hike from the Golden Rock. If you took the truck up you'll be happy for a walk! But if you lingered up there for sunset be sure to have a flashlight handy as the road is dark and steep. Only motorcycles are allowed on that road so hire a local to help you with your bags if needed. The rooms are spartan but spacious with lots of steps to navigate in between. The food is mediocre. WiFi available in lobby and dining areas only. Expect to wake up early to beautiful mountain vistas and morning prayers broadcast across the hills by loudspeakers.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Brazeneyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 23, 2015

Good organized from arrival till check out.
All staff are well motivated and trained ( much better than a 3 star hotel).
The gardening and arrangements well maintained and clean ( environmental protection is a incredible differentiation).
The selected food during our diner was in a good taste and nicely arranged/decorated on the dishes.
Room quality as expected except the noise of the fridge (switch off is better).
Thanks to the Sri Lanka manager because he is doing a fine job.

  • Stayed: February 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilhelm2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalinda R, Manager at Golden Rock Hotel Kyaikhtiyo, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2015

Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure reading your wonderful comments and I took the liberty to share them with the entire team for making your stay magnificent. We were more than happy to learn that we could meet your expectations to the utmost and that we created memorable moments of your stay with us.we always care about the surrounding nature and natural resources and well taken care without disturbing them.

However, we have taken note of your comments regarding the noisy of the minibar and make sure to take necessary preventive maintenance action to over come the issue.Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

It is our sincere wish to see you again in future .

sincerely,

shalinda,
The Manager,
Golden Rock Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 30, 2015

The hotel is located just on the top of the mountain, a few steps from the Golden rock area.It is simple but rooms are rather clean with air conditioning and TV.Buffet restaurant with good food for all tastes, both asians and europeans.Not expensive but it is better to book it in advance , the place is quite popular and it is not easy to find a room.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank renzoGenova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 28, 2015

This is a nice hotel, very clean, staff friendly and helpful, food quite acceptable. It caters a bit for group tours which might put couples off, but it seems to cope well. It is relatively basic but it serves it's purpose for those guests spending one night only. I would recommend.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank philpen_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalinda R, Manager at Golden Rock Hotel Kyaikhtiyo, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

We, at Golden Rock Hotels, always take constant effort to create a relaxing environment and offer efficient, warm and personalized service to our guests. My team and myself are very appreciative of your kind words.

We noted your comments in some concern area and thank you for your feedback. i will go through this area with the top management for some upgrade to provide more comfortable stay for our guest.

Again i would like to thank you and hope you will be visiting us back.

Sincerely,

Shalinda
The Manager
Golden Rock Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 25, 2015 via mobile

We had been warned not to expect much from accommodation on the mountain but were pleasantly surprised. As other reviewers have noted, it is about a 45 minute trek back down from Golden Rock. Don't leave it too late as it is challenging in the dark. Alternatively during daylight hours you can catch a truck. The hotel staff were very welcoming. The hotel is surrounded by beautiful gardens. It was comfortable. The showers weren't brilliant, but better than anticipated. The meals were adequate. It is not at the top of the mountain so you don't have the same views.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shalindaTheManager, Manager at Golden Rock Hotel Kyaikhtiyo, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2015

Dear Guest',

Thank you for sharing your compliments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Golden Rock Hotel

We, at Golden Rock Hotel, always take constant effort to create a relaxing environment and offer efficient, warm and personalized service to our guests. My team and myself are very appreciative of your kind words.

We noted your comments on the the bathroom shower taps and i wondered what went wrong since we provide hot and cold water both for guest convenience.Thank you for your feedback and i personally keep on attention foe above mention issue to give a better service to our valuable guest.

Thank you once again and we look forward to having you back with us for another memorable holiday

Sincerely,

Shalinda,
The Manager,
Golden Rock Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews