We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good familly location......” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edgewater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Edgewater
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good familly location......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

Booked at the last minute for 2 adults and 3 kids, the 2 roomed apartment was spacious, clean and well serviced.

It doesn’t have a pool, kids were a bit down on this, but tennis, kayaks and location made up for it.

Friendly staff, only small gripe the BBQ;s are a bit small !

Liked Wanaka, liked the resort, will stay again

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you taking the time to share your experience of staying at Edgewater. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back here again one day soon.

Best wishes,

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    242
    68
    18
    11
See reviews for
175
352
28
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

I've stayed at a suite at the Edgewater many times over the last four years. It boasts delightful views of the lake and the property has a surreal serenity about it that makes me keep coming back. It has a huge lawn fronting the lake and walks and jogs along the lakeside, to the nearby vineyard, boating area or into town are lovely and the path is right in front of the hotel!

This is a place to chill so persons seeking to rush around to tourist traps are better served staying somewhere else.

If its too cool to lounge on the lawn and the well positioned benches, then a favorite spot of mine is in the corner of the room where a full glass panel enables the appreciation of the view in the privacy of the room.

The staff are friendly and helpful and I've come to know several by name. Service is great. It's not the cheapest place to stay but

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of staying at Edgewater. Edgewater is definitely a great place to chill out and relax. We look forward to welcoming you back again one day soon.

Best wishes,

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

The resort is on the lake front, about 10 mins walk from the town. Our room was away from the lobby and was spacious and quiet. We ate in the restaurant and enjoyed the open fire place. We enjoyed our stay. The staff were friendly and helpful and we felt welcomed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank world_trip_jc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 8 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us at Edgewater. I am pleased you enjoyed yourselves and we look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Best wishes,

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Stay here for one night during my visit to Wanaka. Very nice hotel with the best view.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cj_tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of staying at Edgewater. I am pleased to hear you had a great stay and enjoyed the stunning views.

Best wishes,

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

With high expectations following trip advisor reviews and web site etc we were bitterly disappointed. So much so, we checked out after our first night. Most rooms appear to have facility to be twin with neighbouring room VIA a locked door that isn't sound proofed in any way. We could hear the next rooms conversation as though they were standing next to us. We complained and got moved to a room without this facility. Overall it was okay but not worth the hype. From our experience, there are some much nicer, smaller, cheaper b&b's.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
We apologise for the inconvenience of the noise from the adjoining room. We are glad that our front office team acted immediately to find you another room so that you would not be disturbed later in the evening.

We have passed your concerns on to our Maintenance Team and asked them to check the seals of the dual doors of the original room you were staying in, as this is not a common occurrence, but we thank you for bringing it to our attention.

Best wishes,
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

The hotel is located in the best area of Wanaka, being right on the lakefront and only a short walk via the walkway to town,in fact we left the car in the car park most of the time.Our apartment was very tidy,warm and comfortable. We had a great view of the lake and mountains from the cosy corner window and balcony. The reception service was friendly and helpful. We had a beautiful meal in the restaraunt and room service the following night. Both were deliciuos. We made use of both the spa and sauna.
Thanks for a very relaxing and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of staying at Edgewater. It sounds like you had a wonderful time and enjoyed all the good things Edgewater has to offer. We look forward to having you to stay with us again.
Best wishes,
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

A lovely spacious room, fully equipped with kitchen, laundry facilities etc. The room was warm and clean. It offered stunning views of the lake and the beautiful grounds. We will be back. Wanaka is the best...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glenncarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
I am pleased to hear you had such a lovely time when you stayed with us at Edgewater. I would have to agree - Wanaka is the best! We look forward to welcoming you back to Wanaka again one day soon.

Best wishes,

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.9 km away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
1.9 km away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
2.8 km away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
2.0 km away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
1.7 km away
Wanaka View Motel
Wanaka View Motel
#3 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater

Property: Edgewater
Address: Sargood Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#4 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Edgewater 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater lies right at the water’s edge of Lake Wanaka. It is the perfect destination for you to experience all that Central Otago’s seasons have to offer. Our long, hot summers fade slowly into beautiful autumn colours, before the clear mountain air promises snow and crisp winter days. As the snowfalls melt, spring returns with its lush, bright greens. At Edgewater we have genuine local knowledge that complements our inviting accommodation and enticing seasonal menu. We can unlock the very best Wanaka experiences, tailored for you. Edgewater is a four star Qualmark graded property situated on the edge of Lake Wanaka. Come and touch the seasons at Edgewater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing