We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (686)
Filter reviews
686 results
Traveller rating
551
93
17
15
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
551
93
17
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews executive chef chef sandeep kids club big fish weligama bay pool bar head chef f b manager tides bar seafood restaurant kitchen restaurant sri lanka quan spa special thanks breakfast buffet front office manager panoramic view
Filter
Updating list...
528 - 533 of 686 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2017 via mobile

Wonderful view from the window, tasty food with a lot of fruits, fresh juices, cool territory, directly near the surf spot. And not forgettable service from room-keeper Aseia. Each day He impressed us not only by clean rooms with great towel-figures) we laughed each time lentering the room)))

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank NorthStar389174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EltonHGM, General Manager at Weligama Bay Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2017


Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind remarks regarding your recent stay at Weligama Bay Marriott Resort and Spa. We are happy to know that you had a wonderful stay at the hotel and that our associates added value to your stay experience. We thank you for recognizing Asela for his wonderful contribution to making your stay a brilliant one. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to the Weligama Bay Marriott Resort & Spa.

Best Regards,
Elton Hurtis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 24, 2017

This new Marriott is located in the idyllic beach-side location of Weligama Bay. The beach is great for learning to surf and for swimming and it is a truly beautiful place. But it is the quality of the hotel (great design and amenities) and the fantastic staff that will make us return.

The hotel arranged a car and driver, Saleem, to meet us at Colombo (CMB) airport for the approx. 2:40 hr drive. Saleem also took us for a half day tour to Galle and then on the final day he took us to our Colombo hotel. Thanks Saleem for your great driving and for sharing your knowledge along the way.

Every member of the hotel staff were incredibly friendly and very professional and we were made to feel very welcome and special. The quality of the food, drinks and service at the hotel was of the highest standard. This is a LUXURY hotel at a reasonable price. We can’t wait to return!

Room tip: All rooms have great sea views.
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KW_out-there
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EltonHGM, General Manager at Weligama Bay Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind remarks regarding your recent stay at Weligama Bay Marriott Resort and Spa. We are happy to know that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel and that our staff added value to your stay experience.
We appreciate you recognizing Saleem for his outstanding service and he was truly delighted to read your review. Thank you for being so generous and recommending our hotel on TripAdvisor®. My team joins me in passing their regards to you.
We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to the Weligama Bay Marriott Resort & Spa.

Best Regards, Elton Hurtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 22, 2017

In an otherwise quiet sleepy village, the Marriott is the only "tall building" in the vicinity.

But once you enter it, it is nothing short of a Paradise on the beach.
Our room on the top floor was spacious and the view from the balcony mesmerizing.

Morning tea sitting in the balcony overlooking the entire Weligama Bay - its fisher folk,the surfers and the incredible waters et all - memories for life.

The service was prompt and the staff warm.

What really hit the mark for us was the elaborate Sri Lankan spread at the breakfast and lunch buffets.
We could finally sample all varieties of sambol, traditional concoctions, milk rice and hoppers, spicy curries.

Sanjeeva from Weligama Kitchen and Chef Pujitha took great care of us and explained the nuances of Sri Lankan cuisine in elaborate detail.

Bishabri did a great job of introducing us to the hotel at check-in.

Galle being a bus ride away is a bonus. Overall, we have a memorable time at the hotel. Good people, good food and good vantage views from the rooftop. What else does a traveller want...

Room tip: All rooms face the sea, the view just gets better as you go higher....
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pavan_Nayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EltonHGM, General Manager at Weligama Bay Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2017

Dear Guest,

We are happy to hear back from you based on your recent visit to Weligama Bay Marriott Resort and Spa. Your kind words towards the hotel, the services and the relaxing experience had during your stay is much appreciated. We are pleased to know that you could indulge in our extensive buffets during breakfast and lunch and you loved the variety of Sri Lankan, Indian, Hong Kong -Chinese and Mediterranean cuisines served.
We thank you for recognizing our staff for their outstanding service and I will share your comments with Sanjeewa, Chef Pujitha and Bishari. It’s my pleasure to know that you had a very comfortable stay at our resort and you thoroughly enjoyed our hospitality as one of the valued guest.
We look forward to seeing you soon on your next visit to the hotel only to delight you with an experience to cherish from.

Best Regards, Elton Hurtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 21, 2017 via mobile

This hotel is located on the beautiful beach, my room had such a amazing sea view. I love the pools and definitely enjoyed my time in the pools in all the day. There are also many different facilities which can satisfy the most difficult customers as kids club, gym, seafood restaurant and rooftop, and don’t forget get a nice coffee in the charming small coffee shop in the left side of lobby

Date of stay: November 2017
1  Thank Emilyluu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EltonHGM, General Manager at Weligama Bay Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2017

Dear Guest,

We are happy to hear back from you based on your recent stay at the Weligama Bay Marriott Resort & Spa. It’s my pleasure to know that you had a wonderful stay at the property and that you enjoyed the view and all other services at the resort.

Your kind words towards the services that we could offer during your recent visit to the hotel delights us and encourages us to keep hosting our guests to similar seamless experiences in the future. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to the Weligama Bay Marriott Resort & Spa.

Best Regards, Elton Hurtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 20, 2017

I am so glad that I chose Mariott to celebrate my daughters 16th birthday. I have never found a hotel where there has been such uniformity in terms of service, smile, comfort, pleasent helping experience. It all started with Ms Janet Rajen starting to meticulously plan the event one month in advance. I sincerely appreciate her tireless effort and patience to keep exchanging mails for accomodating every request that I made. It is so unusual to see the entire team- front office, chefs, concierge, staffs all teaming up to make us feel so special. The entire team left no small thing unattended to see that we had an awesome time. The Exec chef Sandeep Pandey and chef Sourabh Maheswari needs special mention. The food was awesome and the choices were just superb. They went out all the way to provide us whatever we wanted with a smile and made us feel at home. The front office manager Mr Rohit and AYS exec Ariya were so nice. The entire team of chefs, coordinators lead by Mr Darshana worked relentlessly to make my daughters birthday evening truly beyond imagination. My family joins in thanking Janet and each and everybody at the Hotel for such an awesome stay. A confession to make- my daughter was in tears leaving the hotel at the time of departure. I personally promise to visit the hotel once again very very soon.

Room tip: All rooms are excellently located facing the beach
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KAMALR481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EltonHGM, General Manager at Weligama Bay Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2017

Dear Guest,

We are happy to hear back from you based on your recent visit to Weligama Bay Marriott Resort & Spa.
It’s my pleasure to know that you had a wonderful stay at the property and you enjoyed our services and comforts at the hotel.
Your kind words towards the services we could provide to make your daughter’s 16th birthday celebration a special one, delights us and encourages us to keep hosting our guests to similar seamless experiences in the future.
We appreciate you acknowledging our staff and recognizing their contribution to making your stay brilliant. Janet, Exec chef Sandeep Pandey, chef Sourabh, Rohit, Ariya and Dharshana, all were delighted to read your feedback and joins me in passing their regards to you and the family.
We sincerely look forward to seeing you and your family on your next visit to the hotel only to delight you with an experience to cherish from.

Best Regards, Elton Hurtis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews