We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Tasty”
Review of Don Chaco's

Don Chaco's
Ranked #11 of 64 Restaurants in Matagalpa
Cuisines: Central American
Restaurant details
Reviewed August 27, 2018

This little restaurant is a diamond in the ruff. The food was fresh and tasty and easy on the pocketbook. Everything looked delicious and was hot! You can’t go wrong with anything on the buffet.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Harvey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 25 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2016 via mobile

This little comedor is prefect when you search for authentic Nicaraguan dishes for a low price. It's like a buffet style place that also offers tasty fruit shakes.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Stines P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 6, 2016

This is my favorite place to stop for a refreshing smoothy. I'm very careful about what I eat/drink and I think they prepare everything very safely, and the prices are very good. The selection of choices is terrific. My favorite is Zapote con leche (Zapote fruit with milk). Also, apio con piña (celery with pineapple). They don't sound so good but they are amazing! Delicious and refreshing. I go to Matagalpa every year and look forward to this place. Friendly also.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank chanceyears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2016

I ate here a few times. Good basic Nica food for a good price. Good place to practice my ordering in Spanish. All staff were friendly especially Israel.

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 14, 2016

It's a comedor, not a gastronomic restaurant. Nice local food and people, cheap price. And next door from the Coffee museum.

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jerome_53000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Don Chaco's also viewed

Matagalpa, Matagalpa Department
Matagalpa, Matagalpa Department
 
Matagalpa, Matagalpa Department
Matagalpa, Matagalpa Department
 
Matagalpa, Matagalpa Department
Matagalpa, Matagalpa Department
 

Been to Don Chaco's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing