We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Food in Matagalpa!”

Restaurant El Mexicano
Ranked #5 of 64 Restaurants in Matagalpa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$4
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: Chef 100% Mexicano Autentic Mexican Food
Restaurant details
Description: Chef 100% Mexicano Autentic Mexican Food
Reviewed March 16, 2018

We ended up here after numerous recommendations and I can see why! We ended up going back a few more times before we left Matagalpa. The food is lovely, the owners and staff are great and friendly and they even subscribed to out YouTube Channel (Just Three Amigos).
It really is a great family restaurant which is well worth a visit if you are in Matagalpa.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank justthreeamigos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 151 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2018 via mobile

Food lacked flavor. Great owner and staff. But would not return. Look around town. There are worthy alternatives available.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank danar974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 20, 2018 via mobile

We are still sitting at the table. My wife and I are finishing our beer. Our children are playing with the owner's daughter and her dog. What a lovely little spot in Matagalpa! We chatted with the charming owners, had a relaxing lunch, and we are aboit to head out for the rest of our day. The super burrito was aptly named. My wife and kids had the fajitas and quesadillas with a salad. All top notch. Highly recommend this restaurant!

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank beinthisplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 18, 2018 via mobile

My wife's chicken mole was very tasty & my fajitas we're good. Only place in Nicaragua where Tona costs more than Victoria. No pico de Gallo though. Very friendly. The owner's daughter's 16th birthday party was in a side room and she offered us free cake!

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank mtkb44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 31, 2017

small menue keeps things simple but could do with more choices the couple that run it are very charming and speak english closes at 9pm

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank youngalistai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant El Mexicano also viewed

Matagalpa, Matagalpa Department
Matagalpa, Matagalpa Department
 
Matagalpa, Matagalpa Department
Matagalpa, Matagalpa Department
 
Matagalpa, Matagalpa Department
Matagalpa, Matagalpa Department
 

Been to Restaurant El Mexicano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing