We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was that it?!?”

Coco Palms at The Westin Denarau Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$60
Description: A night filled with Fijian music, culture and traditional lovo awaits at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa. Our Meke Lovo Cultural show nights, taking place every Wednesday and Saturday, are always a sell out, so be sure to book your seat well in advance. Experience the warmth of the friendly Fijian people and take in the spirited Fijian music and dance performance, known as the Meke dance. Then, witness the mystic gift of walking barefoot on hot rocks and coming out unscathed, a legend your host for the evening will enlighten you with. Enjoy the feast which includes a kava tasting ceremony and lovo style cooking, where food is cooked in an underground hot rock oven. Complete your holiday in Fiji with a cultural experience involving Fijian music, dancing, legends and a feast, only at Coco Palms
Restaurant details
Description: A night filled with Fijian music, culture and traditional lovo awaits at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa. Our Meke Lovo Cultural show nights, taking place every Wednesday and Saturday, are always a sell out, so be sure to book your seat well in advance. Experience the warmth of the friendly Fijian people and take in the spirited Fijian music and dance performance, known as the Meke dance. Then, witness the mystic gift of walking barefoot on hot rocks and coming out unscathed, a legend your host for the evening will enlighten you with. Enjoy the feast which includes a kava tasting ceremony and lovo style cooking, where food is cooked in an underground hot rock oven. Complete your holiday in Fiji with a cultural experience involving Fijian music, dancing, legends and a feast, only at Coco Palms
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

For the price we paid for a supposedly magical show and dinner... was ridiculous... not to mention you had to pay for drinks on top of that, and a can of beer $14??? Seriously... they sang a few songs, we ate dinner, the did some fire walking.... sang another song, here’s your bill, see you later.... seriously? We must of come on a bad night or something as I don’t understand how you’ve got such great reviews? Have been to island culture events in both Vanuatu and Rarotonga and they were mind blowing... suggest you review prices and quality of your show. $225fjd and 2 hours of my life I will ever get back... waste of time and money.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank SVUgirl2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 45 of 103 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2018

Great food and cultural introduction to Fiji. Traditional roles, weapons, customs, etc., all on display by Fijians with a deep love and knowledge of their identity. Then came the astonishing story of how the skills of walking on hot coals is given in Fijian legend. Special thanks to our hosts and to our service staff, Marama and Aparosa who did a fantastic job. Thank you Coco Palms and The Westin Denarau. Mike, Sydney.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank MikeQ22266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2018

Our hosts were informative and entertaining. Staff were polite and the food was great and plentiful. The highlight for me was definitely The Fire Walk and the history of the Great Chiefs from the past. A must see experience.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrabhatPrawin, Executive Chef at Coco Palms at The Westin Denarau Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2018

Bula Natalie P,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your visit with us. It's our pleasure to know that you had great experience with food , service and cultural show , specially fire walking.

Fire walking is uniqueness of this cultural show .

Hope to see you in future

Vinaka
Prabhat Prawin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2018

We booked for the Cultural Night via the Westin but with 13 people weren't actually provided with a table to fit all of us. In the end we requested two round tables be pushed together which wasn't ideal. We arrived at 6 pm as recommended, but most of the good tables were already gone and we were placed furthest from the buffet. This meant we were called to eat last and a lot of the salads and sides had gone or had only the dregs left. If you like loads of meat, there was plenty of that though. It was raining, so a lot of the dancing was done undercover and we couldn't really see. The speakers weren't working very well in our location and we couldn't hear the commentary or stories being told. Once the show was over, there was no lingering - everything was being packed up around us. The next evening we enjoyed a free fire dancing show at the Denarau Marina. I really think if the Westin can't provide a decent show because of rain, they should cancel. It just was such a let down as we'd been quite looking forward to it.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lovingagoodholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrabhatPrawin, Executive Chef at Coco Palms at The Westin Denarau Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2018

Bula Lovingagoodholiday,,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we really appreciate. Please accept my apologies for not having great experience due to rain.

Normally, we get very good comments about cultural show, food and service in Coco Palm . Sometimes,Our village style set up get affected due to rain which is not in our control .

I understand your point to cancel the show but we had many guest in the past who really want to experience this unique cultural show and do not like to get cancel this show. Due to that reason , we generally inform guest about weather situation and held this show ( Little bit modified).

Hope to get one more chance to change your experience during your next visit.

Warm regards,
Prabhat Prawin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2018

Coco Palms Cultural Dinner was absolutely wonderful. The meal (Lovo) was outstanding and the other guests on our table was wonderful. We enjoyed every minute of the night.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank djverrifamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrabhatPrawin, Executive Chef at Coco Palms at The Westin Denarau Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2018

Bula djverrifamilly,

Thank you very much for your great review and time to spend to write this review.

I have shared your comments with team and they have also appreciated your effort.

Hope to see you during your next trip to Fiji.

Vinaka
Prabhat Prawin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coco Palms at The Westin Denarau Island Resort also viewed

Denarau Island, Viti Levu
 
Denarau Island, Viti Levu
Denarau Island, Viti Levu
 
Denarau Island, Viti Levu
Denarau Island, Viti Levu
 

Been to Coco Palms at The Westin Denarau Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing