We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Phenomenal Villa Stay”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Weligama, Matara, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

olliek198...
1 review
“Phenomenal Villa Stay”
Reviewed June 9, 2019 for a stay in June 2019

We have just returned from 5 days at the Suryiwatta Villa and all I can say is WOW. Amazing service, amazing views, great food, plenty of games for everyone to keep busy and an absolutely stunning private beach area.

The villa has been so well thought out by the owners and offers great fun for all the family.

Sanjeewa the house manager and his staff were so welcoming from the moment we arrived and could not have done anymore to make us feel welcome and relaxed.

Whilst relaxing in the villa, we managed to see large lizards, monkeys, gecko’s, frogs, chipmunks (or something that looks similar) and so much more, so that was also a highlight for the kids.

We will be back very soon and look forward to spending some more time exploring the area.

Many thanks

Oliver Kent

Date of stay: June 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2019
Dear Oliver
Thank you for your kind review and for coming to stay with us. It was a pleasure to host you and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards
Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulesLC
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa with exceptional views”
Reviewed October 28, 2018 for a stay in October 2018

We had the most fantastic stay at Suriyawatta. Sanjeewa and his team were exceptional in the way they looked after us, nothing was too much for them. Food was amazing, both for the adults and children, every day was a feast. The villa itself is beautifully appointed, with a well thought out design that allows plenty of space for children to run around. Lots of lovely spots to relax in the garden or by the pool. The view is outstanding, we sat watching the ocean for hours. Location wise it is lovely and peaceful, yet close enough to Galle (30 mins by car max) and a short Tuk Tuk to the surfing beaches around weligama. The only negative was having to leave!! Thank you to the whole team for a memorable stay.

Date of stay: October 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2018
Dear Jules
Thank you for your kind and helpful review. I am so pleased that Sanjeewa and his team lived to their usual high standards of service and care. So sorry you had to leave....please do come back soon.
Regards
Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NomadJMD
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Brilliant family beach villa”
Reviewed April 15, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Located in Turtle Bay in Weligama, Suriyawatta is a very special villa designed with barefoot family holidays in mind. We were a family of 9 - 3 couples and 2 teenagers and a tween. I've stayed in more than a handful of villas on Sri Lanka's south coast and Suriyawatta is the clear winner!

The location - perched on a hill side overlooking the Indian Ocean -- only a few minutes from the surf schools and conveniences of Weligama, walking distance to Cape Weligama Hotel (if you wanted a spa experience or a fancy night out). It's about 45 mins to Galle. But honestly, you won't want to leave.

The house and garden have been designed to allow everyone their "own space together." There are ceiling fans every few feet on the wide verandah of the main house allowing the shade-seekers to see the ocean and the pool from the comfort of the verandah. The shadows in the garden from the frangipani trees are magical. There's a sound system (SONOS) with garden speakers. There's an infinity edge pool which enjoys both shade and sun. There is a seasonally safe swimming beach two houses down -- the walk along the beach is only possible at low tide and involves scrambling down some rocks, but it's super easy to walk from the house gate down the beach road (100 paces at most!).

Sanjeewa and the household staff are wonderful. They are present but not hovering. The chef is very willing to try recipes. The house menu affords plenty of options for diverse palettes/tastes.

We'll be back!

Date of stay: March 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2018
Many many thanks for your review, for the time it took and for your kind words. It was a real pleasure to have you to stay.
Can we already block some return dates for you?
Hope so!
Regards
Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon H
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Villa and Villa team”
Reviewed December 26, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Ou family had an amazing time at this villa, the staff attention to detail was fantastic, Incredible food, the booking service through Villas in Sri Lanka was easy and the concierge service made all transfers very easy. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a great, relaxing villa. Thank you again to the whole team.

Date of stay: December 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2018
Dear Simon, thank you for your kind review that I will pass to all the team. I am so glad you had a wonderful holiday and really hope you can come back soon.
Best regards
Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shibani V
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Villa Rented in Sri Lanka so far!”
Reviewed October 29, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

I would highly recommend Suriyawatta. We have rented a few villas in Sri Lanka and by far this one has been the best. Beautiful location, stunning views. Access to a private beach. Great staff. Tastefully furnished. Good food
Everything was just perfect
(Okay just one tiny thing - I would recommend they keep a range of toiletries in the bathroom)
We had a great stay and really hope to be back

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2017
Many thanks for your kind review and also for your suggestion....we will definitely look into it. It was a pleasure having you to stay so do please come back.
Best wishes
Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirran80
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A magical place!”
Reviewed September 7, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

If you're looking for a true private holiday, this is the place! From arrival to check out we felt so well looked after and amazed about the house.
It's about 2,5 hrs from Colombo airport. There are big gates when entering with security at the street gate and by the sea gate including the beautiful dog Lola.
We slept 5 adults and to babies in this house but we had 2 rooms empty. One we used for massages. Lovely and very cheap. We did yoga one day with a local instructor which was fantastic. The staff are very helpful and kind. Chef cooked great meals which we decided ourselves. Try the hoppers in the morning w an egg in. Local breakfast - yummy. Lots of lovely fruits. We had BBQ (red snapper) one evening under the tree. Delicious and stunning setting. The pool is lovely and it's great for kids as there's a small shall area of the pool. But the pool is also fenced off from the house so it's safe for the kids.
Sanjeeva- house manager was very professional and speaks perfect English. Around the area there's not much to see or do. I'd suggest you just stay in the house and enjoy the pool and the sea. Thank you very much again for looking after us.

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2017
Hi Kirran
Many thanks for your review and the time it took to write it. I am so glad you enjoyed the house so much and we so well looked after. Sanjeewa is great and runs a good team all of who have been at the villa for quite some time so are well versed.
Next time...I hope there will be a next time...we will make sure to adviser you better of things to see and in the area, as there is quite a bit. Having said that I can completely appreciate the desire to simply sit back and enjoy the villa.
Many thanks again for coming.
Best wishes
Jack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.