We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really well run operation for sure”
Review of Casa Iguana

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Corn Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Iguana
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Every one at Casa Iguana did a fabulous job of making this a very nice location and destination. From the moment we got off the boat, Margaret and the boy who carried our luggage in the wheel barrel (and also kept night watch) was there to make us feel welcome and safe. When we woke in the morning the groundskeepers were outside working hard and making the grounds look perfect. Doug was always around to answer any questions that we had and had great advise and answers to our many questions. Location was great and close to the village. We met a lot of people on the island who were staying at other places on the island who seemed to think that the location of Casa Iguana was great as well. For a couple, for a a romantic getaway, Casa Iguana is perfect. We had considered LCBB for our stay, as well, but had decided that, for us, as a couple, (as apposed to one couple in a large group), that Iguana might be a better pick. After being there I believe that we made the right choice. The Casitas are very private, while still giving the option to mingle with other travelers in the lodge. Price wise,yes its true that for backpackers,it might be a bit high, but for middle age couples, say, 30 something and older, its perfect bang for your buck. The availability of ice, beach towels,and,Wifi, the fact that they take credit cards and the coffee is ready and free in the lodge at 7 am were also a big plus for us. I would have to say that I thought 65 dollars per night seemed to be fair to me for the casitas. If you do not want to pay the slightly high price for the meals, then the village options are super close, and,if you have a flashlight, also super convenient. If you, like us and many others that we met, do not take enough cash onto the island and need to use your credit card, then the price is perfectly fine since they take credit cards.( Where as most places on the island do not). I did not stay in the cheaper 35 dollar/night cabanas but definatly did not experience any bugs or any other unpleasant critters in our casita at all....not even mosquitos....All in all, I would totally recommend Casa Iguana and would return in a heartbeat. Thank you to all of the workers who really work hard and made Casa Iguana a really wonderful place to visit.

Room Tip: I liked the Casitas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauralye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2012

We wanted to stay 5 nights over christmas 2011 at the casa iguana but we escaped after only one horrible night. The cabana we stayed in was tiny, the mosquito nets were broken, there were ants in the bed, dirt was coming from the ceiling, the safty deposit box was broken, the roof had holes, the front door was hard to open and close, the sheets had stains, to sum it up the whole cabana was just a dump!!! The stuff offered us to fix some of it, but the truth is to fix that cabana it would take a couple of days!
Do not stay there!!!!! It is definitely overpriced...you can stay at much nicer places at corn island for less.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank artur g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I was met at the dock by the people who work for Casa Iguana and for the Dive shop, i felt welcome front he moment i stepped off of the boat. They bring your bags to your cabana and immediately give you a sense of ease. One of my bags was left in Managua and they took care of it. They made everything easy and comfortable for me. The cost is a bit more than other more primitive places, but the service and care is worth it.
You are immediately accepted into a community that is warm, attentive and friendly. The cabanas and casitas are located on a well maintained clean path. the landscaping is lovely, the setting is lovely- it is quiet with a nice breeze at all times, i never felt hot or uncomfortable.

The view each morning is magical, the meals are delicious and one feels that they are at summer camp as an adult and can do whatever they want.

The staff is excellent and i will certainly return. It was hard to leave this wonderful place.

I think over the next five years it will be good to see Casa Iguana take advantage of the new technology in alternative forms of energy, and use more solar and wind to run the utilities. It is such a magical place, and one of the most peaceful places I have ever been.

Room Tip: Make sure if you are choosing a cabana and you are a couple to choose one with a double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElisabethNickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

First: Casa Iguana is a very nice place to stay. The location with the restaurant overlooking the beach and the beach itself are great. The garden is well maintained and the rooms are clean.
For us, a young backpacking couple, it still wasn't the best option on the island. Since the rates for the cabanas and casitas are quite high (35 Dollars for a Cabana with shared bathroom and 65 Dollars for a Casita with private bathroom) compared to other locations on the island, it attracts more well situated (and elderly) people rather than young travelers. The food in the restaurant is quite expensive as well (6 Dollars for breakfast, about 15 Dollars for a dinner). As a consequence the restaurant which actually would be a nice place to meet and chat with other people, stays pretty calm and unused.
If we would come back to Little Corn island we would rather stay at Elsas Place or Cool Spot, which are on the same side of the island with a similar setting as Casa Iguana, have nice (cheaper, from 15 Dollars) cabanas as well and have got a steady stream of young backpackers.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank minnie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We tried to get in at Little Corn B+B but due to availability we ended up at Casa Iguana for our three night stay on Little Corn. We are glad we ended up here because the location was really convenient to town and yet still on the beach. We had a cabana with shared bathroom - the bathrooms were clean and we didn't ever have to wait. The Cabana was clean as well though it could be proofed a little better from the mosquitoes - however the windows were screened which was good. We only had breakfast and lunchtime snacks - food was fair to good - the coconut bread french toast was a standout, though breakfast was a little pricey compared to other outlets on the island. The staff is mostly American. They were friendly but not very engaged.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolatcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We only stayed at Casa Iguana for three nights but left wishing we had more time. The staff is incredibly helpful, the location is beautiful, and the atmosphere was exactly what we were looking for. We stayed in one of the cabañas with a shared bathroom, which was very accesible and clean. Lots of hammocks around. Also, it's spot just away from the Village is really convenient and provides plenty of isolated beach time.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank aliceelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Very nice and romantic place. Cabins wih beautiful wiew to the caribean sea. We stayed there 4 nights medio novembre and had almost only sunny weather. Lucky us. Everything is walkable is this island. Very quiet an beautiful if you take a walk along the northern beaches from fra Casa I. And You will pass to nice places where You can buy some refreshments. We also recommend to join a snorkling tour. There are about 10 places to buy lunch or dinner within 15 minutes walkingdistance. Several beaches, some of them with some plastic garbage. The staff brougt our luggage back to the small panga boat without any extra charge when we left this paradise. And not to forget: There were some very" romantic" paths surrounded by small palmes at their property!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geir G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Corn Island
1.3 km away
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel
#4 of 7 in Little Corn Island
79 reviews
0.9 km away
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
#1 of 7 in Little Corn Island
497 reviews
2.6 km away
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
#2 of 7 in Little Corn Island
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Little Corn Island
112 reviews
16.1 km away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#5 of 7 in Big Corn Island
52 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Los Delfines
Hotel Los Delfines
#5 of 7 in Little Corn Island
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Iguana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Iguana

Address: East Side, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Little Corn Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Little Corn Island
Price Range: $25 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean as it used to be: An island, a culture, and a way of life that hasn't yet felt the impact of the 20th century. Opening its doors in 1994, CI became Nicaragua's first eco-lodge. Relax on its 40 acre reserve and explore its secret coves, jungle and farm. Whether or not you are a guest at Casa Iguana, we invite you to join us for our famous breakfast, lunch or dinner and enjoy cocktails and lounging in our lodge to take in the best view on the island and meet interesting people! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Iguana Hotel Little Corn Island
Casa Iguana Little Corn Island, Nicaragua - Corn Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing