We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nestled by the lake”
Review of Edgewater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Edgewater
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The resort is on the lake front, about 10 mins walk from the town. Our room was away from the lobby and was spacious and quiet. We ate in the restaurant and enjoyed the open fire place. We enjoyed our stay. The staff were friendly and helpful and we felt welcomed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank world_trip_jc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us at Edgewater. I am pleased you enjoyed yourselves and we look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Best wishes,

Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (791)
There are newer reviews for Edgewater
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

647 - 653 of 791 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2011

Stay here for one night during my visit to Wanaka. Very nice hotel with the best view.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cj_tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of staying at Edgewater. I am pleased to hear you had a great stay and enjoyed the stunning views.

Best wishes,

Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

With high expectations following trip advisor reviews and web site etc we were bitterly disappointed. So much so, we checked out after our first night. Most rooms appear to have facility to be twin with neighbouring room VIA a locked door that isn't sound proofed in any way. We could hear the next rooms conversation as though they were standing next to us. We complained and got moved to a room without this facility. Overall it was okay but not worth the hype. From our experience, there are some much nicer, smaller, cheaper b&b's.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicola586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2011

We apologise for the inconvenience of the noise from the adjoining room. We are glad that our front office team acted immediately to find you another room so that you would not be disturbed later in the evening.

We have passed your concerns on to our Maintenance Team and asked them to check the seals of the dual doors of the original room you were staying in, as this is not a common occurrence, but we thank you for bringing it to our attention.

Best wishes,
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

The hotel is located in the best area of Wanaka, being right on the lakefront and only a short walk via the walkway to town,in fact we left the car in the car park most of the time.Our apartment was very tidy,warm and comfortable. We had a great view of the lake and mountains from the cosy corner window and balcony. The reception service was friendly and helpful. We had a beautiful meal in the restaraunt and room service the following night. Both were deliciuos. We made use of both the spa and sauna.
Thanks for a very relaxing and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of staying at Edgewater. It sounds like you had a wonderful time and enjoyed all the good things Edgewater has to offer. We look forward to having you to stay with us again.
Best wishes,
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

A lovely spacious room, fully equipped with kitchen, laundry facilities etc. The room was warm and clean. It offered stunning views of the lake and the beautiful grounds. We will be back. Wanaka is the best...

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glenncarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2011

I am pleased to hear you had such a lovely time when you stayed with us at Edgewater. I would have to agree - Wanaka is the best! We look forward to welcoming you back to Wanaka again one day soon.

Best wishes,

Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

On the shore of Lake Wanaka, this resort has the best views in town.The apartments are bit old but are very clean and well equiped. The service is friendly and attentive. Our kids were treated very well by the staff in the bar and restaurant. Highle reccomended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NzBrightspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of staying at Edgewater. I am pleased to hear you would highly recommend staying here. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again one day soon.
Best wishes,
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Stayed there a couple of times now both in Winter and over Christmas / NYE. Rooms have great views of the lake, the lakeside footpath is just across the lawn, the town centre is still in walking distance, it's usually very peacefult and quiet, love the spa pool - especially after a days skiing - although the location/environment of it could probably be improved. rooms are decent size, decor is a bit average and simple. bar menu ranges from great tartes to average tasting fish & chips. There's no other place in wanaka quite like it when it comes to location/views.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nAndyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of staying at Edgewater. I am pleased to hear you had enjoyed your stay with us. As the name says - Edgewater - we really are right on the edge of the lake.
Best wishes,
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.9 km away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
513 reviews
1.9 km away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
437 reviews
0.7 km away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.9 km away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
262 reviews
2.2 km away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater

Address: Sargood Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range: $160 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Edgewater 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater lies right at the water’s edge of Lake Wanaka. It is the perfect destination for you to experience all that Central Otago’s seasons have to offer. Our long, hot summers fade slowly into beautiful autumn colours, before the clear mountain air promises snow and crisp winter days. As the snowfalls melt, spring returns with its lush, bright greens. At Edgewater we have genuine local knowledge that complements our inviting accommodation and enticing seasonal menu. We can unlock the very best Wanaka experiences, tailored for you. Edgewater is a four star Qualmark graded property situated on the edge of Lake Wanaka. Come and touch the seasons at Edgewater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing