We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,094)
Filter reviews
1,094 results
Traveller rating
404
492
132
41
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
404
492
132
41
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool area fresh fruit fish large bathroom nice pool per day the hotel offers end of season room safe every morning on arrival young children isla christina lovely hotel jacuzzi marina ayamonte
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 1,094 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2016

We have stayed in the hotel at the end of June - beginning of July. It was not much crowded at this time of the year - both at the swimming pool area as well as on the beach.

Pros:
-nice location.
-car rental and supermarket in the same building as hotel itself.
-friendly and helpful staff.
-comfortable and spacey rooms.

Cons:
-it took several days to make safe working.
-free internet access is slow.
-monotonous meals - if you like seafood and paella it is a hotel for you. Otherwise choose a different one.
-you have to wait for a long time if you want pancakes or French fries.
-AI offer not so varied.
-non English speaking staff at the restaurant.
-swimming pool was dirty all the time (cups, papers, etc.)
-lots of birds in the pool area which is nice as long as you realize in the morning that all sunbeds are dirty due to bird's "activities".

Room tip: Choose a room on the east side of the hotel - they will be cooler in the afternoon. There is a strange smell from the AC in the room 315.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valhalior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Playamarina Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2016

Dear guest,

We thank you for your kind feedback and sharing your impressions with other readers We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our staff took care of your needs.

Concerning your comments about the variety of food, we would like to inform you, that our menus have a 11-days cycle, in which the salads and fittings could be repeated but not the main plates. Also we include the “Show-Cooking”, where you can find different kind of fish, meat, vegetables, Crêpes, pasta, and the typical Spanish “paella”.
Every day we are working to continue with our quality and not only obtaining and investing in the product, rather in the permanent formation of the staff.

For the use of Internet, there are several options in this hotel, such as an internet corner by the reception area or, if you bring your own laptop, you can choose between having one hour free internet connection by the reception area every day, or 1 week or 24 hour internet in any area of the hotel under payment.

We are at your whole disposal and hope you can come to visit us soon. In the meantime we will keep working to achieve all our guests enjoy their stay at the hotel.

Best Regards
Antonio Jesus Segura
Playamarina Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 6, 2016

This hotel is spotlessly clean and you can't fault the staff for their friendliness and efficiency. The reception staff work extremely long hours and remain cheerful and polite. We felt that the hotel did not cater for the brits at all well, most of the literature is in Spanish, the TV was almost entirely Spanish with one or two german channels. The entertainment wasn't very good hence the reason we would have liked to watch a bit of TV, we had BBC World News one morning out of five, a great deal of excitement that day, I can tell you!
On the plus side, we had quite a nice room with two huge beds in it. Unusually, we had a shower cubicle AND a shower over the bath. The water pressure in the shower was fantastic, again unusual for hotels.
We were b&b because we like to give the locals our business, the breakfast was reasonable enough. There is a lady at the back of the restaurant who cooks up egg and bacon, omelettes, scrambled eggs etc. I mention this because I didn't know she was there and missed out on the first day. A nice, clean hotel but we wouldn't go there again. My 'poor' rating for sleep is not the fault of the hotel but rather the fault of inconsiderate guests who make a lot of noise in the early hours!

Room tip: Room 108 faces east so we got bright sunshine first thing but then nothing because the sun was hidden behind other buildings.
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Candy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, CM at Playamarina Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions with us and other readers. We are really happy about your positive feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our breakfast. We hope to have you as our guests and to welcome you back soon.

Regards,
Playamarina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2015

We booked this holiday through Love Holidays as a package with the only drawback being that they flew us into Seville which is 155km away!
That being said, the hotel is wonderful but there are a couple of things I think other travellers should know.
We have 2 children, a boy and a girl, and all bedrooms have double beds, so the children had to share - not ideal unfortunately. But the bedrooms were spacious with lovely views.
The staff speak very little English so please be aware of this. This wasn't a problem for us as I quite liked this fact but others may find it a drawback.
There is very little in walking distance but, again, this wouldn't deter us in going back.
My husband used the gym on a couple of occasions but, to be honest, it is really just a few machines.
You can also only use the spa facilities and indoor pool at an extra cost.
These points are in no way meant to be negative but I just wanted to prepare other travellers.
The hotel is spotlessly clean, the food is amazing, the staff, especially the entertainment staff were fantastic. I would recommend the pool dancing in the afternoon!! And one of the nicest things was that it never seemed that busy. I was sometimes the only one swimming in the pool or using the outdoor jacuzzi - and that was in August! The lfeguards are also very strict with the children so you don't have lots of bad behaviour.
All in all a lovely holiday.
I hope this review helps others.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2015

Fantastic, quiet hotel. Great food, great staff, great service

The only slight drawback was the lack of shopping facilities nearby - not a fault of the hotel though. Plenty of loungers in the pool area. No hogging of loungers either!

Rooms were spotlessly clean, with plenty of wardrobe space. 2 queen sized beds in the room was a nice surprise. Great views of the sea from all rooms.

All in all a wonderful hotel. Definitely going to return!

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Gerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2015

A perfect place for a successful vacation

We had a wonderful holiday for ten days in Spain, Isla Canela Playa Marina Spa Hotel.
We where welcomed by a professional staff. Room on the second floor was large, spacious, elegant, quiet, very well equipped, with a wonderful view of the pool and ocean. A spacious and fully equipped bathroom.
The restaurant offers tasty dishes, congratulations head chef, and very varied. Seafood, sushi, grilled meat and fish every day, and different kinds of salads, cakes and ice cream.
The pool is large enough well maintained, with lots of sunbeds.
The hotel has an indoor pool with jacuzzi and spa program.
The hotel is 2 minutes away from a wide, clean beach, with fine golden sand. E-reflux impressive flow process that takes place in broad daylight, when the water recedes discovering hundreds of meters of sand from the ocean. There are nice long walks in the cool air from the ocean.
Every day a beautiful and talented young team deals with entertainment program. Morning activities pool. Evening entertainment programs in a spacious hall, elegant and well equipped with chairs and tables. An adjoining bar will give you anything you want. Children enjoy special entertainment programs every evening.
The hotel is 15 minutes from Ayamonte where there is an interesting zoo. From the port, the ferry takes you in 15 minutes in Portugal, in Vila Real de San Antonio, a port city interesting and lively.
Playa Marina Spa Hotel is a very special place, with a luxuriant nature, a quiet and relaxing holiday.
Anca Ivanescu

Room tip: second and third floor are quieter and with ocean and pool view
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank anca i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Playamarina Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2015

Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please Know that it is our aim that you spend the best days of your holidays with us and this is what we are working for and trying to improve every day.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.

Best Regards
Antonio Jesus Segura
Gerente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews