We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Hospitatlity” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverview Terrace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riverview Terrace
Ranked #2 of 58 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Giessen, Germany
2 reviews
“Outstanding Hospitatlity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We spent 3 weeks in NZ, staying in 13 different B&Bs. Of those, 2 were really outstanding in many regards, hospitality, service, food ....and one of the 2 for sure was the Riverview Terrace with Pam and Peter as our hosts. They run a wonderful B&B, offer great and warm hospitality, are very toughtful and attentive (e.g. gave us a shuttle to our dinner places so that we could enjoy dinner and did not need to drive back on our own, when we used the Jacuzzi, we found 2 glasses of wine next to it - so many small things that make a difference). So we very much enjoyed our stay there and can only recommend it

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverviewWanaka, Owner at Riverview Terrace, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a full & appreciative review. It is our aim at Riverview Terrace to spoil our guests, and provide lots of little special treats, all inclusive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
195
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

This was our second time at Riverview Terrace, and we were very happy to return. Pam and Peter provide wonderful hospitality in a warm and relaxing atmosphere. The location is ideal for anyone visiting Wanaka. The accommodation is very well furnished and spotlessly clean set in attractive surroundings. The food was plentiful, well presented, and of good quality. We would recommend this accommodation to others.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We Six from Western Australia were very privileged to enjoy Pam and Peter's amazing hospitality and attention to detail to make our stay in Wanaka so wonderful and relaxed. They opened their beautiful home to us and welcomed us as family, even chauffeuring us around as necessary. The food was superb, specially the smoked trout which happened almost by magic.The heated spa in the moonlight with a glass of wine and friends will always be a precious memory.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally luxurious
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

My husband and I traveled throughout New Zealand for two and a half weeks for our honeymoon. We love to stay in bed and breakfasts for their charm and personal attention. Pam and Peter definitely delivered, and even more than we ever expected. You immeidiately feel as if you're welcomed into a New Zealand family's warm home. And they take care of their guests beyond the call of duty. The cocktails and appertizers, warm tea, homemade breakfasts, rides to and from restaurants - were all such wonderful touches to this place. Pam even gave us a loving "care package" of homemade muffins and fruit from their tree when we checked out. But above all, we loved the stories Pam and Peter shared with us of their life as farmers, and about life in New Zealand in general. We read that Kiwis are the friendliest people are earth, and I have to agree after staying here. It was a very enriching experience to stay here and I highly recommend a stop in Wanaka during your travels to New Zealand and a stay here in Riverview Terrace is a must!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank villager73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here recently for the easter weekend to attend the airshow and were really impressed! The location is just outside of Wanaka on the terrace overlooking the river that flows to the lake. The view faces north east is absolutely gorgeous! Our room was large and well furnished with high quality components - the bed was so comfortable we just wanted to sleep-in each day. We awoke to the view directly from our room and could just open the large glass doors to the patio and soak in the rising sun. Breakfast is so yummy too, with fresh fruit from the garden, eggs made to order, delicious coffee and tea - don't miss Pam's waffles! Eat breakfast on the patio or inside in the dinning area, return from your day trip and relax with some yummy bites and local wines. As the sun goes down, spend some time in the spa pool located on the grounds, sheltered by hedges but exposed to the amazing wide view of the hills and valley. Bottom line - Pam and Peter have put together a wonderful B&B experience and are there to make you feel comfortable and welcomed.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeverlyDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orebro, Sweden
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

My wife and I spent two nights in Wanaka and at the River Terrace B&B. We were warmly welcomed and very well taken care of. The location is nice with a nice view, though the river is not completely seen. Pam and Peter the hosts are lovely people taking good care of their guests, making them feel very much at home, which to my mind is one of the ideas with B&B. They give good advice for activities and for food. It is a nice service to bring you to the restaurant in the evening and then pick you up. Much appreciated. The evening snacks with wine were very much liked and so were the breakfasts and the recipes. If we were to visit Wanaka again, this would be the place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MOLSWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

I stayed here first time round with my husband on the night of our wedding. We both were greeted with open arms from the hosts Pam and Peter, it was like we had met before. The whole experience I could not fault in any way that we returned again to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. I highly recommend staying here as you would not be disappointed. Fantastic value for money! Be sure to have a soak in the out door spa with a glass of champers under the stars, and awake in the morning to the sensational breakfast, u won't leave hungry.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania_billy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
3.7 km away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
3.7 km away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
5.5 km away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
25.2 km away
Waiorau Homestead
Waiorau Homestead
#1 of 58 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
2.3 km away
Wanaka Haven
Wanaka Haven
#4 of 58 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverview Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Terrace

Property: Riverview Terrace
Address: 31 Matheson Crescent | Albert Town, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riverview Terrace 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverview Terrace is a NZ Qualmark rated 5 Star luxury accommodation with stunning 360* mountain and river views offering 3 luxuriously appointed bedroom suites with en-suites, heated floors and mirrors, hairdryers, disabled facilities, spa bath and patios. Guests can enjoy the private lounge with library, TV, DVD, and internet,or relax in our 8 seater spa under the stars. Generous 3 course breakfast of your choice. Join James and Nicky for complimentary pre-dinner drinks or afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riverview Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing