We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for adults and kids alike. RESERVE IN ADVANCE”

Las Cabezas de San Juan Nature Reserve
Experience for Yourself
More Info
US$106.00*
and up
Bioluminescent Kayak Adventure from San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Comprised of three headlands that extend into the Atlantic ocean, this nature reserve encompasses seven different ecosystems including forests, beaches and offshore coral reefs.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great for adults and kids alike. RESERVE IN ADVANCE”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

This was a great little (2 hour) tour that made several stops in a large nature preserve. First, we stopped at a Spanish lighthouse. We got to see real-life dinoflagelites, the creatures that glow blue in the bays at night. They turn out the lights in a room and bring out a bag of them for everyone to enjoy. Other stops were a rocky beach and a mangrove forest. We saw tons of crabs, iguanas and plenty of other nature. Highly recommended. You MUST make reservations in advance via their website as they don't really take phone reservations.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank MarcBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    67
    12
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vermilion, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A pleasant afternoon in Las Cabezas Lighthouse Reserve!”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We were very pleased with this tour made through the Conversation Trust of Puerto Rico.
We met our very informative guide at the beautiful Ceiba Tree just inside the gate and set off in open bus on a boardwalk tour of the mangroves. It was astounding to learn about the different types of mangrove trees there and how they are zonal in relation to their level of tolerance of salinity, and how even the orientation of the trees leaves change in relation to the salinity and how salt is exuded from the leaves of the red mangrove on higher ground. Learning of the seven different ecosystems within the reserve was interesting. The termite nests in the trees, land crabs, and iguanas were amazing. All those iguanas! Sad and surprising that they are not indigenous to PR!! The lighthouse and it's history are beautiful. the view from the lighthouse astounding and especially wonderful to see the lay of the land and Bio Bay the day before kayaking into the Bay. Interesting contast of the tour encouraging conservation and stewardship and the gorgeuos beach with overflowing trash at the entrance to the preserve.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank OHIOShirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Go and visit.”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This reserve will likely be closed becaue it is full in March. Just do like the locals and park your car on the side of the road and just walk around the fence and hike in. That is certainly one way to experience it. No one will stop you or harrass you.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank hockeymate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quaker Hill, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful!”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

The reserve is stunningly beautiful. The tour is very nice and informative. Make reservations for this gem.

Helpful?
1 Thank Beachbum131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
146 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very Informative Tour”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We enjoyed learning about the different eco systems in the park. Our tour was at 2pm and we made reservations two weeks before on-line at fideicomiso.org. We arrived about 1:20 and had to wait at the gate until 1:30 before they would let us in. Since we were going to the bioluminescent lagoon that night this was a great place to learn about what we would see. The lighthouse had a great view and the inside was set up as a learning center. This is well worth the $10 entrance fee.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank MichiganChocoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Las Cabezas de San Juan Nature Reserve also viewed

 
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Las Cabezas de San Juan Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing