We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,866)
Filter reviews
1,866 results
Traveller rating
1,035
573
168
55
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,035
573
168
55
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool bar animation team non smokers fish sea view relaxing holiday paella on tap sea soul ice cream all inclusive option wooden walkway nature reserve water polo head chef every meal plenty of sunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 1,866 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2016 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend have just returned home today after a 1 week stay at Iberostar Isla Canela. I honestly can't fault the hotel for anything - the service we received from the moment we arrived until the moment we left was exceptional from all members of staff in the hotel. Our room was lovely and clean and very spacious - we were on the top floor with a side sea view which wasn't bad at all. We stayed all inclusive so made the most of the food and drinks which were all delicious. The food in the restaurant catered for everybody, there was so much to choose from and always something new everyday. The pool was clean and spacious and the temperature was perfect to refresh yourself - there were always plenty of sunbeds available at all times of day. The entertainment team work so hard and were really lovely and enthusiastic. The activities they put on everyday catered to everyone and really added a bit of fun into the pool area during the day. The beach was absolutely beautiful and not overcrowded at all!! It was so peaceful and tranquil - we loved it. We had such a lovely time on our holiday and were so sad to leave (1 week isn't enough!). I would recommend this hotel to people of all ages honestly. It caters to young couples like ourselves but also to older couples and families with children etc. The thing that stood out most to us was once again the service we received. Every single member of staff were so friendly and went above and beyond expectations to make sure you felt comfortable and enjoy yourself - they were always happy and nothing was ever too much for them. Thank you very much Iberostar Isla Canela for such a nice holiday - it was amazing!!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Alicia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality Manager at Iberostar Isla Canela, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2016

Dear Alicia,

It is always great for us to receive complimentary reviews like yours. We really appreciate the time you have taken out of your day to share this opinion of your recent holiday in our hospitality at IBEROSTAR Isla Canela.

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding the service you received from our staff here, we have since shared them with the entire team. It is always a great source of motivation for them to hear that our guests have appreciated their service and attention to detail.

With passion for gastronomy being such an important facet of our company, we greatly appreciate your praising comments about our restaurant where our professional Chefs strive on a daily basis to surprise our guests with a high standard gastronomy and the possibility to savor the best of the local cuisine as well as the finest international delights.

And last but not least we thank you for your very kind words about our animation team. They all work tirelessly every day to keep our guests entertained by preparing shows that appeal to our guests of all ages and nationalities which is quite a difficult task and they really are a valued asset of our hotel. We will certainly relay your praising comments to them all and we are sure they will be happy to know their efforts have been appreciated.

Once more we thank you for sharing your experience with us and look forward to serving you again soon.

Yours Faithfully,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Isla Canela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2016

I have been to a number of Iberostar hotels in different locations so knew to expect a good quality hotel and I wasn't disappointed. The hotel is on a small island near the town of Ayamonte. Most people appeared to be staying on the all inclusive option but we stayed half board if I was to return I would go all inclusive. Although the drinks prices were reasonable.
The food in the restaurant was fantastic with plenty of variety to suit all tastes from soups,meats, fish, salads, cheeses, pizza, rice dishes etc.. The sweets were ok but we preferred the mains. We tended to go to the restaurant when it opened at 7pm as at home we tend to eat earlier - we never found it busy going in at this time. Breakfast was great we went before the rush which started from 9am at 8am it was quiet. Lots of variety.
The pool area was very busy with the sunbeds very close together. During the weekend it was very busy with children but this reduced during the week (we went in September). The animation team always seemed to be getting everyone involved in various activities - not much English was spoken. The night-time entertainment didn't start until 22.15 it often wasn't worth it!! The Michael Jackson night was very bizarre!!
The hotel is located a very short walk away from the beach - we spent most of our time here as its a lovely beach and the sea swimming was amazing. We just took towels not bothering paying for a sun lounger. We enjoyed looking at all the stalls along the promenade.
Our bedroom was nice with a nice balcony we faced the front of the hotel it was very quiet and gave us some stunning sunsets. The beds were comfortable and the shower was fine. Toiletries were refreshed when used.
The hotel was a short stroll to the local harbour which has a number of supermarkets, restaurants, pubs and ice cream shops worth a walk down during the day or evening. Not much else to see but a local bus runs regularly to the nearest town.
The only negative we experienced was when we actually arrived. We travelled with JET2 and due to our flight time and dropping other people off we didn't actually arrive until midnight on arrival we found everything was closed and wasn't offered anything to eat or drink (we were thirsty and hungry on arrival) the room had an empty fridge when we asked about a drink we were told "what do you expect its gone midnight) we went to bed hungry and thirsty!! Our flight home was early so picked up before breakfast - although it was a 7 night holiday we were only actually there 6 days.
We would return for the food and beach.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 191JenniferC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality Manager at Iberostar Isla Canela, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2016

Dear Jennifer,

Firstly we want to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Isla Canela for your recent holiday to Andalusia and for sharing your experience with us and the readers of Tripadvisor.

We regret your disappointment with our entertainment offer. We will continue doing our best to bring performances which are of good taste and variety for our guests of all ages and nationalities.

On the other hand we thank you for pointing out our hotels great location, which is also one of the many reasons guests choose to return to our hotel regularly being so close to the beach and for taking a leisurely stroll along the promenade.

We have loved reading your praising comments about our restaurants. At IBEROSTAR we have a true passion for gastronomy and strive to make it one of the highlights of our guests’ stay among us so it is always very rewarding to read when a guess has enjoyed every dining experience among us.

Thank you for the complimentary description of the room we accommodated you in during your stay. It is our aim as an IBEROSTAR hotel to make our guests feel as comfortable as possible in spotless and spacious rooms and we are really happy to know you liked your so much.

Again we thank you for this review of your holiday with us and very much hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Isla Canela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2016

Room Tip: Charge extra for side sea or sea view but all rooms have lovely views of either sea or wetlands.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hoteles2017, Quality Manager at Iberostar Isla Canela, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 11, 2016 via mobile

The staff were fabulous, really helpful. Our sea facing room was lovely and the food was fantastic. The beach was amazing and really quiet, all day long.
The only downside was the pool area. Whilst the pool itself was ok, the sun beds were so tightly packed you were virtually touching the beds next to you - ok if you know them, but otherwise...! So we spent most time on the beach to avoid this and to gain some privacy. The animation team wasn't much to shout about, but there were one or two good shows.
Ayamonte is worth a trip. The local bus was cheap and easy to use.
The four star rating is just about deserved - especially for the food!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteles2017, Quality Manager at Iberostar Isla Canela, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2017

Dear Elaine,

We are very happy to learn that you had such a great time with us at IBEROSTAR Isla Canela and want to thank you for sharing your experience with others.

The staff at our hotel and the entire team behind the scenes guarantees that we always aim to improve and meet the needs and goals of our valued guests. We welcome and value the ideas of our guests because with them we can achieve our goal of providing perfect holidays for them.

We will, of course take note of your valuable feedback and will relay it to the appropriate management for serious consideration.

Again we thank you for this constructive review of our hotel and hope to be seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Isla Canela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2016

We have in the past been to the Viva Hotels which always deliver but decided to try Iberostar Brand as they have a good reputation, they did not disappoint.

Firstly, it is important to us to have a quiet room and upper floor (away from entertainment) I telephoned the hotel a couple of days before our arrival to request this. On arrival we were given cava for us and Juice for the children. Very refreshing and a nice welcome after an early start and long journey Our room wasnt ready but didnt mind waiting while we took in the atmosphere. We were allocated a family room (side sea view) in block 3 on the third floor room 3318, well away from the entertainment. From our room we could see the nature reserve to one side and the sea to the other, fairly large balcony. On arrival we were greeted with Cava for us and Juice for our teenage children, very welcoming after a long journey. I was really pleased to see that the single bed (pull down one) was a proper sized bed, not a tiny one which for my 15 year old was ideal. The other was a single sofa bed which again was ideal, she is 13 yrs old all the beds were very comfy, Large bathroom and very clean room. The only thing lacking was a bottle of water in the fridge. We had not realised this until later and were frantically looking to buy some water, we didnt know we could get these at the bar, but we managed to buy a large bottle after we found the shop on site. Later on, I saw housekeeping with bottles of water so I imagine we had just been forgotten on this occasion.

Food was fantastic, we could not complain whatsoever, such an amazing choice and well presented. It was so inviting, for an all inclusive they do very well. The restuarant was large and we always found a table, it was best to go earlier in the evening as it does become busy later.

Beautiful hotel, in lovely grounds. The space outside is not very big but had everything you needed. Nice sized pools. The pool bar staff are wonderful, particularly Ivan and Joan-Jose, all of them were very friendly. It was so nice to relax and a nice touch was that in the day, they would bring around little treats for you to eat, real pleasant surprise.

Lovely beach and very pleasant walk down the prom. particulary in the evening, there are little stalls for you to look at whilst on your walk. Very nice Marina about 15 minute walk from the hotel with eating places and shops, if you like people watching this is great in the evening, Not much going on in the day. Beautiful sunsent from the front of the hotel/marina, we got some wonderful photographs.

It was my son's Birthday (15yrs) on holiday and we bought him a chocolate cake which was presented in the resturant. When we returned to the room there was also some cava (for the parents of course) and a lovely cake and card, what a wonderful surprise, it made him feel really special.

Mosquitos come out to play so put on your repellent in the evening, it is needed. My husband got bitten quite a lot but my children and I didnt.

We had a couple of trips to Ayamonte which was worth a visit, very pretty little town. Cheap bus about 6 euros and on one occasion we got a taxi back costing around 10, so quite cheap.

On occasions we saw Management walking around which is always a good sign. The staff at Iberostar throughout were extremely efficient, very friendly and would do anything to help. The training of the staff is excellent.

Overall, a much loved wonderful family holiday. We highly recommend this hotel, it will not disappoint. We had it in mind that this was our last all inclusive type holiday and would not be returning but we were so impressed, we are seriously considering returning next year.

Iberostar Isla Canela, we salute you.

Thank you so much.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room, block 3 is furthest away from entertainment.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteles2017, Quality Manager at Iberostar Isla Canela, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2017

Dear Christine,

It is always fabulous for us to receive such complimentary reviews like yours. We really do appreciate the time and effort you have taken to share this opinion of your recent holiday at our hotel IBEROSTAR Isla Canela.

We have treated your very detailed description of our services and facilities as a success story and your comments confirm that we are definitely on the right track with our numerous efforts and our attention to detail.

We therefore want to thank you again for your excellent review and will be most delighted to welcome you back to one of our hotels in the near future.
Yours sincerely,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Isla Canela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews