We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (397)
Filter reviews
397 results
Traveller rating
144
169
60
17
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
169
60
17
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews perfect view swimming pool old town boats coming overlooking the marina steep walk mega yachts your doorstep hotel staff star hotel good size breakfast buffet off season two nights balcony citadel port
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 397 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2018

A charming 3 star hotel with an amazing view overlooking the marina. Whether sitting on your balcony early eve watching the theatre of the fabulous yachts and boats coming in, or drinking one of Adrian's great cocktails, it's quite the high life! Do take ear plugs as a very hip bar with music until 1am is across the marina! The music didn't really disturb us or enjoy our fun.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank debbiebourne21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 23, 2018 via mobile

If you want to wake up with The best view of the port with the mega yachts in the harbour then you won't beat staying here. It's only a small port and there aren't too many hotels here but I did a bit of research and decided to stay here. And to be fair I'm glad we did. The reception staff here are lovely( and speak good English if you need it) really helpful. They stored our bikes for us. The rooms face the harbour and it is the most perfect view in the morning. We didn't have breakfast here(€15 pp per day, we brought our own!) but it looked good, but other harbour bars serve breakfast a bit cheaper. You can pick faults here but the hotel itself is old but they've spent money on decor; new showers, comfy beds, furniture etc. The basic part of the hotel is not the best but it has everything you need and it's clean. Housekeeping is very good too. The pool is great. The car parking good. Everything is within walking distance. If you ride; the roads are full of potholes! The boat trips are plentiful from tours around the islands or dropping you off at the beaches and picking you up later. There are a great choice of restaurants here. We would definitely stay here again. The best port of the island I'd say.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank kelly d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIRECTION F, Directeur général at Hotel Solemare, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2018
Google Translation

Chère Madame Kelly d, Nous vous remercions d’avoir pris le temps de partager vos impressions suite à votre séjour à L'Hotel Solemare. Nous espérons pouvoir vous accueillir de nouveau prochainement et vous faire vivre une nouvelle expérience.
Bien sincèrement la direction et toute son équipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2017

Despite some bad reviews, i have completely opposite view :)
We planned to stay there for 1 night only, but ended up with spending 3 :)
Great location, perfect view, large and comfortable rooms, nice swimming pool and their own parking!!! I cant imagine better place in Bonifacio.
We were off-season so the price was more than great.
Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ZigmundP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIRECTION F, Directeur général at Hotel Solemare, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2017
Google Translation

Cher Zigmundp, Merci infiniment d’avoir pris le temps de partager votre expérience avec nous. Votre avis compte beaucoup pour nous et c’est un plaisir de lire que l'équipe à répondu à toutes vos attentes. Nous espérons vous accueillir à nouveau prochainement. Bien sincèrement,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2017

Located on the marina, opposite to the town, which can be admired from your room window. Very good breakfast, very friendly staff. Could do better with a bar by the pool. Impossible to keep the sunlight to come through the curtains, which can be a probel early in the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank filipealexandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2017

Bonifacio is a nasty town populated largely by yachties and the people they pay. This is reflected in its disgracefully overpriced restuarants. There's not much to do here except walk up the castle and walk down again past shops where they are selling pastel coloured polo shirts for 100e and back to the hotel. The Solemare is staffed by people who would prefer you arrived by yacht, probably because a bit if crusted salt water in the eyes might blind you to the hotel's failings. My bathroom was presumably designed for a boat - it is so small it was impossible not to spray the entire room when you take a shower There is a mini bar. A mini bar with nothing in it, not even a bottle of mineral water. Don't expect a good night's sleep here either - the trance music pumping out from across the quay kept me awake until 2am - even with the shutters closed. I had to leave early the next morning to get the ferry but when I went downstairs and suggested to the woman organising breakfast that I might take it ten minutes early, she looked at me as if I had just been convicted of murdering a close relative. The tables were all laid out, but she insisted I sat at one of the few which did not have a croissant on a plate. As other guests arrived she pointedly served them all coffee or tea. When I went to the machine (the automatic kind used by guests) to serve myself she actually tried to stop me. She had decided if I had early breakfast it would be without a coffee. I thought this kind of snotiness which used to be so common in France was dead. No, it's alive and kicking and lives at the Solemare. My abject joy in staying in a joyless hotel in a joyless town was maginfied when I found the room I paid 155e for was being offered for 115e on the sign outside the hotel. They had made me pay this in advance when they discovered my credit card had been stolen, as if I was going to sneak out and leave the town as soon as I got up. I just wish I had left - before I booked in to this horrible place.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave99100101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIRECTION F, Directeur général at Hotel Solemare, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2017
Google Translation

Cher M. Tufter, nous sommes terriblement désolés que Bonifacio ne vous ait pas plu, et –pire- que la vue des yachts amarrés dans le port vous ait provoqué une allergie d’une telle violence qu’elle vous en a apparemment rendu aveugle, tant aux barques de pêcheurs amarrés au même port qu’à la simple et à la fois extraordinaire beauté du site qui fait sa réputation internationale.

Cette « yacht-phobie » a visiblement focalisé votre attention au point que vous n’avez pas même souhaité poser de question à nos réceptionnistes qui se seraient pourtant fait un plaisir de vous indiquer les multiples activités de pleine nature accessibles à tous budgets sur la commune, du snorkling au jetski, en passant par la ballade, à pied ou à cheval, et le kite-surf – liste non exhaustive, loin de là- et sans parler de la piscine de notre établissement, idéalement située face à la citadelle. Nous ignorons ce que vous espériez « faire » à Bonifacio ; si vous y cherchiez un musée d’art moderne, un cinéma grand écran, un fast-food labellisé ou un bowling, nous comprenons votre déception.

Contrairement à votre ressenti, probablement du au stress généré par votre phobie précédemment mentionnée, notre équipe reçoit avec le même plaisir chacun de ses client, qu’il arrive à pied, à vélo, en bus, en voiture de luxe ou en taxi (pour votre information, les « yachties », comme vous les nommez, préfèrent généralement profiter du luxe de leurs embarcations, ainsi que du nombreux personnel qu’ils engagent à leur service).

Si la responsable du petit déjeuner a refusé que vous vous installiez à une table dressée, c’était tout simplement du au fait que celles-ci étaient réservées à un groupe, soumis à des horaires collectifs stricts et annoncés la veille, ce qui explique qu’ils aient été servis en priorité. Mais nous comprenons votre désappointement, sans aucun doute accentué par l’heure matinale et la barrière de la langue.

Le « mini bar vide », est en fait un frigo à disposition de nos hôtes, qu’ils souhaitent bénéficier du service de notre bar 24/24 ou pas, ce qui, vous en conviendrez, est bien loin de l’esprit « yachtie » que vous avez cru percevoir chez nous.

Quand au fait que nous réclamions une référence de carte de crédit valide en garantie, ou, à défaut, un paiement comptant, c’est une règle de base en hôtellerie qui est généralement comprise par tout un chacun. Nous déplorons que vous ayez reçu comme une insulte cette formalité usuelle. Concernant les tarifs affichés à l’extérieur, ils correspondent aux promotions de dernière minute, pour les chambres restantes, quand il n’est pas également affiché « complet »…. ce qui était le cas lors de votre passage éclair.

Pour la couleur et le prix des t_shirts vendus en ville, et outre le fait que notre établissement n’y peut rien, nous ne pouvons que constater que vous n’avez, là encore, vu et retenu que ce qui venait renforcer vos préjugés.

Face à votre commentaire, aussi incroyablement négatif en tous points, y compris ceux ne concernant pas notre hôtel, nous ne pouvons que vous conseiller de mieux orienter vos choix de destination en matière de vacances, et vous tenir loin de toute phobie susceptible d’altérer tant votre jugement que votre rapport aux autres.

Toujours à l’écoute du bien-être de nos clients, nous vous souhaitons de meilleures vacances . L’équipe du Solemare.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews