We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value.Good service..clean and comfortable.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wanaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wanaka Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good value.Good service..clean and comfortable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

I'd read one or two adverse reviews,and was pleasantly surprised.The staff were friendly and helpful with a special mention for Jo on reception for whom nothing was too much trouble.The room was spacious,clean and tidy,and very good value.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dave_j_bradley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    186
    139
    43
    17
See reviews for
101
252
36
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

Our room at the front of the hotel was comfortable but basic. It had a balcony with beautiful views over the lake and was centrally located.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jofife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

Is it old? Yes
A bit dated? Yes
Charming? Absolutely!

I loved the lobby area and stairs with their floor to ceiling windows and (clearly original) brass and wood finishings. The rooms are definitely not up to date, but we found ours comfortable and for the price and location we thought it was a-ok. Good little balcony facing the lake. And VERY friendly and helpful desk staff, which goes a long way with me.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spicyradish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

I have never stayed in a 'Hotel' with so few room amenities. Even the most basic hotels in the poorest countries have coffee making facilities. Our room contained a bed, two towells and a TV! That was it. No shower gel, soap or hair drier or anything else. Information on opening time of restaurant next door was inaccurate - in fact it failed to open the night we got there. The only redeeming feature was the friendly receptionist who seemed to be the only one on duty in the entire place. When the bar was due to open she had to leave reception and hurry across to the lounge to serve us.
I get the impression that this is an establishment in decline that has seen better days. It just about qualifies for the title of 'Hostel' accomodation but in no way should it bear the title of a 'Hotel', nor should it be listed as such on any website.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soldier_of_4tune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wanaka hotels

new england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2010

...is the only thing this hotel had going for it. I was here as part of a tour group (so I didn't select the hotel), and the guide warned us that it was an "older" place. That wasn't the half of it.

It was very hot when we were there. I can understand not having a/c, many places we stayed in NZ didn't. But there were no fans or other means of ventilation other than opening doors and windows. That's fine, but people in ground floor rooms couldn't leave the windows or patio doors open when they were out, or overnight. The rooms faced west, and even with the curtains closed, the afternoon/early evening sun came in, and heated up the room, and it didn't cool down until well into the early morning hours.

The room was small and everything was old and shabby. The bed practically sank to the floor when you sat on it. The bathroom was tiny and dingy.

They had computers in the main area hooked up to the Global Gossip network, cost $4/hour, which was pretty reasonable. However, the computers were in a small, dark, windowless room, which was unbearably hot and sticky. The other public areas were also dark, and seemed empty the entire time we were there.

Positives...it was right near the center of town and had a view of the lake. The other decent thing was the food--we ate in the Cheeky Monkey cafe, and they provided very good and plentiful cold salads.

Don't stay here if you have a choice--I've already voiced my complaints to our tour company.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saab_sister07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2009

The travel agent accidentally booked us here for a week and it was not what we expected. The location is excellent but everything else is awful. There was a funny smell throughout the whole place and our room was small and really old. Worth mentioning is the real lack of service. The desk staff were different to all the other New Zealanders we met in that they didn't seem particularly keen to help us. They had a good set-up but it just didn't seem to work. There was a bar but it was seldom open. There was a massive lounge but it was unwelcoming and always empty. The internet was massively over-priced. We not only wouldn't stay there again but it's now jokingly our point of reference for poor accommodation.

  • Disliked — just about everything
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank elenathequiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingatestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2008

We stayed in an upstairs room at the Wanaka Hotel in early January.

From outside appearances, the hotel didn't look too bad, but unfortunately the rooms are less attractive! Our room was in need of a makeover - everything was old and faded, and not particularly clean (especially the bathroom). We had a small window with a view of the carpark. It was also very hot in the room; we asked at reception if they had any electric fans, and were advised that all the guests had been asking for them, but they didn't have any.

One saving grace for this hotel is the location - easy walking distance to all of the shops, bars and restaurants.

As we only paid $115 for one night (about £40), I suppose we can't expect luxury!

  • Liked — Location - just round the corner from the lake, shops and restaurants
  • Disliked — Run-down bedrooms, in need of modernisation. No air con or fans.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank polarbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
2.0 km away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
2.2 km away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.2 km away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
0.1 km away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
1.4 km away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Hotel

Property: Wanaka Hotel
Address: 71 Ardmore Street, P.O. Box 26,, Wanaka, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wanaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Value Hotel right in the center of Wanaka, only one-minute walk to the Lake and Town Center. Full Restaurant and Bar Facilities on-site. Plenty of free, off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Wanaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing