We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveller rating
129
148
45
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
148
45
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach tropical suite beach side allow dogs thai food honeymoon suite room type jet ski nice beach warm sea normal thai prices bangkok airways convenience store hotel van outdoor jacuzzi thai words koh chang
Filter
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 342 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2015

We stayed here for 2 nights at Beach Front Villa. The place is around 5+ hours driving from Bangkok. Pretty far away but it is worth staying and chilling out. We also brought our Westie with us. He had a wonderful time at the resort.

Services: Staffs are very friendly and the service is good. (though not yet to the level of 5 stars hotel)

Room: The design is quite basic but offering you the nature feeling. Bed is big and comfy. One AC in bedroom and another one in the living room. However, I think the hotel can do better on room checking and maintenance. I found (though not major) that the door between bedroom and living room can not be locked. And we did have the problem with flushing toilet but the staffs came to fix it within 10 minutes after we informed front desk.

Beach: The beach is very nice, long and super clean. (see pictures)

Facilities: Pool is great. Lots of free activities offering e.g. kayaking, cycling, beach badminton/ Volleyball

Food: As the hotel is quite isolated. We had all the meals at the hotel. The food tasted good but the menu is quite limited.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Yuwanart O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentaraChaanTalay, General Manager at Centara Chaan Talay Resort & Villas Trat, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2015

Dear Khun Yuwanart O

Thank you for sharing your valuable experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and had a wonderful experience with us, in particular on our hotel location, facilities and services, and we are still striving for perfection in all we do.

We will work hard about your appreciation on our food and promised to make new menu to do better. So, pleased to see you again to test our new dishes.


We look forward to serve you even better in the forthcoming days.



With kind regards,

Somsak Saisawad
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 10, 2015

This was my 1st Stay in the resort. The place is very quite and good for relaxing. The rooms are big and nice and the beach is very close to the rooms. So, you can visit the beach any time you feel like. The property is roughly 5 hrs. drive from Bangkok, which is very far, but the peace and clam you will get here will definitely make you to visit again. The hotel also has a pool for relaxing.
The hotel restaurant is not very expensive and you can enjoy sea food delicacies. The staff at the hotel is not very good in understanding English language. So, speak with them very slowly for them to get adjusted to your accent and understand what you are speaking.

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing the beach, as they have a open balcony facing beach, where you can enjoy sunrise or sunset.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gagan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentaraChaanTalay, General Manager at Centara Chaan Talay Resort & Villas Trat, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2015

Dear gagan9,

Thank you for sharing your valuable experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and had a wonderful experience with us, in particular on our hotel location, facilities and services, and we are still striving for perfection in all we do.

English skill of our staff will be improve by more intensive training. At our restaurant, we have multi lingual staff who ready for other major guest e.g. Russian, German.


We look forward to serve you even better in the forthcoming days.



With kind regards,

Kris Vanitchanont
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 5, 2015

This is our 1st stay at this hotel and it is just what we look for a quiet realaxed time with good inexpensive food, access to the sea pool and beach and time to chill. Its a long way from Bangkok about 5 hours drive. . Staff are attentive and food is wonderful and high quality. not a lot happens at this resort so if you want to party then its not for you but if you want to chill and relax - perfect highly reccomended

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sitt_Issara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentaraChaanTalay, General Manager at Centara Chaan Talay Resort & Villas Trat, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2015

Dear Sitt_Issara,

Thank you for sharing your valuable experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and had a wonderful experience with us, in particular on our hotel location, facilities and services, and we are still striving for perfection in all we do.

Our Executive Chef knew about your appreciation on our food and promised to make new menu to do better. So, pleased to see you again to test our new dishes.


We look forward to serve you even better in the forthcoming days.



With kind regards,

Kris Vanitchanont
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 31, 2015

Some 40km south of Trat you can find a long line of resorts and Centara is one of them. There are some 40 large bungalows and villas on the premisses.
There is a nice white sandy beach that stretches for a couple of hundreds meters so you can walk or jog.
We stayed in the Beachfront villa which is a large villa with beach and gulf view. It is very spacious and has high ceilings. Large living room with a couch and TV, airco and balcony with chairs and the jacuzzi.
Outside light comes in from all angles so that's nice. The bedroom has some storage space and a good bed.
On the outside (the deck) work is needed. Loose steps and paint work.
A jacuzzi is nice but it is in plain view for those that walk on the beach, if you use it it has to be wearing your swimming gear, takes away a bit of the fun :-)
Breakfast is good with enough choice, fruits, eggs or local dishes. We started with a breakfast and later that week it turned to a menu. Don't know why.
For dinner you have to stay in the resort because there is nothing on the outside that is close by. Not to worry; food is great. Good spicy dishes or western food like pizza and burgers. Staff is friendly and attentive.

The facilities on the beach and swimming pool are nice, volleyball, boxing(!) and kayaking is at your disposal. Some comfy lounge beds for two people allow you to relax right on the beach.

Overall a nice place but it definitely needs some attention to the room details before I can call this a very good.

Positives:
- free WIFI across the whole complex including the beach
- coffee / tea maker in the room
- large rooms when you have the beachfront room
- good bed

Things to work on:
- Clean drapes in the room
- Clean large ventilator in room
- Fix the deck
- Loud airco in the bedroom

Note: pets are allowed so be prepared to see a number of dogs running around. It was no problem but just a heads up for those that don't like that.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Moisandor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentaraChaanTalay, General Manager at Centara Chaan Talay Resort & Villas Trat, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2015

Dear gagan9,

Thank you for sharing your valuable experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and had a wonderful experience with us, in particular on our hotel location, facilities and services, and we are still striving for perfection in all we do.

We are aware to develop inside room and surrounding for nice look. Breakfast service like us will be 2 parts for highly occupancy with full buffet for fast service and lower occupancy with all-you-can-enjoy hot food from kitchen and normal salad-juice-bakery corner at restaurant. Hope you enjoy next time.


We look forward to serve you even better in the forthcoming days.



With kind regards,

Kris Vanitchanont
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 14, 2015

We went on recommendation from the chickynet forum and had 3 days here. It was an easy 5 hours drive from Bangkok that became more and more beautiful as we were getting closer to the resort. The resort is very quiet and private and has one of the best Thai beaches we have experienced. They serve up great thai food (but stay off the western food options). Prices are good and they had a 3 beer + 2 pizzas at bth 299 offer daily which was nice. The pool is good and has stunning ocean views. Staff is as with all other Centara resorts friendly and nice. The place was clean and rooms enjoyable. It is a natural setting so you wont get a 5 star posh feel but rather a tropical "in the nature" feel.
Bottom line, if you are ok with a 5 hours drive from BKK and looking for a relaxing resort then the Chaan Talay is an excellent choice that I would recommend anyone for a few days.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Sure, the beach view is stunning but its a small place and you will most likely hang out on the beach, by the pool, or at the restaurant deck anyway so any rooms is fine.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank GagaFrandsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentaraChaanTalay, General Manager at Centara Chaan Talay Resort & Villas Trat, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2015

Dear gagan9,

Thank you for sharing your valuable experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and had a wonderful experience with us, in particular on our hotel location, facilities and services, and we are still striving for perfection in all we do.

We look forward to serve you even better in the forthcoming days.



With kind regards,

Kris Vanitchanont
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews