We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Greendale Bungalow(Hatton)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$16
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$50
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Book now, pay at stay
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$37
US$30
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Niwasa House(Hatton)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$16
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 23/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B. Rose House(Hatton)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Book now, pay at stay
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
US$41
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,354)
Filter reviews
1,354 results
Traveller rating
1,248
75
17
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,248
75
17
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscastlereagh bungalowgarden suitesri lankaother guestsour honeymoonstayed nightscourse dinnerinfinity poolmaster suitefactory toursea planeworth every pennywalking trailseach morningpre dinner drinkscolonial styleoverlooking the lake
Filter
Updating list...
1,087 - 1,092 of 1,354 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Stayed 3 nights at Summerville 1-4 March. Had a perfect stay. Our room was attractive, the staff were attentive and friendly without being intrusive. The Tea Factory visit was informative and enjoyable and the food was varied and of a very high standard.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank povenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 4, 2011

Our 4 night stay in the Castlereagh Palmer Suite was a highlight of our first great 16 night holiday in Sri Lanka. I re-iterate other comments:
- the fantastic food, delicious yet light, ensuring we could enjoy 4 meals a day taken on
the outside terrace
- beautiful location with own immaculate grounds in middle of tea estate overlooking
reservoir
- great room with our own garden, loungers, table & chairs overlooking reservoir - had
afternoon tea here one day - felt so decadent
- excellent laundry service
- superb staff who looked after our every whim with a smile
- Andrew's enthusiasm for tea & his Tea Factory tour
- well marked walking trails around estate with great views from hillside and chance to
meet tea pickers at work and their children as they collected them from village creche
- excellent value for money
- Buddhist chanting from nearby temple echoing across reservoir
- make no mistake the road access is really bad, previous warnings on TA had not
prepared us for the time needed to cover small distances (2.5 hrs for 30km)
BUT cannot recommend this place enough a really wonderful unique experience

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aporo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Yes, Tea Trails is a wonderful place so rather than say what everyone has said before I will point out some downsides. But first I would like to strongly refute a previous reviewers remarks about Salyia...I made all our own reservations for almost 3 weeks in Sri Lanka and Salyia was by far the most professional and helpful..all the information she (?) gave me was excellent and very useful.
Guests should be made aware babies are allowed..you could easily have several less than one year olds staying in your bungalow...our first night we had a fun dinner with the other guests but the second night they had left and we were joined by a family with an 8 month old baby...they monopolized the drawing room where we usually have cocktails in front of the fire...baby clothes and toys scattered around the room...we were forced out onto the terrace..luckily it was warm..I do not think Tea Trails is a suitable place to take small/crying/shouting babies or young children.........we hiked up to Tientsin and you need a guide..lovely 3 hour walk and had tea there and the next day hiked to Castlereagh..2 hours and do not need a guide...BUT if a group or family have taken over a house then you might not be allowed to visit....after our hike to Castlereagh for lunch there we had arranged to go to Somervillle but were told a family was there and they did not want any visitors..we were disappointed..but we passed it two hours later and asked the driver to call in...the other people had not arrived so we were able to look around (buy why tell us we could not visit?)...service is good but uneven..first night we were offered wonderful appetizers with our drinks but nothing the second night...and second morning we were not offered any of the marvelous fruit at breakfast.
Yes, we had a good time but as another reviewer stated ..things are slipping a little...and honestly...we have two children...but they should not be allowed here....spoils it for other guests.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank begley85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malikjfernando, Owner at Ceylon Tea Trails - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2011

Thanks for your feedback. I'm sorry that you were disturbed by a small child, we are reviewing our policy in this regard based on your feedback and will make a change, Tea Trails is after all a place for relaxing in peace and quiet. As for the missing appetizers and fruit, this will be addressed immediately, thanks for pointing out. We have had an extended period of high occupancy with the resulting pressure. Staff numbers have recently been increased and we will ensure there is no slippage from our usual high standards. We hope to see you at Tea Trails again before long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We stayed at the Norwood bungalow for 2 nights in February. There are currently 4 bungalows with a fifth being renovated. Norwood has a maximum of 5 bedrooms / 10 quests. The journey by car from Kandy isn’t great, but the awful journey seems worth it to get to stay in this spectacular part of the country. Damien (the butler) met us on the doorstep and took us to the dining room where we were served a fresh lemon drink, we then met the chef who offered us lunch and said what he would be making for the 4 course dinner. We were then shown us to our room where the luggage was already delivered. Up to this point we had been travelling around Sri Lanka for 5 days and the weather had been dreadful so we had quite a bit of laundry which we put in the basket provided. It was returned 24 hours later in perfect condition and all included in the price.

On the first evening canapés and drinks were served in the drawing room. Dinner was a vegetarian tart, carrot soup, tea smoked roast chicken (divine) & date and ginger pudding. We retired back to the drawing room for a glass of port. On the second evening we had Sri Lankan food. We were served 8 different dishes. Damien came to see if everything was OK with the food and we told him that the chicken curry was our favourite - before we knew it another dishful appeared on the table.

Norwood has gorgeous gardens and a large pool. It is also very close to the tea factory. They do a daily tour of the tea factory which we found really interesting. Andrew, the guy who takes you on the tour, is so passionate about tea. After the tour we had lunch then relaxed by the pool for a couple of hours.

The whole place is magical and so relaxing If we were to visit Sri Lanka again this place would definitely be on the list for another stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CumbrianGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2011

What an amazing location, high in the hills at more that 4000ft above sea level! We stayed for 3nights at Castlereagh Bungalow and were treated like royalty. Our bedroom and bathroom were superb and lacked nothing. The food could not be faulted - breakfast, lunch, high tea, pre-dinner cocktails and excellent dinners. We had our own butler and were so very well looked after in sheer luxury by Mahendra and Sanjaya.
For our Ruby wedding anniversary the staff put on an amazing candle-lit 5 course dinner.
CTT really is a hidden gem and it felt like we had found our little peace of heaven. We left feeling that 3nights just were not enough. If you have thoughts of visting Sri Lanka the ensure that CTT in on your itineray!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WelshConblocCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews