We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View, Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful View, Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We recently stayed at Las Casitas Village (February 2012.) Our one bedroom villa was perfect for our family of three. Compliments to our butler, Ricardo Rodriguez, who was very accommodating and attentive to any of our requests. We enjoyed our visits to Palomino Island, Old San Juan, and El Yunque Rainforest. Our room, 5301, had a nice ocean view and was near the Infinity Pool, which was great. We ate at all of the hotel restaurants. We found the food to be very good but expensive, probably to be expected at a resort of this caliber. A great vacation!

Room Tip: Would not want a top floor casita as they do not have a roof over the balcony, in case of rain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelMom987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    944
    405
    151
    83
    56
See reviews for
990
343
8
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

My husband, sister and her husband stayed in a two bedroom villa in February. What a beautiful property. We were lucky to have a villa (#5250) on the end in a building that jutted out from the cliff side providing us privacy and beautiful views. We were in the North village making us closer to the El Conquistador resort, Golden Door Spa and additional pools & restaurants. We really enjoyed the villa which was fully equipped, modern and confortable. We enjoyed our breakfast on the balcony overlooking the beautiful multi-hued blue sea and the vanishing edge pool. Everything at the El Conquistador resort is very expensive. Purchase your groceries at Ralph's Food Warehouse on the main road, Rt-3. We had dinner the first night at the Bella Vista open air restaurant at the hotel. The food was OK , it was expensive and the service was slow. For Valentines day we tried La Piccola Fontana Italian restaurant. The prices were high but the food was wonderful. The romantic setting and great food was unfortunately spoiled by the slow service after we received our main course. We had to ask to see the dessert menu and after quite a long time had to ask what was taking so long to serve our dessert. It took forever to get the check. There are numerous excellent and less expensive restaurants in the Fajardo area. We enjoyed la estacion so much we went back for our last night. It is only a short distance from the village. We also ate at Pasion or el fogon, the Blue Iguana (Mexican-at the Fajardo Inn) and El Varadero Seaside Grill at Marina Puerto Chico. Palomino Island is a fun trip to the beach. The horse back riding was OK. You basically rode up a steep hill and came back down. The views were beautiful from the top of the hill where you could see other islands in the distance. I would have enjoyed riding on the beach which they did not do. We took the Island Adventures Bioluminescent Bay tour to Vieques that we all thought was over rated and expensive for what you got. I would highly recommend the Las Cabezas De San Juan Nature Preserve tour on Hwy 987. It is only a 5 minute drive from the entrance to the resort, inexpensive and very educational. You take a open shuttle thru the property and learn about the different eco systems of the preserve. You get a chance to tour the light house and walk thru a mangrove swamp. The also have a bio-bay and offer tours. We didn't go on the bio-bay tour they offered but we wished we did. Based on the day time tour I am sure it would have been better than the Vieques tour and you wouldn't waste so much time and see the same thing. We also went to the El Yunque Rain Forest which was interesting. They have a very nice visitor center and beautiful views. Go early to avoid all the tour buses. All in all we really enjoyed the Las Casitas Resort and our visit to the Fajardo area.

Room Tip: We loved the location of our two bedroom villa, unit 5052.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingMarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasCasitasVillage, Personal Concierge at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Thank you kindly for your review!

Allow me to add one more tip for the many travelers using Tripadvisor. Prior to your stay at Las Casitas Village, download from the resort website a pre-arrival planner or simply call us so that we can email you one. This planner will put you in contact with one of our Personal Concierges which will assist with all of your vacation wishes from airport transportation, restaurant reservations, babysitting, to tours and activities or even grocery shopping.

This service will not only provide you first hand information to make the best out of your time in Puerto Rico and Las Casitas Village but will also allow us to personalize your experience!

Regards,

Ana Colon
Personal Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We had a two bedroom casita with a fabulous view of both the ocean, the offshore islands, and the mountains with the rainforest. The room was clean, the kitchen was great (order groceries in advance) for occasional breakfast, snacks and cocktails. The Casitas portion of the resort is quiet, with lovely pools and a small bar/lunch spot as well as a nice (but not opulent) breakfast buffet. the rainforest tour, bioluminescent bay kayaking and day trip to San Juan were all great, we missed out on snorkeling due to weather.

The adjacent El Conquistador offers the large, convention hotel experience of big restaurants, pool bar with music and adults wandering around in the pool with beer cans. The restaurant quality was inconsistent and prices are high. Sugary rum drinks abound! But, you can spend most of your time on the Casitas side and only dip into the big hotel experience when necessary. Tennis is free, the golf course looked like fun but we did not play. Iguanas are everywhere and our children kept track of the number of smaller lizards they saw (very cute lizards).

Offsite dining is available for the mildly adventurous- we had a fabulous, fun and authentically local meal two minutes outside of the hotel gate. We did rent out own car for the week, as airport transfers and what the hotel would charge for a day trip into old San Juan for our family of five exceeded the weekly cost of the rental.
We will probably return, and hope to see more of the island as well as the outlying islands of Culebra and Viecques on our next trip. As long as you don't have expectations of an ultra-luxury spot, and especially if you are looking for a good home base for a little independent exploration of the island Las Casitas made our family very happy for our six night stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ElizCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasCasitasVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Dear ElizCJ, we look forward to welcoming back the family to the Resort and assisting you in the discovery of our beautiful Puerto Rican paradise!

Maria Vega
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

First we gave it 4 out of 5 stars. The place is awesome for kids. Great weather, great staff

Two complaints:
1) there was a great deal of confusion pre arrival regarding our reservations, and since a) most people on the reservation lines spoke poor english and b) one could not look up their reservation details online, it made for a lot of unease before the trip.
2) the lunch & dinner choices were disappointing, and the food quality was inconsistent. if you did not go to one of the top restaurants (and we have little kids so that was not an option) you really felt like you were getting nothing for your dollar. This was a complaint we heard from many other guests when we were there as well

Room Tip: Casitas were huge. We couldn't believe it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasCasitasVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Jeff M,

First of all thank you for selecting Las Casitas Village and Puerto Rico as your vacation destination. We are delighted that you enjoyed your family time with us.
We understand that the bar must be raised in this restaurant area for the future enjoyment of our guests. Our culinary leadership works on revamping the menus of our food and beverage outlets so that they offer more value. I thank you for your patience and understanding while we undergo that process. Also I would like to recommend for your next visit the meal plan package which includes daily breakfast and dinner and which offers a lot of value (about 30% discount over retail pricing).

Sincerely,

Las Casitas Village Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This was our second trip to Puerto Rico. We stayed at Las Casitas this time. A few years back we stayed at El Conquistador which is on the same property. This was a fabulous vacation!

ROOMS : We had a one bedroom suite. The entire Las Casitas complex is impressive with immaculate landscaping. It has the feel of an Italian Village. The room had an incredible view overlooking the Caribbean Sea. BY FAR the best view of any hotel we have ever stayed at. The rooms were a bit dated but kitchen had modern appliances and everything was clean. 5 STARS

SERVICE : Attentive. The staff was friendly and always had a smile. 5 STARS

FOOD : Food was hit or miss. The breakfast buffet which was included in our package was very good with a good selection. The Chinese restaurant was average to below average. Overall, the restaurants on the property were expensive considering that food was overall average to above average. There are several local restaurants in Fajardo that are more reasonably priced with better food. 2 1/2 STARS

BEACH/POOL : Amazing. The island owned by the resort, which is a 10 minute ferry ride away, was beautiful. Lots of activities on the island to do. Kids loved the beach and we took an amazing kayak ride to a smaller "deserted island" close to the island. Pools were clean and not overcrowded. The infinity pool at the Las Casitas was amazing. 5 STARS

LOCATION : While about an hour away from San Juan which is still a reasonable drive, the resort is in an ideal location to explore Puerto Rico. The tropical rainforest, bioluminesence bay and boats to Vieques are all in close proximity. 4 1/2 STARS

Overall, fantastic resort. Would highly recommend it for families.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank worldly74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasCasitasVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear wordly 74,

Thank you for your kind words and for being a valued repeat guest of Las Casitas Village. We look forward to welcoming you again next year. As you kep coming back to Las Casitas Village, we would like to encourage you to participate in our Hilton Honors loyalty program, if you are not already a member.

Sincerely,

Las Casitas Village Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Second time to the El Conquistador, first to Las Casitas and we were very happy with the switch. Villa was spacious, spotless and serene. Wonderful staff. Fridge offered the opportunity to stock up with breakfast supplies, snacks and some drinks to keep costs down somewhat. Even during Presidents' week, pools in village offered plenty of chairs, towels and quiet. Palamino Island and water park definitely worth a couple of visits, especially if you have kids 5-13. Island offers water sports, swimming in calm waters, basketball hoop, soccer net and lunch and drinks. Water park will keep the kids occupied for hours. Main pool is nice, but it gets a bit nasty by late afternoon. It could use a mid-day cleaning. Lunch and breakfast are fine. For dinner, try the dorado or lobster tail at Stingray at the marina. Chicken or lobster tail at the Strip House (steaks only average) and hit Blossoms for the sushi and Japanese hibachi. Brick oven pizza option great for a more casual meal. Be sure to try the Ballyhoo drink at the Ballyhoo bar in the marina.

Golf course is great, even for a quick 9 holes. Also check out the inshore fishing with Capt. Marcos, at a marina 5 minutes from the resort. Be sure to cook up your catch at the marina's grill. Wife seemed to enjoy the spa as well. If you're looking for more quiet and privacy, stay at the south side of the village, farther from main resort. Stay north if you plan to hit island and water park a couple of times.

Be prepared to do a bit of walking, taking a ferry to island, and a hillside elevator/tram down to marina and water park. if this seems like a big inconvenience for you, try somewhere else. If not, enjoy all the beautiful scenery along the way.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdHry67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We had another wonderful family trip to Las Casitas. We loved the infinity pool and were fine with a garden view. We particularly liked the Stingray Restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BEL123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajardo
21.2 km away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
41.8 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,205 reviews
49.8 km away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
50.0 km away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
0.4 km away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
48.0 km away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738-3711, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Casitas Village is an enclave of private villas that enjoy sweeping ocean views, fully equipped kitchens, personal concierges and butler service. Among many pleasures, enjoy an expansive waterpark, scuba dive, ride horseback, golf or choose from a renowned menu of soothing treatments at the Waldorf Astoria Spa. Las Casitas Village has long been known as the jewel of the Caribbean and has accumulated a list of prestigious awards and accolades including a 4-diamond rating by AAA. Welcome to Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Fajardo
Waldorf Astoria Fajardo
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing