We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful location, great for big groups”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of house View from the lake
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
View of house
View from the lake
Outdoor hot tub
Heliskiing from the lawn
Cricket on the lawn
Queen bedroom ensuite
Beach in front of house
Kayak on the beach
Aerial view
The lawn
The main beach
View of house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Wanaka, Otago Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sgmum
singapore
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, great for big groups”
Reviewed December 7, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

The location of this lodge is amazing! The view is something we could never get tired of! We love it! The lodge is lovely, and well stocked with utensils, pots and pans/crockery and the washer/dryer is great for big families. We enjoyed the privacy of the beach and spent many hours hanging out there, tossing stones into the water. Having the kayaks around are great and we managed a full day out on them, when the lake was calm. There are 3 kayaks - one single and two slightly larger ones which can probably take one adult and a small child, than two adults. The dining and sitting areas are perfect as well, and having a fireplace is good. The bathrooms and bedrooms are well appointed and 'quaint', so no mixers for the taps. But it could perhaps do with a bit more towel hangers/hooks. The house owner, Ally (Pauline and Derek) are helpful and responsive. We would love to come back again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Dec 2017
Thank you for your lovely and helpful review. We are so glad you had a good time, and look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arosien
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Absolutely incredible!”
Reviewed January 24, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Buchanan Lodge is absolutely stunning! The view from the house, the peaceful surrounds, the lounge room with the most comfortable couches and fire place, the fully equipped kitchen, beautiful lawns, hot tub under the stars, direct access to the lake for kayaking and the cosy bedrooms make this the most perfect place for a wonderful and relaxing holiday. The owners were very helpful. We can't wait to return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfgang...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“You don't want to leave”
Reviewed October 13, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The house and the setting are amazing. Beautiful views in every direction. The photos don't quite do it justice. Fully equipped, very comfortable and spacious. We travelled with 4 adults, 3 kids and still there was always a quiet place somewhere (with great views of lake/mountains) to read etc. We were almost hoping for bad weather to have an excuse to just stay in!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth australia
Reviewed April 21, 2014 for a stay in January 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Queenstown
Reviewed April 14, 2014 for a stay in October 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne
Reviewed February 10, 2014 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney
Reviewed February 10, 2014 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing