We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wanaka Hotel(Wanaka)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,038)
Filter reviews
1,038 results
Traveller rating
273
386
218
113
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
273
386
218
113
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot poolsoak ridgestandard roompool areaone bedroom apartmentgreat resortfull kitchenwashing machine and dryershort driveviews of the mountainstown centreself containedlaundry facilitiesgreat facilitiescooking facilitiestubsmercure
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
660 - 665 of 1,038 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2012

My new wife and I travelled around NZ as part of our honeymoon, and we started in this hotel. The staff were lovely and upgraded us as it was our honeymoon to a lovely apartment and gave us money off for the restaurant. The apartment was lovely with an enormous bed, and was also very well equipped with washer, drier, dish-washer and fridge/freezer. Also the compliamentary wifi was very useful! The pool area with the hot-tubs was excellent, and was lovely to relax in. Also on a clear night you can chill out looking up at the stars while in the hot-tub. The food at the restaurant was superb, especially the NZ lamb which was delicious! Also had a very good selection of wines from Central Otago. The staff around the hotel were very friendly and did all they could to help us out with our activities. The only downside of the hotel was that it was about a 20min walk from the centre of Wanaka and to the bus station etc, and about 30-40mins away from Puzzlingworld. However, if you can manage the walk I would definitely recommend this hotel. It wasn't the cheapest hotel in the world, but I feel that you get a lot for your money. Worth going for the pools alone!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012 via mobile

The resort is a short drive from the town centre, so suits people with cars best. The rooms are clean,spacious and functional. We upgraded to a studio apartment and it was well worth it, including a full kitchen and laundry facilities.

The locks on the lockers in the changing room did not work, and the main swimming pool was closed for maintenance for the three days we were there. The smaller pools were still available.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globe_grotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in mid-November. We choose the one bedroom self-service apartment and were not disappointed. We were in Wanaka to get married. After reading some of the mixed reviews we were not sure what to expect but the 1 bedroom apartment completely met our needs and we were very satisfied by our stay. Here are the details:

Location: If you are travelling to Wanaka from Queenstown via the Crown Range the hotel is located before you actually get to Wanaka on the left. Next door is a Lonestar Restaurant (which we walked to for 2 meals) and wall climbing facility. It was a 2 minute drive to the lake and a 3 minute drive to the town centre. We had no issue with the location and actually enjoyed how quiet it was. Our apartment also had an amazing view of the mountains and we woke up every morning to say 'wow' as we looked out at the view.

Kitchen: Our apartment had a full kitchen including a dishwasher, cook top and oven. There was a table with 6 chairs as well. Everything was clean and we had everything we needed.

Room: Comfortable bed, nice bedding, patio doors to the patio, very spacious. In-room laundry facilities (including soap). Clean and spacious bathroom. Good wifi reception. Flat screen TVs in living room and bedroom. Nice patio with table and chairs - we enjoyed having a glass of wine and a beer out on the patio looking at the amazing view and watching the neighbourhood rabbits. Excellent value for the price of this hotel.

Staff: Our experience with the staff was fine. We had very good service from the reception manager Margo and appreciated her help with booking activities not only in Wanaka but with AJ Hackett near Queenstown as well.

Pools: they oversell the pool area a bit and I think that is why some people are disappointed. There is actually 3 large pools (though 1 was closed during our stay) and then several hottubs. The pool area was nice and we also enjoyed the sauna.

Other: Restaurant is decent but there are better places to eat in Wanaka that cost less. Free internet access in the reception area. Fitness area is large and well equipped. There is plenty of free parking available.

Side note: Though it is not a reflection on the hotel as it is a seperate business, I was not impressed with the service I received at the spa. I purchased a French manicure and it was not well done. I asked for a couple nails to be re-done but it was still a poor job.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

The property is outside Wanaka itself. We drove past this property initially as we were looking for a sign saying Grand Mercure instead it read Oakridge with Grand Mercure below it in much smaller font. The hotel has motel style units but without the kitchen. We were disappointed with our room the carpet needed cleaning..coffee/tea stains and the furniture had seen better days again water /heat stains from cups etc. The kettle leaked, so no wonder there was water damage. We had been upgraded to a spa room so goodness knows what the basic accommodation was like. The spa room upgrade comprised a spa bath with the shower above it. The wardrobe space contain 1 coathanger! The bed was comfortable and the linen was clean. There was a small patio area at the rear overlooking a lawned area with table and 2 chairs. In the hotel complex there was a pool and spas which we did not use and free guest computer in the lounge area. Service by reception staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank explorer60_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews