We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (767)
Filter reviews
767 results
Traveller rating
579
130
38
15
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
579
130
38
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews market kitchen our honeymoon beautiful jetty main building infinity pool overlooking the ocean pier restaurant kids club massage room low tide stone town the general manager indian ocean private dinner beautiful hotel sea water large pool salt water
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 767 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2018 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 weeks. The people are amazing and the place is wonderful. beautiful scenery and rooms
The Staff are well groomed and speal fluent English. The Food is Amazing...my Favourite is the Garlic Chilli Prawns!!!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuarteCorreia, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2018

Dear Jennifer,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. We very pleased to read your review and are delighted that you had a good experience at Essque Zalu Zanzibar . Thank you!

We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again soon.


Wishing you safe travels.


Best Regards.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2018 via mobile

We came here for a conference.
The hotel is beautifully designed, in a very good condition, with professional and friendly staff.
The food selection is quite good.

The pool is excellent and has fresh ocean water in it. Long and great to swim in.

The WiFi is decent.

Please, note:
In early March, when we were here, the ebb and flow are quite strong to the point of water receding by 100 m or so and coming back in the afternoon.
Thus, effectively there is no beach and it is not really easy to swim.
The conference area is not perfect - located under a huge roof of the main building - there is no real air conditioning, plus when it was really windy outside, the dust from the roof was falling down quite intensely.

If you want to pay with a credit card, an additional fee will be applied (like in all other places in Tanzania).

The air conditioning in my villa was also not exceptionally good.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank EgorParienko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuarteCorreia, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2018

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share with us and the wider digital audience, your feedback following your recent experience with us here at Essque Zalu Zanzibar.

I was so happy to read that you had a most enjoyable experience with us and please rest assured that I shall be sharing your kind feedback with the remainder of the team, as all the credit goes to them.

For the benefit of our readers, I feel it is important to elaborate on the venue used for your conference. The venue on the upper level of the resort used for your conference was specifically asked by your company. We do have meeting rooms but the organizer wanted something bigger with a lot of natural light, hence the area being transformed in order to accommodate the conference needs.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you soon back to Essque Zalu and make your next visit an even more exceptional one.

Best Regards,


Duarte Correia - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 11, 2018

The Esque Zalu Hotel at Nungwui this is really paradise on arrival it is really magic,
the Sun, the hotel with hospitality, the staff treat all customers in every detail

In February 2018 we were for the 4th time at the hotel for our honeymoon with
the family and friends it was really magical.

We make a wedding Massai ceremony at the hotel on the superb jetty
with the hotel team It's an unforgettable memory, see the photos…

The new Mauritian Cook - Anuraag Ramkalawon - is truly exceptional, a quality
of the - Restaurant Etoilé - for the two restaurants on the hotel is really the TOP.

We want to many thank all the Essque Zalu team and the Manager Mr Duarte Correia for a wonderful time.

We plan to come back end of this year to enjoy the Sun, the Essque Zalu hotel Team
for for a wonderful time.

Bravo !!!! to all this is really a magical Hotel 5 stars.

Jean-Jacques - Dolores

Room Tip: Choisir une villa garden vue mer
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanDolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuarteCorreia, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2018

Dear jeanDolo,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the wider digital community, following your recent experience at Essque Zalu.
WOW - I was delighted to read your review and very happy that you enjoyed to the fullest, your experience with us. We take pride in our attention to detail and I am happy that my team is delivering the promise! Please rest assured that I will share your kind words with the remainder of the team, as all the credit goes to them. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you soon back to Essque Zalu and making your next holiday a most enjoyable and memorable experience.

Until then, on behalf of Essque Zalu team, I remain, Always at your service.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2018 via mobile

We stayed for two nights, it's beautiful, quiet & the service is excellent , food delicious , try to get sea front or ocean view rooms, we enjoyed our stay , spa is also very good, nice gym , but there is no beach , it's on the cliff, so if u want to swim in sea then maybe not the place , though there are stairs to go down the beach from swimming pool & also pier, we found the beach too rocky and dirty to swim , we didn't see anyone swimming either, but their infinity pool is stunning ,

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Starryflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuarteCorreia, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2018

Dear Starryflower,


Thank you for taking the time to share with us and the wider digital community, your feedback, following your most recent experience with us here at Essque Zalu Zanzibar.

I was happy to read that you have enjoyed your time with us and please do rest assured that I shall be passing your kind comments to the team, as all the credit goes to them.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2018

Very welcoming hotel with a very relaxing atmosphere. The ocean view room was very comfortable with everything we needed. The staff in the Market Kitchen restaurant were so attentive and nothing was too much trouble. Zaynab, the restaurant manager, went out of his way to liaise with the chef to ensure that each evening we had an excellent vegetarian meal that was both varied and of very good quality.
The head bar man at the bar on the pier had such a lovely manner and gave excellent service. So much so, that we went there for a pre dinner drink every evening!
We would recommend this hotel without reservation.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Delyth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuarteCorreia, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us and the wider digital audience, following your recent experience at Essque Zalu.

I was happy to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us and please do rest assured that I shall be passing your kind comments to the team,especially to zaynab and head bar man as all the credit goes to them.

We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again soon.

Wishing you safe travels.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews