We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,437)
Filter reviews
2,437 results
Traveller rating
1,438
701
204
54
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,438
701
204
54
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mama mia lovely hotel fishing boats pool area half board sugar reef dining room evening entertainment relaxing holiday thomson rep premium room the lion king entertainment team high standard plenty of sunbeds only gripe family room
Filter
Updating list...
180 - 185 of 2,437 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2017

No critism of the hotel overall but it would have been nice to have had a walking shower in
No overall critism of the hotel, but it would have been nice to have a walkin shower great
Difficulty getting in bath with arthritis.Hotel staff efficient.

Room Tip: Apart from shower satisfactory
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2017

This was our first visit to this hotel and we were not disappointed. We arrived to a very warm welcome from friendly and efficient staff. We upgraded to a suite on the 4 th floor and the room and views were amazing! We stayed all inclusive and the variety and quality of food was excellent, also the drinks offered were premium brands. This is a very well managed hotel and the quality of service we received reflects this. Our compliments to Francisco and Ana for delivering an experience that exceeded our expectations. We will definitely return next year and look forward to seeing you again.

Room Tip: A room with a river view.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
2  Thank Anne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana G, Guest Experience at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2017

Dear rostronaa,

We really appreciate your kind comment on Tripadvisor and your recent visit to our establishment.

Comments like the one you are sharing make us to keep improving our service to the guest to achieve the excellence. We will share your nice words with all the staff and with Ana and Francisco, they will be really glad to hear them.

Looking forward to welcome you once again in the next future at Meliá Atlántico Isla Canela.

Kind Regards.

Guest Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2017 via mobile

On arrival at the hotel, one is struck by the unusual pleasing architecture, which blends in well with surrounding structures to convey a quasi-Moorish theme.
The foyer is expansive, with many seating areas placed well apart-ideal for private,quiet reflection when the Spanish sun gets too much to bear.
The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, as were all the staff we met.
The room was spacious, well planned and very clean.
The food was at all times well presented,fresh and delicious and the drinks provided (all inclusive) were all premium brands.
Facilities were well thought out,with the benefit of a very well equipped gym.
We were very aware of the number of Spanish guests while we were there, which reinforced our faith in our choice of destinations. In summary, a great hotel in beautiful location-a feeling of real Spain.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank hefferman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2017 via mobile

This was our first time to the area and this hotel. We really enjoyed our stay and the hotel was immaculate. All of the staff we encountered were both extremely hardworking but always had time for a chat and a smile. Hotel was very busy but copes well with it. Mealtimes as you would expect are very busy and the team in the restaurant cope amazingly well to ensure clean tables and wine is poured etc etc. We found the food of high quality and a good choice every day. We did venture out a few times but was our choice to do so . We found the whole all inclusive experience really good value. Pool cold and invigorating no rush for sunbeds despite a few people marking their territory each day with towels we never had any problems finding a couple of sunbeds. Brilliant beach 2 mins away and some good walks. The animation team are so enthusiastic friendly and down right nice a real credit to the hotel. I had read some indifferent reviews prior to going but having spent 11 nights here I can honestly say nothing but good things. A tip to anyone visiting and interacting with the staff, be friendly and smile it works both ways. Sadly a few rude Brits and Germans don't but it's their loss. Great place and great time will definitely return....visited 17/9 - 28/9.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank grayrosebeachcombers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana G, Guest Experience at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Dear grayrosebeachcombers,

Firstly, we want to say thank you for choosing Meliá AtlánticoIsla Canela to spend a few days at the south of Spain.

We are really glad to read comments like the one you have shared with other travellers in Tripadvisor. Everyday we try to make the best for each guest to do of their stays with us an incredible experience. Thank you for appreciate our hardwork, our facilities and our great variety on the buffet.

Looking forward to welcome you once again at Isla Canela.

Kind Regards.

Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2017

Excellent stay in this spotlessly clean and efficiently run hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The entertainment team were of a very high calibre and put on some excellent shows, eg Mama Mia and The Lion King and also did some daytime activities around the pool which weren't too intrusive. As we were there for 10 days another restaurant in the hotel would have been good for a change of scenery. But this was no big deal as there is a marina five minutes walk away with some shops, bars and restaurants for a change. There was a good choice of food available in the restaurant and tables were cleared very quickly. The hotel had a very serene feel to it mostly but the buffet could be a bit busy at times. We were there out of the school holidays though, so maybe it would feel different there out of term time.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
Thank sueandronWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana G, Guest Experience at Melia Atlantico Isla Canela by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2017

Dear sueandronWestSussex,

First of all, the entire team of Meliá Atlántico Isla Canela wants to say thank you for choosing our hotel to spend your summer holidays.

We are really glad to read that you spent with us an amazing experience where you enjoyed of our friendly and helpuf staff, our activities team and the variety of food that we have in our buffet.

Regarding the other buffet, let me inform you that for the next season we are going to open our The Level at Meliá Atlántico Isla Canela and we will open a new Restaurant where you will be able to taste incredible dishes in a cool and quite atmosphere.

Looking forward to welcome you once again next year.

Kind Regards.

GUest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews