We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,907)
Filter reviews
3,907 results
Traveller rating
1,430
1,341
620
295
221
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,430
1,341
620
295
221
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslagoon poolchi spabeach bar and grillkids clubocean wingfamily roombanana boatfiji timeputt puttbeach massagefamily holidayvillage tourgames roomkids eat freefijian resortground floormain pool
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 3,907 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Our story of our stay at The Shangri La Fijian resort is very similar to other reviewers. The resort is tired and dated and would have been a 1 star if it wasn't for the staff.
The first sign all wasnt well was the pick up from the airport. Apparently all Shangri La drivers should have a Shangri La sign and never display your name...We got a screwed up piece of paper with my name scribbled across it (and misspelt).
The driver missed the turning for the resort, which we had to point out.
Next were the rooms! We moved rooms 3 times in 7 days. We started in the Ocean Wing. The room was literally falling apart and i don't think it came as any surprise to the staff when we asked to move. Next was an Ocean Bure. Again tired but comfortable enough. We negotiated an upgrade price, but this was something we hadn't budgeted for so felt a little hard done by.
At a meet and greet with the management (which was very nice) we got talking to Chris the hotel manager. explained our issues and were offered a suite in the newly renovated Lagoon wing. The room was lovely..until the AC flooded the bathroom.
In the end we didn't have to pay for the room upgrades or the pick up, which was good as you have to pay for literally everything else you want to do apart from use the pools.
With all the other 5 star resorts on Fiji im not sure i can recommend the Shangri La.
As a last note, I do want to say thanks to all the staff who dealt with our issues and looked after us, they were fantastic.

Room Tip: Go for the renovated rooms if possible
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesWhite77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lata Y, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Dear JamesWhite77,
Bula vinaka and we would like to sincerely apologize for any shortfalls in service and the distress you experienced. We would also like to clarify that the transfers are not operated by the hotel and are an independent concessionaire. We do appreciate all feedback we receive and we have shared this with the team as this can only serve to help us improve.
Yours sincerely,
Lata Yaqona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 8 days at the start of March as a family of 5. This meant we needed adjoining rooms which included breakfast buffet each day and was better value than anything else I had searched. The staff are absolutely magnificent. They go out of their way to personally know you and help you in anyway possible. Eddie the porter couldn’t do enough for us. See him if you want any information, booking taxis (ask him for Edwards taxi) (recommend Tomlu’s seafood restaurant in town. 50aud for 3 large lobster halves and the hostess is lovely)etc. We found filling the kids at breakfast around 9:30 would last them till dinner and the dinner buffers are well worth the cost. The recreation facilities are brilliant. There is a 25m x 25m inflatable waterpark that is supervised and the staff go all day keeping the kids occupied. Make sure you get involved in the games in the pool. Doesn’t matter if you’re hopeless, they make it fun for all. We really would like to thank the rec staff Rosa, Jone, George, Noah, Marley, Ace face and Wise. They are a credit to Shangri-La and go out of their way with the parents and kids to make sure your stay is safe, relaxing and enjoyable. Already booked for next year!
Aaron, Sonya, Matt, Miah and Darcy Moseley

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lata Y, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Dear Aaron M,

Bula vinaka from the team at Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa and we would like to thank you sincerely for taking the time to share your very kind feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are always delighted to receive feedback and we would like to especially thank you for your very kind individual acknowledgement of Eddie, Rosa, Jone, George, Noah, Marley, Ace and Wise. We do look forward to welcoming you back to Fiji and to our beautiful Yanuca.

Yours sincerely,
Lata Yaqona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2018

our trip was a Christmas present from my husband and we had been looking forward to going, over all the place is nice, but we had some issues, when we first arrived, it was lovely, a great welcome from the Fijian men, but when we got to the desk, you really are a number, you are given a map, a piece of paper with events, and basically told, you will need this good luck, we were then taken to our room, air conditioning was brilliant, but the dead cockroaches on the floor were a bit disconcerting, the shower pressure was really bad, also we were not aware that we were on the top floor and taking the steps becomes exhausting when the humidity is so high, the daily staff were just lovely, but we had no idea where to go for breakfast and when we did find it, it was a long haul to get there, breakfast was great, no problems there, but over all the food was a horrendous price, every night we went to dinner for the buffet there were blow flies in the cold appetizers area, and this was pointed out, as there were flies walking all over the fish, shrimps, oysters, needless to say we never ate them, as an older couple we are over kids, and found in the restaurant they ran crazy, weren't controlled, and it made us leave a lot quicker then we would have normally, also we rang several times for a buggy to pick us up and on both occasions, no one turned up, we also asked for some flight details to be printed, we sent them the details, no printing, no phone call, we emailed them with our room number and received no reply, Eddie the driver that picked us up on our last day amazed us, not in a good way, we left behind stuff we couldnt take with us, and before we were even out of the room, he scooped in and said, "'what did you leave me"? and got everything he could and said i will take this for my kids, that was quite uncomfortable, the other thing i would say to people going over is bring your own treats, lollies, chips, snacks, as everything is a horrendous price, also check out local taxis before you leave the resort, a resort taxi will cost you 15.00 for a trip outside the resort, a local taxi charges you 3, and the last thing to the resort would be this, Be a little friendlier to people who are leaving, it was a stinker of a day, and waiting for our pick up, we were totally ignored, it was like, we got your money seeeeya, the new arrivals were given a lovely cold drink, but we were left,
Overall we feel that the owners have lost the concept of customer satisfaction and are only interested in the dollar value that we can bring

Room Tip: get a ground floor room
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ida H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2018

We stayed last August for 10 nights. The resort was lovely, clean and there was lots to do for the little kids and the bigger ones. A lot of the resort was being upgraded so there was a few restaurants/bars that we could use - otherwise a great family stay

Room Tip: Great adjoining rooms for larger families
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank camillelaycock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lata Y, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Dear camillelaycock,

Bula vinaka from Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa and many thanks for taking the time to share your very kind feedback. It is greatly appreciated and we have shared this with the team. We do hope we will have an opportunity to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.
Yours sincerely,
Lata Yaqona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2018 via mobile

Spent about 2 weeks here and it was a fantastic experience.
The staff were so friendly and helpful. The resort was perfect.
A great place for family, and kids. A special thanks to Korina, a wonderful waitress at the buffet breakfast who was so attentive and a pleasure to see each morning. Also the chef Salau who made my daughter special vegetarian breakfast. I probably spelt their names wrong but thank you for your fantastic service.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Maxx31972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lata Y, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Dear Maxx31972,
Bula vinaka from the team at Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa and many thanks for taking the time to share your very kind feedback which we have shared with the team.
Vinaka
Yours sincerely,
Lata Yaqona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews