We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something for everyone in the family here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Certificate of Excellence
Leonardtown, Maryland
Level Contributor
178 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Something for everyone in the family here!”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Family of 4, girls ages 11 and 9 plus my husband and I. Great time! Rented a car out of San Juan. Interesting drive. We went to the Yunque Rainforest, BioBay Tour, Viejo San Juan, Ziplining, Horseback riding, plus enjoyed all amenities @ the resort--several pools, beach @ Palomino, dining, Scoutabout. We also had a couples' massage @ Golden Door Spa. We don't want to go home! A little crowded @ resort sometimes, but we could always just quietly sit on our ocean view balcony too. I want to come back!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bsfallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    924
    398
    148
    82
    55
See reviews for
962
340
8
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We just returned from a weeklong visit in a 3 bedroom oceanview Casita. Las Casitas Villages is the Villa/Condo section of El Conquistador Resort. These units include a full kitchen, living room and a large patio/balcony. We have stayed in several Carribean units of these type (Harborside Atlantis, Westin St. John) and this unit had by far the largest rooms. Each of the three bathrooms had an enormous bathtub. The master bath even had a bidet! THE UNITS HAD INCREDIBLE SOUNDPROOFING, the least outside noise I've ever had in a resort stay. The unit (thank you Yadisse) and ground were spotless and we regularly saw staff maintaining the expansive property.

One thing missing from the unit was a washer/dryer relatively common in such units. Instead, they offer a "wash and fold" service where you can fill a laundry bag full of clothes and they'll turn it around in a day for $25. Onsite self-laundry would be a plus.

We highly recommend this resort for families travelling with children. We'd also recommned renting a car (<1 hr drive from airport) which isn't much more expensive than paying for airport transfers and gives you the flexibility to shop for groceries (Ralphs is <15 minutes away right off Route 3, and is comparable to a large grocery store in the upper 48) and go on excursions. We very much enjoyed RAINFOREST ZIPLINE, EL YUNQUE RAINFOREST, LOQUILLO KIOSKS, and ERIN GO BRAGH SNORKEL CHARTER ere able to get "in and out" in a way not possible if you did a bigger, more organized tour.

Our advice is to get groceries for breakfast and lunch and splurge for dinners on-site. We did go to the Loquillo Kiosks one night and enjoyed Jefe Burger (order your dinner here then browse other kiosks while you wait) and a great Cheesesteak at Richys.

The Casitas are perched on a cliff with a wonderful view. There are three pools reserved for Casitas guests that were never full, including a beatiful infinity edge pool overlooking the ocean. Just a five minute walk (albeit with lots of uphill steps) gets you to the El Conquistador main hotel area which includes another 2 large pools and most of the available restaurants. Another five minutes get you to the funicular which takes you down to the Marina where you can catch the ferry to Palomino Island (great Parasailing, thanks Captain Joy and a solid horseback ride are available). There is solid snorkelling just yards off the beach and several kid friendly activities like mini golf, basketball and soccer. Alternatively, you can go to the small waterpark which features 3 great slides perfect for 6-14 year olds. After 1:30, it is about half price and at 4 pm, it drops to just $5.

The Casitas also offers shuttle service to the main hotel that was variably reliable. Several times, we called and a ride was waiting within minutes of our call but on more than one occasion, we waited much longer.

We were pleased with the onsite dining, rating Stingray (seafood) our favorite. Informal dining at Ballyhoo and Cafe Bella Vista (great non-alcoholic drinks!) were both excellent. We had Hibatchi/Tappanyaki at Blossoms and it was solid. Our only disappointing dinner was at Cafe Caribe which had an overdose of fried food. The snack bar at Coqui Waterpark had great snacks, including fairly priced root beer floats.

We were impressed with the friendliness of the staff including Yolanda, Lilly and Wanda. While we didn't have too many favors to ask, there was always an abundance of great butlers available to offer tour advice or help with luggage including Casey, RIcardo, Eggy and Carlos.

Room Tip: We stayed in unit 5504, a three bedroom oceanview. It was up-to-date and very clean. This is on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MarcBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I can honestly say that I can't remember a better family vacation. The staff is amazing. Villa's spotless. Thank you Steve (the butler) for as others have said-"Going above and beyond". Our children loved him. Ana, you were quick to respond to a question/request prior to our arrival. Would return with our family of 5 in a minute and hope to soon. Children ages:7,8, and 12.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank NCtraveler2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gales Ferry, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Thanks to all of the staff, especially Steve (our butler)! We had a great time. Views are stunning, pools great, good food, beach was wonderful. All around, a great vacation!

Room Tip: All looked good to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We recently stayed at Las Casitas Village (February 2012.) Our one bedroom villa was perfect for our family of three. Compliments to our butler, Ricardo Rodriguez, who was very accommodating and attentive to any of our requests. We enjoyed our visits to Palomino Island, Old San Juan, and El Yunque Rainforest. Our room, 5301, had a nice ocean view and was near the Infinity Pool, which was great. We ate at all of the hotel restaurants. We found the food to be very good but expensive, probably to be expected at a resort of this caliber. A great vacation!

Room Tip: Would not want a top floor casita as they do not have a roof over the balcony, in case of rain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelMom987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

My husband, sister and her husband stayed in a two bedroom villa in February. What a beautiful property. We were lucky to have a villa (#5250) on the end in a building that jutted out from the cliff side providing us privacy and beautiful views. We were in the North village making us closer to the El Conquistador resort, Golden Door Spa and additional pools & restaurants. We really enjoyed the villa which was fully equipped, modern and confortable. We enjoyed our breakfast on the balcony overlooking the beautiful multi-hued blue sea and the vanishing edge pool. Everything at the El Conquistador resort is very expensive. Purchase your groceries at Ralph's Food Warehouse on the main road, Rt-3. We had dinner the first night at the Bella Vista open air restaurant at the hotel. The food was OK , it was expensive and the service was slow. For Valentines day we tried La Piccola Fontana Italian restaurant. The prices were high but the food was wonderful. The romantic setting and great food was unfortunately spoiled by the slow service after we received our main course. We had to ask to see the dessert menu and after quite a long time had to ask what was taking so long to serve our dessert. It took forever to get the check. There are numerous excellent and less expensive restaurants in the Fajardo area. We enjoyed la estacion so much we went back for our last night. It is only a short distance from the village. We also ate at Pasion or el fogon, the Blue Iguana (Mexican-at the Fajardo Inn) and El Varadero Seaside Grill at Marina Puerto Chico. Palomino Island is a fun trip to the beach. The horse back riding was OK. You basically rode up a steep hill and came back down. The views were beautiful from the top of the hill where you could see other islands in the distance. I would have enjoyed riding on the beach which they did not do. We took the Island Adventures Bioluminescent Bay tour to Vieques that we all thought was over rated and expensive for what you got. I would highly recommend the Las Cabezas De San Juan Nature Preserve tour on Hwy 987. It is only a 5 minute drive from the entrance to the resort, inexpensive and very educational. You take a open shuttle thru the property and learn about the different eco systems of the preserve. You get a chance to tour the light house and walk thru a mangrove swamp. The also have a bio-bay and offer tours. We didn't go on the bio-bay tour they offered but we wished we did. Based on the day time tour I am sure it would have been better than the Vieques tour and you wouldn't waste so much time and see the same thing. We also went to the El Yunque Rain Forest which was interesting. They have a very nice visitor center and beautiful views. Go early to avoid all the tour buses. All in all we really enjoyed the Las Casitas Resort and our visit to the Fajardo area.

Room Tip: We loved the location of our two bedroom villa, unit 5052.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingMarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasCasitasVillage, Personal Concierge at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Thank you kindly for your review!

Allow me to add one more tip for the many travelers using Tripadvisor. Prior to your stay at Las Casitas Village, download from the resort website a pre-arrival planner or simply call us so that we can email you one. This planner will put you in contact with one of our Personal Concierges which will assist with all of your vacation wishes from airport transportation, restaurant reservations, babysitting, to tours and activities or even grocery shopping.

This service will not only provide you first hand information to make the best out of your time in Puerto Rico and Las Casitas Village but will also allow us to personalize your experience!

Regards,

Ana Colon
Personal Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We had a two bedroom casita with a fabulous view of both the ocean, the offshore islands, and the mountains with the rainforest. The room was clean, the kitchen was great (order groceries in advance) for occasional breakfast, snacks and cocktails. The Casitas portion of the resort is quiet, with lovely pools and a small bar/lunch spot as well as a nice (but not opulent) breakfast buffet. the rainforest tour, bioluminescent bay kayaking and day trip to San Juan were all great, we missed out on snorkeling due to weather.

The adjacent El Conquistador offers the large, convention hotel experience of big restaurants, pool bar with music and adults wandering around in the pool with beer cans. The restaurant quality was inconsistent and prices are high. Sugary rum drinks abound! But, you can spend most of your time on the Casitas side and only dip into the big hotel experience when necessary. Tennis is free, the golf course looked like fun but we did not play. Iguanas are everywhere and our children kept track of the number of smaller lizards they saw (very cute lizards).

Offsite dining is available for the mildly adventurous- we had a fabulous, fun and authentically local meal two minutes outside of the hotel gate. We did rent out own car for the week, as airport transfers and what the hotel would charge for a day trip into old San Juan for our family of five exceeded the weekly cost of the rental.
We will probably return, and hope to see more of the island as well as the outlying islands of Culebra and Viecques on our next trip. As long as you don't have expectations of an ultra-luxury spot, and especially if you are looking for a good home base for a little independent exploration of the island Las Casitas made our family very happy for our six night stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ElizCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasCasitasVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Dear ElizCJ, we look forward to welcoming back the family to the Resort and assisting you in the discovery of our beautiful Puerto Rican paradise!

Maria Vega
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fajardo
21.2 km away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
41.8 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,177 reviews
49.8 km away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 48 in San Juan
6,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
48.7 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.4 km away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
48.0 km away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo 00738-3711, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Fajardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fajardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Casitas Village is an enclave of private villas that enjoy sweeping ocean views, fully equipped kitchens, personal concierges and butler service. Among many pleasures, enjoy an expansive waterpark, scuba dive, ride horseback, golf or choose from a renowned menu of soothing treatments at the Waldorf Astoria Spa. Las Casitas Village has long been known as the jewel of the Caribbean and has accumulated a list of prestigious awards and accolades including a 4-diamond rating by AAA. Welcome to Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Casitas Village, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Fajardo
Waldorf Astoria Fajardo
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Puerto Rico/Fajardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing