We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our trip”
Review of Ceylon Tea Trails

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ceylon Tea Trails
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2012

What a joy! We stayed at the Ceylon Tea Trails for 3 nights, one night in Castlereagh and two in Norwood and absolutely looooooooved our time there!

We arrived from Kandy and already you get a taste of the beautiful tea plantations in Sri Lanka. As you get closer to the Ceylon Tea Trails the road gets worse which actually fits the character of the Tea Trails. Once you arrive at the Tea Trails it's like entering into a time capsule taking you years back; the decor, the surroundings, the very charming and helpful staff, the entire experience is designed to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

We travelled with our two year old and we brought a child carrier backpack with us so we could enjoy the trails. Upon arrival and after a wonderful lunch, we set out to explore the first trail around Castelreagh (you need the exercise with the wonderful food they serve... breakfast, lunch, high tea, dinner...). The next day we walked from Castlereagh to Norwood and at Norwood we explored the other two trails there. Especially the longer trail of the two from Norwood is stunning. Whilst Castlereagh is older and gives you more grandeur than Norwood (we didn't visit the other two bungalows), having the opportunity to explore the variety of trails at the various bungalows is definitely worthwhile. Next time I would even consider staying 4 nights and walking from one bungalow to the next.

The excusions to the tea factory was also fantastic. Impressive to understand more about the process and how quickly tea the cycle is completed.

We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: If you are into exploring the trails try and book several bungalows and walk from one to the next.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marit10012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

870 - 876 of 1,267 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2012

When planning our honeymoon we knew from such great reviews on trip advisor that we wanted to visit the Tea Trails. From the moment we arrived we knew we had chosen wisely! We stayed at Summerville bungalow and the surroundings and decor were just stunning. There is an infinity pool at Summerville with views over the reservoir that will blow you away. We also visited Tienstin and Norwood, both of which were also lovely but Summerville seemed to have the edge for us. The service was just incredible, you will not find better. They cannot do enough for you and are friendly and they are so lovely you just won't want to leave them! Words wont do it justice but the food is so so so good, the chef is an absolute gem and will cook whatever you wish but please try whatever he recommends as you will not be disappointed. We went on the heavenly honeymoon package and highly recommend it. Just also to note, there are spa facilities so you can have treatments in your room, pure bliss! We also had a flower bath which was beautiful and so romantic with flowers picked from the bungalow gardens. Please believe every gushing word and go and visit this wonderful place yourselves.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank treez1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Without doubt the most memorable and amazing place we have ever stayed!

The attention to detail was incredible, the food amazing (and so much of it!), service spot on, tea fantastic and accommodation and views just breathtaking.

Do not miss out on this place - definately the highlight of our honeymoon trip!!!



Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mooxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

we enjoyed good time there, visiting 3 bungalows of Tea Trails - staying at Castlereagh, Norwood and visited Summervile for lunch. They are all lovely and each has its own character. Services are in general good and food are tasty. Be aware that there are leeches in the areas with grass, one of us got a bite.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XD C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We spent two wonderful nights at Tientsin, which is a truly special place. The location is stunning, the staff delightfully attentive, food excellent and the villa itself lovingly restored and maintained. I would call it elegant, not "shabby chic" as referred to by another reviewer. If you want gadgets in the room, then dont come to this historic building, but to a modern hotel.
The place is very very quiet, but the whole family, including 12 and 14 year old children, wished we could have stayed longer. Bird watching, walks through the tea plantations, the pool, croquet and a visit to the tea factory kept us comfortably amused

Room Tip: We were given a huge room with huge sitting room - the best of the four rooms in the villa, but all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bigcactus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed at Castlereagh - one of the four huge bungalows that make up Ceylon Tea Trails - for four nights in early May and have been struggling ever since to think how it could be improved.

The rooms are relatively simple but beautifully and elegantly decorated, as well as being very large. The food was exceptional and the service was unlike any that I have ever experienced before. Attentive without being intrusive, with a remarkable eye for tiny details that make a huge difference (high tea served when and where you want it, staff that materialise out of nowhere just when you need them but who melt away when you just want to relax, a library of beautiful books, and an open bar that doesn't seek to squeeze a few more dollars out of you - other Relais & Chateaux hotels take note).

The views from the garden of the lake and the tea plantations are stunning, and you can truly disappear from the rest of the world for your stay.

It is a tiny hotel - I think just five rooms - but at no stage did we feel claustrophobic. On one day we had the entire place to ourselves.

Book now and go before the secret gets out and the place is rammed for years in advance.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed for only two nights, whilst doing a motorcycle tour of Sri Lanka. It was difficult to find the location ourselves and the management immediately sent out their driver to come and find us, to lead us to the Castlereigh Bungalow. Arriving at 5pm, after an all day ride, we were served afternoon tea, over a fabulous setting looking out over the reservior and tea plantations. The chef discusses his proposals for each meal in advance, but will accommodate any changes you require. This hotel sets the bar for how service should be. There is a dinig room, tables outside on the verandah and one room for pre dinner drinks where all drinks are inclusive of your stay. There is also a sitting room, with a TV and magazines to keep you occupied of you need it. The hotel provide details of local walks and can arange in room massages and day trips as you require. The staff are fantastic and are eager to help you at all times. Morning tea is one of the traditions, where you let the staff know the previous evening what time you would like them to bring it in to you, bliss! All meals are several courses, and everything is inclusive, so you are thoroughly spoilt. I would recommend this place to anyone. The weather in August was perfect, although a little too cool to swim. Evenings are cool, so bring a few warm bits.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatton
32.4 km away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,688 reviews
7.5 km away
Governor's Mansion
Governor's Mansion
#1 of 2 in Dickoya
103 reviews
37.1 km away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25 km away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#6 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
1,633 reviews
24.4 km away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
353 reviews
24.5 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#5 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ceylon Tea Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ceylon Tea Trails

Address: Dunkeld Estate, Hatton 22000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Hatton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatton
Price Range: $1,144 - $1,228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ceylon Tea Trails 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ceylon Tea Trails, Sri Lanka's first Relais & Chateaux resort, is a collection of five colonial era tea planters' bungalows restored to impeccable style, offering a taste of gracious living in 27 suites and rooms, with butler service and original furnishings, accompanied by gourmet meals. Walking trails connect the bungalows which are from 2km to 15km apart. Follow the Tea Trail from one unique bungalow to the next, staying a night or two at each or just laze in one. Rates are fully inclusive of gourmet meals and drinks, including spirits and wines. Even service charges, taxes and laundry are included. We won't bother you with bills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Ceylon Tea Trails reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceylon Tea Trails Hatton
Ceylon Tea Trails Sri Lanka/Hatton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing