We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“utterly superb”
Review of Ceylon Tea Trails

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ceylon Tea Trails
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Expensive - yes. But it could be a once-in-a-lifetime experience so just do it.
I've read all the reviews and there is not much to add. Lovely rooms, discreet staff and beautiful meals.
Stayed 3 nights at Norwood. We intended to do some of the activities but were overwhelmed by the beauty of the bungalow, gardens and hillsides and just totally relaxed and enjoyed the peace and quiet. Would be great place for a honeymoon!
Free wi-fi and laundry service too.
Loved the tea factory visit and now know so much more about how different tea is according to the elevation it is grown; the selling process; and how long to brew it and time factor of drinking it.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mayaPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,007 - 1,013 of 1,265 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2011

Stayed 3 nights at Summerville 1-4 March. Had a perfect stay. Our room was attractive, the staff were attentive and friendly without being intrusive. The Tea Factory visit was informative and enjoyable and the food was varied and of a very high standard.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank povenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Our 4 night stay in the Castlereagh Palmer Suite was a highlight of our first great 16 night holiday in Sri Lanka. I re-iterate other comments:
- the fantastic food, delicious yet light, ensuring we could enjoy 4 meals a day taken on
the outside terrace
- beautiful location with own immaculate grounds in middle of tea estate overlooking
reservoir
- great room with our own garden, loungers, table & chairs overlooking reservoir - had
afternoon tea here one day - felt so decadent
- excellent laundry service
- superb staff who looked after our every whim with a smile
- Andrew's enthusiasm for tea & his Tea Factory tour
- well marked walking trails around estate with great views from hillside and chance to
meet tea pickers at work and their children as they collected them from village creche
- excellent value for money
- Buddhist chanting from nearby temple echoing across reservoir
- make no mistake the road access is really bad, previous warnings on TA had not
prepared us for the time needed to cover small distances (2.5 hrs for 30km)
BUT cannot recommend this place enough a really wonderful unique experience

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aporo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Yes, Tea Trails is a wonderful place so rather than say what everyone has said before I will point out some downsides. But first I would like to strongly refute a previous reviewers remarks about Salyia...I made all our own reservations for almost 3 weeks in Sri Lanka and Salyia was by far the most professional and helpful..all the information she (?) gave me was excellent and very useful.
Guests should be made aware babies are allowed..you could easily have several less than one year olds staying in your bungalow...our first night we had a fun dinner with the other guests but the second night they had left and we were joined by a family with an 8 month old baby...they monopolized the drawing room where we usually have cocktails in front of the fire...baby clothes and toys scattered around the room...we were forced out onto the terrace..luckily it was warm..I do not think Tea Trails is a suitable place to take small/crying/shouting babies or young children.........we hiked up to Tientsin and you need a guide..lovely 3 hour walk and had tea there and the next day hiked to Castlereagh..2 hours and do not need a guide...BUT if a group or family have taken over a house then you might not be allowed to visit....after our hike to Castlereagh for lunch there we had arranged to go to Somervillle but were told a family was there and they did not want any visitors..we were disappointed..but we passed it two hours later and asked the driver to call in...the other people had not arrived so we were able to look around (buy why tell us we could not visit?)...service is good but uneven..first night we were offered wonderful appetizers with our drinks but nothing the second night...and second morning we were not offered any of the marvelous fruit at breakfast.
Yes, we had a good time but as another reviewer stated ..things are slipping a little...and honestly...we have two children...but they should not be allowed here....spoils it for other guests.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank begley85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malikjfernando, Owner at Ceylon Tea Trails, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2011

Thanks for your feedback. I'm sorry that you were disturbed by a small child, we are reviewing our policy in this regard based on your feedback and will make a change, Tea Trails is after all a place for relaxing in peace and quiet. As for the missing appetizers and fruit, this will be addressed immediately, thanks for pointing out. We have had an extended period of high occupancy with the resulting pressure. Staff numbers have recently been increased and we will ensure there is no slippage from our usual high standards. We hope to see you at Tea Trails again before long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

We stayed at the Norwood bungalow for 2 nights in February. There are currently 4 bungalows with a fifth being renovated. Norwood has a maximum of 5 bedrooms / 10 quests. The journey by car from Kandy isn’t great, but the awful journey seems worth it to get to stay in this spectacular part of the country. Damien (the butler) met us on the doorstep and took us to the dining room where we were served a fresh lemon drink, we then met the chef who offered us lunch and said what he would be making for the 4 course dinner. We were then shown us to our room where the luggage was already delivered. Up to this point we had been travelling around Sri Lanka for 5 days and the weather had been dreadful so we had quite a bit of laundry which we put in the basket provided. It was returned 24 hours later in perfect condition and all included in the price.

On the first evening canapés and drinks were served in the drawing room. Dinner was a vegetarian tart, carrot soup, tea smoked roast chicken (divine) & date and ginger pudding. We retired back to the drawing room for a glass of port. On the second evening we had Sri Lankan food. We were served 8 different dishes. Damien came to see if everything was OK with the food and we told him that the chicken curry was our favourite - before we knew it another dishful appeared on the table.

Norwood has gorgeous gardens and a large pool. It is also very close to the tea factory. They do a daily tour of the tea factory which we found really interesting. Andrew, the guy who takes you on the tour, is so passionate about tea. After the tour we had lunch then relaxed by the pool for a couple of hours.

The whole place is magical and so relaxing If we were to visit Sri Lanka again this place would definitely be on the list for another stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CumbrianGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

What an amazing location, high in the hills at more that 4000ft above sea level! We stayed for 3nights at Castlereagh Bungalow and were treated like royalty. Our bedroom and bathroom were superb and lacked nothing. The food could not be faulted - breakfast, lunch, high tea, pre-dinner cocktails and excellent dinners. We had our own butler and were so very well looked after in sheer luxury by Mahendra and Sanjaya.
For our Ruby wedding anniversary the staff put on an amazing candle-lit 5 course dinner.
CTT really is a hidden gem and it felt like we had found our little peace of heaven. We left feeling that 3nights just were not enough. If you have thoughts of visting Sri Lanka the ensure that CTT in on your itineray!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WelshConblocCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Stayed 2 nights at Tientsin bungalow. Cannot speak highly enough about the whole experience. Staff, food, location, ambience, hospitality...wonderful! Nothing was too much trouble for the staff but still informal and relaxed. We went on a tour of Norwood Tea Factory and were captivated by Andrew Taylor's passion and enthusiasm for tea! The staff provided information about walking trails, and there are bikes to use if desired. The gardens are beautiful and well looked after. Another 2 nights would have been perfect!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyandChristine50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatton
32.4 km away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,686 reviews
7.5 km away
Governor's Mansion
Governor's Mansion
#1 of 2 in Dickoya
103 reviews
37.1 km away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25 km away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#6 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
1,632 reviews
24.4 km away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
352 reviews
24.5 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#5 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ceylon Tea Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ceylon Tea Trails

Address: Dunkeld Estate, Hatton 22000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Hatton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatton
Price Range: $1,138 - $1,255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ceylon Tea Trails 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ceylon Tea Trails, Sri Lanka's first Relais & Chateaux resort, is a collection of five colonial era tea planters' bungalows restored to impeccable style, offering a taste of gracious living in 27 suites and rooms, with butler service and original furnishings, accompanied by gourmet meals. Walking trails connect the bungalows which are from 2km to 15km apart. Follow the Tea Trail from one unique bungalow to the next, staying a night or two at each or just laze in one. Rates are fully inclusive of gourmet meals and drinks, including spirits and wines. Even service charges, taxes and laundry are included. We won't bother you with bills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Ceylon Tea Trails reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceylon Tea Trails Hatton
Ceylon Tea Trails Sri Lanka/Hatton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing