We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
17
2
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
2
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 20 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2017 via mobile

This place is horrible. It is dirty, smells strange and there are insects everywhere. I had booked this place for 2 nights but switched place after 1 terrible night. This place is far away from the beach and the restaurants so u either have to walk 20 minuts or pay a tuck-tuck. We had bookes and payed our stay trough hotels.com but the staff didnt knew that. When i showed a recipe from hotels.com they said that they didnt know how they would get their money from hotels.com. like that was my problem???

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Henrik F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tharanga D, Owner at Weligama Bay Eco Villa, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2017

Our place situated 50m near to beach .can go within 1 minute to beach .any one can get to know it from google map. There are so many restaurant near the beach side.( but cant buy for 1$ or 2$ breakfast )
If you want to buy foods for lower price you have to go to city .can go to main city within 10 minutes by tuck tuck.
You are not the first visitor for us. So many visitors have mentioned about the condition and quality of our rooms .i regret about your comments .
You came from expedea.com.
We ask about the website only get to know what was that .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2017 via mobile

Although not actually called a homestay, this is the most authentic and welcoming stay we encountered. Ganisha & Tharanga speak fluent English and can converse on any subjects. They are so helpful and share their knowledge. Ganisha is an amazing cook and showed us how to cook 5 Sri Lankan dishes and how to make lanterns for Vesak. With 2 children, Hirun and Pasinda, we were made to feel like part of their family. People in the neighbourhood were also friendly. This Eco villa has nice rooms with an inside/outdoor bathroom & hot water, but no air-conditioning. It is in a great location, quiet for sleeping but very close to the beach and great value. We were here in the wrong time, but the surf is good during the right season. We highly recommend staying here and this villa deserves the best rating.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank ndhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 18, 2017 via mobile

My wife and I visited for five days in the spring and loved every minute! Tharanga and Ganisha were so kind and took such good care of us, from providing delicious meals to driving us around and sharing their beautiful country, they're a very special family! Tharanga has poured his heart into Eco Village and has created a relaxing, peaceful retreat for travelers. The rooms are beautiful with open air showers and very comfortable beds. Eco Villa is a two minute walk to the beach and is far enough away from the more developed parts of the beach that it still feels peaceful and unspoiled (great for me as a surfer). I can't recommend Eco Villa highly enough. I hope to return to Sri Lanka soon and will certainly be staying with Tharanga and Ganisha again!!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CalebS554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2017

Ganisha and Tharanga and their children are absolutely fabulous. I had a chance to stay at their lovely place for a night in December 2017, and would stay with them when I return to southern Sri Lanka. The place is quiet, clean, and a short walk down an alley to the beach. I'd say it is ideal for couples, families, and even the solo traveler looking for a quieter stay.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tapan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2017

We just loved staying at Weligama Bay Eco Villa. The rooms are clean and comfortable. It's perfect for the family with a little road outside that takes you to the calm part of the beach in 2 minutes. It's really quite and calm outside. You won't get disturbed.

Tharangha will help you with everything, such as booking of whalesafari, finding the right places in Weligama to eat and beaches to visit. His wife Ganisha will cook for you, if you like, different kinds of Sri Lankan breakfast or just toast and jam. The rice and curry for dinner is delicious. We stayed some extra days with this warm and friendly family and we highly recommend them and the eco villa. It's safe and really calm.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evelyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews