We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rosie the Queen of Cardrona”

Backcountry Saddle Expeditions
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Backcountry Saddle Expeditions has celebrated a few milestones this year... They are 34 years old... with an outstanding 28 years under the current management of Debs Thompson. Debs is an outdoor girl and apologizes for her lack of skill in an ever developing computer world... "It's very hard to ride horses, manage clients, answer emails and/or phone calls whilst on a horse" She is very much a one "wo"man band. Debs does however value every-bodies interest... and looks forward to people booking. The best way to book is directly with Debs... this way she can gauge every-bodies abilities, genders, heights and weights... a cell phone number gives her security and credibility of a booking. This means the client will have the best and most appropriate horse for their booking. Debs is into personal!!!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

We had a wonder ride today on a beautiful fall sunny day at Backcountry Saddle! Thank you Rosie for the amazing job guiding our 4some. We learned more from you about riding a horse in a short couple of hours than we have in a lifetime!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"cardrona valley"
in 37 reviews
"riding experience"
in 26 reviews
"experienced riders"
in 24 reviews
"horse ride"
in 27 reviews
"western style"
in 8 reviews
"beautiful horse"
in 5 reviews
"hour trek"
in 13 reviews
"trot and canter"
in 11 reviews
"well trained horses"
in 5 reviews
"great ride"
in 14 reviews
"beautiful countryside"
in 7 reviews
"two hours"
in 14 reviews
"my partner"
in 18 reviews
"awesome guide"
in 6 reviews
"awesome experience"
in 12 reviews
"great morning"
in 5 reviews
"local knowledge"
in 6 reviews
Filter

80 - 84 of 523 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018

Our family of four stumbled across this stable just by chance and we are so thrilled that we did. We are all novice riders and Debs gave us excellent instruction and gentle horses.... by the end of the ride she has us in a canter and it was great fun! The terrain and views are absolutely stunning and we Debs gave us a great explanation of the ecosystem and the history of the area. It was definitely one of the highlights of our trip.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank KathleenB2416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2018

These guys are truly awesome - we had such a wonderful two hour ride through the back country on truly amazing horses. Three of us did this trek and we all raved about it afterwards. This is a great experience on well behaved horses - I rode the truly lovely Poggle who was a pure joy. We got to canter too - even those who had not ridden much before.

Highly recommended to everyone - even if you have never ridden a horse before.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank BarbWire73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2018 via mobile

Fantastic place and activity to kill a few hours. Definitely recommend if you have time. Very friendly staff and great horses. Nothing but beautiful views through the mountains, the trek couldn’t have been better, great combination of a slow walk and faster trotting, very well accommodated for beginners

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2018

Can't think of not recommending these lovely ladies, They just make your day and the horses are just amazing. this is probably the best customer service I have ever come across with the best countryside experience. they made my trip amazing to South Island NZ.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank arobee86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Backcountry Saddle Expeditions also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Backcountry Saddle Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing