We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,381)
Filter reviews
1,381 results
Traveller rating
1,272
77
18
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,272
77
18
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscastlereagh bungalowgarden suitesri lankaother guestsour honeymoonstayed nightsinfinity poolcourse dinnermaster suitefactory toursea planeworth every pennywalking trailspre dinner drinkscolonial styleeach morningscones
Filter
Updating list...
1,093 - 1,098 of 1,381 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Amazing experience, but you pay for it. TT certainly is superb. The all-inclusive aspect allows you to get stuck in, booze and great food. We stayed at Castlereagh which had great views. If you want privacy, you might find TT a little too intimate with other guests. The breakfast was way below expectations, wouldn't expect to find at that price something we could have cooked better ourselves - the full English was underwhelming and the Sri Lankan far too big - less would have been more. The staff were a little variable, our first butler excellent, on the second day not so "on it". An amazing experience, but for the price we think it's fair to say TT can't afford to rest on its laurels and needs to keep pushing itself. We had a better (and better value) experience staying at the excellent Paradise Road in Bentota.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RM1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malikjfernando, Owner at Ceylon Tea Trails - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2011

Thank you for your feedback and generally kind words about Tea Trails. I am sorry that you found the breakfast below expectations. Since both a Sri Lankan and English breakfast were ordered, the staff seem to have gone overboard on the Sri Lankan! We are conscious that in these difficult economic times, we need to offer value for money, which we believe we do, considering what is on offer and that everything is included in the rate. We know we can't relax in maintaining standards, and need to constantly look to up them. The 5th Tea Trails bungalow will be ready for winter 2012 and we are about to significantly upgrade the activities and excursions available. We hope to see you back before long!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2011

You wont like this place if you hate:
Amazing Gourmet food
Personalised Service
Beautifully appointed rooms and bathrooms
Exclusivity
Views of lush green gardens and tea plantations
Being waited on with a smile

Tea Trails is a sensory experience where you can indulge each one of your senses to the full extent. Visual beauty, unbelievable food, peace...

Don't hesitate and book yourself a trip you'll always remember.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joesidhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Probably the best place to stay in Sri Lanka. Four Plantation bungalows set among the tea estate including two with lake views. Service and attention to detail is unsurpassed, beautifully appointed bedrooms and food prepared to gourmet standard.
Not to be missed.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMS2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We spent four days here over Easter with our children aged 10 and 13, in Summerville bunglaow. Yes it is expensive, no question, but it's worth every penny. The setting is stunning and the staff could not be nicer or more helpful. Excellent food, beautiful rooms and bathrooms, fabulous walks in the area. We used the pool at nearby Castlereagh bungalow a few tmes, loved it and also the walk around the lake. The drive there is tough - four hours of twisty roads, beware if you suffer carsickness! Apparently there is a seaplane service due to start from Colombo May 2011, this would be miles better. Our most relaxing holiday ever!

Room Tip: Liked Castlreagh and Summerville best of the 4.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Qatargirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 4, 2011

We stayed in Summerville in the beautiful Garnet . Our greeting on arrival was warm and welcoming and from that moment until we reluctantly departed our time there was unforgettable.
We could not fault the food , service, amenities and attention to detail.
Well done to all at Tea Trails.
Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hendo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews