We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2012

we spent a night during our trip to east African countries. A warm and friendly welcome, peacful atmosphere, nice staff and friendly management. It was a pity that we couldnt stay there more!

Room Tip: try the 3rd floor, you will find good view there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHOTGUNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

984 - 990 of 1,564 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

Got a good deal in this place, in fact cheapest I stayed in Zanzi the whole week. Place is a little out of the main drag so it's peaceful. Get a sea facing room, the view from the balcony is amazing at both high and low tide. They offer an all inclusive option for $65 pp/day. So can eat and drink from any of the rest / bars all day. Security keeps away all the selling hasslers. Only down side is the food is pretty average. But many restaurants 100-200m up the beach.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark_from_sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed here at the end of our trip. FAR preferred Nungwi to Paje (where we'd been before for a few nights before).

We'd booked a 'sea view room' through Expedia and it turned out that this was actually a pool view room (you could see the sea in distance), which was really disappointing. The staff were VERY helpful though and upgraded us for free as a courtesy (but do be aware when booking what you are booking for!) - also possible as we were staying start of April in low season.

Breakfast was good and the facilities (pool, rooms etc) are excellent. Hotel location is perfect - you can just walk along the beach to get to cafe's/restaurants etc. DON'T BOOK ALL-INCLUSIVE as the food isn't brilliant and you can get wonderful food just down the beach (Langi Langi = best) for a fraction of the price with better views etc.

A really relaxing 'treat' at the end of our holiday to Tanzania.

Room Tip: Check you know what you're booking. Would recommend Sea View room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Had a lovely relaxing 6 night stay after a busy 3 days trips and sightseeing in Stonetown - A lovely hotel with very attentive and friendly staff - Only complaint was that nobody could tell us if we could get an allowance against an A La carte meal if we didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening (bearing in mind we were half board!!) - Retaurant food was a little bland but I can recommend their fish main courses and the A La Carte although strangely my wife's Hawaiian pizza arrived with no pineapple but lots of carrots instead!! Room was perfect and the air conditioning much appreciated and reliable!! Bed was very comfortable too. We were off season so the hotel wasn't too busy and obviously helped re speed of service which was generally quite prompt. The hawkers on the beach are a bit of a pain but usually disappeared if they saw you weren't interested!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FletchasArmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Where to begin! Gastronomically the food was unbelievably bad for the pasta was not ''al dente'' but rather more ''al raw''! The desserts were honestly so, so dry that it made a piece of cardboard look moist. Upon check-in we had to wait for over two hours as our room wasn't ready and then we were informed that the room we had booked was unavailable. And OMG the staff are terribly slow when it comes to housekeeping! Then there was a pimp with his two hookers that paid us a visit one evening whilst we were asleep, claiming that we had ordered room service! The beach was a little disappointing as there were loads of rocks etc in front of the resort along with many local fishing boats. Staff are friendly, rooms are spacious but lack outdoor privacy.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

My wife, daughter and I spent the school March break at the Hilton and loved it. I could not help but remark that it was not very busy which I could not understand as it was a wonderful vacation. The room is large, clean and with great airconditionning. We brought in an extra cot that was very very hard and the manager said he would look into replacing them. The bed - I can't stress enough - was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in!! I even took down the name of the mattress thinking I might buy one. I have found most hotel beds that we experience in Africa are very very firm compared to North America. Not here. There is a great pool and pool bar. The beach directly in front of the hotel is not very good but just walk 5 - 10 minutes South down the beach and you will find a great place to spend the day. The beach boys are no way near as crazy as the ones in Kenya. Here, they knew how to take no for an answer. The food at the Hilton was absolutely top notch to the point where we had to thank the chef. The service was just as good - efficient and friendly. The staff at the pool bar are not exactly what you would call keen but they (eventually) get the job done. Their laid back personalities were part of the charm actually. The manager was super - even went out of his way to get a couple of recipes (Zanzibar tea - wow) from the chef. There is a place down the beach where we rented top-notch jet skis which was a highlight for me and my teen-age daughter. Next time, my tripadvisor friends, spend your March vacation at the Doubletree; you will not regret it.

Room Tip: Second floor view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoveTravellilng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My wife, my son and I had a wonderful experience. ASANTI SANA for the great memories and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ghaaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
26.8 km away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,632 reviews
0.9 km away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 19 in Nungwi
639 reviews
1.3 km away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 19 in Nungwi
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 km away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,680 reviews
0.8 km away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 19 in Nungwi
1,125 reviews
50.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi

Address: Nungwi Village P.O. Box 2651, Nungwi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#6 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: $188 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar-Nungwi, set on the most northern tip of Zanzibar in Tanzania. Feel valued and cared for on arrival with a freshly baked DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie. Relax in a spacious guest room with a private balcony and ocean panoramas or upgrade to a two-room suite and feel pampered with a 30-minute house massage, fully stocked mini bar, and daily fruit basket.Boasting a traditional Zanzibar style with Makuti palm leaf roofs, this Nungwi hotel offers spectacular sea views and direct beach access. Relax on pristine, white sand with sun beds and parasols and explore the tropical waters while scuba diving or snorkeling. Plunge into the outdoor, freshwater pool or sip on cocktails and fresh fruit juices from Dolphin’s pool bar. Continue your exercise routine in the modern fitness center or enjoy morning yoga on the beach.Savor innovative international and fusion specialties at Fisherman Bar & Grill before admiring the Zanzibar sunset and trying authentic Shisha aromatic tobacco. Enjoy traditional, live entertainment at Ngalawa Restaurant and savor delicious local cuisine next to the beach.Celebrate your dream wedding with stunning, exotic backdrops, host your special event on the beach, or choose from three flexible function rooms for your next corporate meeting of up to 100 guests. Stay productive in the well-equipped business center and enjoy complimentary parking and WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi Hotel Nungwi
DoubleTree By Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing