We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chef's surprise!”
Review of La Pradera

La Pradera
Ranked #14 of 64 Restaurants in Matagalpa
Cuisines: Central American
Restaurant details
Reviewed September 30, 2018

Service good, back room air conditioned, restroom clean, generally upscale interior with tablecloths, etc.
Lemonade made out of lemons, coffee very good. Food was fresh and of good quality. Salad was fresh and with a nice dressing.
But... there is some kind of disconnect in the menu even though it is bilingual. I ordered fillet mignon and what I received was more like bacon wrapped steak in a delicious mushroom sauce! My wife ordered meatloaf and received what i would describe as cheese stuffed steak which she found delicious.

Needless to say, if you are picky this will not do! I would return if I was in the area and wanted to eat in this price range, but I might grill the waiter on a better description of the meal when ordering!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Leland S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 30 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2018

We ate here twice with a large group. We enjoyed it both times! The first time, we sat in the front room, which is not air conditioned. The second time we sat in the back room, which is.

The service was relatively friendly.

The food was good! We particularly enjoyed the fish fillet and all of the meals that came on sizzling skillets. They have a decent variety, so it was easy for everyone to find something to eat. The coffee was also good. Everything is clean and safe (made with purified water), so no one in our group of foreigners had any tummy issues.

They accept credit card and have a good, secure parking lot.

Recommended!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank uclatraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2017 via mobile

26 July 2017
Our family enjoyed dinner with steaks,French fries,Vegetables.The food was palatable and a prime example of Nicaraguan cuisine.The ambiance of the restaurant is in the finest tradition of their country!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2017 via mobile

We once again ended our mission trip with a trip to La Pradera. We had a group of 18 and the service was very good. The food was delicious, as usual. I tried the fried shrimp and found it to be very good. This place is safe for Americas.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Becki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2016 via mobile

Do you want to enjoy Nicaraguan style food in a nice environment? Come to this restaurant. It is considered one of the best in town. Do not miss the chance to eat here.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Lester R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Pradera also viewed

Matagalpa, Matagalpa Department
Matagalpa, Matagalpa Department
 
Matagalpa, Matagalpa Department
Matagalpa, Matagalpa Department
 
Matagalpa, Matagalpa Department
Matagalpa, Matagalpa Department
 

Been to La Pradera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing