We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will always come back to Waiorau Homestead”
Review of Waiorau Homestead

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waiorau Homestead
Ranked #1 of 53 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Second time back to Waiorau Homestead and we were so glad we decided to come back here again.
It is just across base of Cardrona. Ann and Blyth are such a wonderful hosts. I would not have asked a better hosts.
Breakfast is so good and different variety we had a lot of options to choose from and were really full at the end of each meal. We asked for dinner for 4 nights of our stay and Blyth cooked something different every evening. We must have gained couple of kgs staying there because food was so good and they made us relax so much! We were treated like their own family and welcomed.
It was our middle boy's 13th birthday and Blyth made amazing birthday cake and his favorite food for dinner. We even had fire outside and marshmallows after dinner!
Place is clean and have everything you need for family of 5. Warm up room for helmets, boots, jackets and pants for next day.
We will always come back here whenever we go to Cardrona.
Thanks so much Ann and Blyth again, we had such a wonderful time!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mijunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Miju, thank you so much for taking the time to do this wonderful review for us - we are so pleased you enjoyed our hospitality again this winter - you and your family are the nicest guests to host. Hopefully we will see you all again next year. Kind regards, Ann & Blyth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2017

A peaceful and relaxing place to be. Anne & Blyth make you feel like family.
Waiorau Homestead is one of the hidden gems of the Wanaka region and a place that so many of us keep returning to year after year.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank garethlyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Hi Gareth & Sheena, and of course we enjoy your company as always as well! Thank you for taking the time to do this review for us and we look forward to your return next winter! Kindest regards, Ann & Blyth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Our hosts were so wonderful! An absolutely scenic place to stay, and our room was made so cosy. Had a lovely home feel. Breakfast was one of the best that we had in our entire trip! Such a shame that we didn't stay longer

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stan_276299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Hi Stan,
Thank you for your review and yes we wish you had stayed longer as well! And thank you for the compliments on the breakfast. We hope to see you again sometime in the future. Kind regards, Ann & Blyth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Couldn't speak more highly of the accomodation provided. Ann and Blyth are wonderful hosts and their attention to detail is superb. Very, very helpful and welcoming. The homestead is lovely and couldn't be any closer to the Cardrona ski fields (either downhill or at the Snow Farm (cross-country). We really enjoyed our stay at Waiorau - Fantastic!
Dave & Janet MacPhail

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Hi Dave & Janet, we appreciate your taking the time to do this review for us and so pleased you enjoyed our hospitality. And yes you are correct, you can't get any closer to the ski fields than Waiorau! Please come and stay again. Kind regards, A & B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

Ann and Blyth are the most wonderful, welcoming hosts, going above and beyond to ensure you are getting the best experience. Breakfast is great and awaits you when you wake. Rooms are quiet and well appointed and the lounge area is most appealing with its view and roaring fireplace. I'm looking forward to my next escape there. Thanks x

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank allyhardcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Hi Ally, we are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and of course we will be looking forward to hosting you again sometime time in the future. And huge thanks for taking the time to do this review for us - it is really appreciated. Kind regards, Ann & Blyth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Great accommodation. Rooms were lovely with a peaceful ambience at the fireplace. Extensive breakfast with fantastic service. The dinner we had was outstanding. Highly recommended and we will return next year. Very easy drive to the ski area. Minutes to the Cardrona hotel.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank paulborlase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Hi Paul, yes you are correct, it couldn't be easier to get to the ski fields from our homestead. Thank you for coming to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again next winter. Thank you also for the lovely review. Kind regards, A & B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

We are so happy we chose to stay at Waiorau Homestead during our recent ski trip to Cardrona. It's the closest accommodation to the Cardrona ski slopes, saving ample travel time each day. Not only is Waiorau's location convenient for skiing, but it's a beautiful house to stay in. Rooms are comfortable and quiet. Ann and Blythe are perfect hosts. Every morning, breakfast would be laid out waiting for you, and the fire is always roaring on your return from the slopes. Blythe is a wonderful cook too, who made a 3 course dinner for us one night. The homestead is very near to Cardrona Hotel and the Wine & Pizza Bar, the only two places to eat in Cardrona town. Wanaka is a 20 minute drive away with a lot of good restaurants too. It is also right next door to Cardrona Distillery. We highly recommend Waiorau Homestead. We hope to be back soon, perhaps during summer!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank lovetotravelhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Dear guests
Thank you so much for taking the time to do your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and of course we would love to see you again in Summer perhaps? Kind regards, Ann & Blyth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
20.8 km away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
834 reviews
21.7 km away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
528 reviews
21.7 km away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 km away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
368 reviews
23.8 km away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#2 of 53 in Wanaka
114 reviews
1.8 km away
Cardrona Hotel
Cardrona Hotel
#3 of 53 in Wanaka
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waiorau Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waiorau Homestead

Address: 2127B Cardrona Valley Road | Rd1, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range: $237 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waiorau Homestead 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waiorau Luxury Homestead offers the ultimate in luxury Cardona Valley, Wanaka Accommodation – comfort, style and hospitality. Waiorau Homestead is within two minutes drive to the access roads of Cardrona, Snow Farm & Snow Park - from bed to first run - 20 minutes! With a large number of nearby attractions and activities, Waiorau Homestead is the perfect haven for unwinding at the end of the day. Nestled at the heart of Central Otago and ideally situated between Queenstown and Wanaka, there are a numerous outdoor activites, wineries and walks to be enjoyed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waiorau Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing