We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little paradise”
other traveller has booked this property
The villa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The villa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
The villa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Matemwe, Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Norwegian first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Katrine V
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little paradise”
Reviewed October 28, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

A great place to spend time with family and friends in a private atmosphere. Everything you need is easy accessible. The friendly staff do the shopping, cooking and cleaning, while we could enjoy the ocean, the amazing white sands and the pool. We'd love to come back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2017
Thank you Katrine for your nice words! It was so nice to have you here- so nice to host you here so you could have some nice family time!
Let us know when you are planning to come back and we will try to make it as memorable as the first stay!
Karibu tena!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scf700
Bahir Dar, Ethiopia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best family vacation ever!”
Reviewed October 2, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I would give 10 stars if possible! The house, pool and beach are so beautiful, but what makes this incredibly special is the host Karin. She went out of her way to make our two weeks a relaxing and amazing time. She thought of absolutely everything, from having snacks for the kids upon our arrival, to making my birthday extra special! She went out and bought sand toys for the villa so that my kids would have things to play with on the beach! The chef is incredible and very accommodating, even when we requested different options for kid friendly food and adult food during the same meal. I really can't say enough good about this place. I really hope we will be able to return!!! It is amazing! You really feel at home and relaxed and that everything you need is taken care of. Thank you Karin for making our holiday the best it could possibly be! Everyone is eager to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2017
Thank you so much for your sweet words- we truly enjoyed to have you guys here. It was so nice to see you all(kids and adults) enjoying so much- the pool, the beach, the food and just the time being together!
And thank you for sharing your stories with us- it was so nice to get to know you. I hope we meet again one day- here, Ethiopia or maybe even Canada?!

I hope we see you here first though!
Karibu tena- welcome back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason F
Meadow Lake, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed September 14, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

So thankful for this amazing spot! We had a blast, with a friend and a family of 9 (7 kids). Pool is lovely, lots of fun for the kids! Food is great! Definitely hope to return here again someday!

Thanks so much Karin!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2017
It's been a real pleasure to have you all- you are such an cool and fun family! Thank you for great communication- easy to plan your stay!

Hope to see you here again one day!
Karibu tena!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristinad...
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
“Wonderful weekend”
Reviewed September 4, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This was our second stay at Garden Villa. We stayed for two nights and had an amazing stay. The house is beautiful and the perfect place to unwind and relax from our busy lives in Dar. Everything was great, Karin was always very helpful but also let us carry on with our stay. Great host.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2017
So great to have you back here- we are so happy that you enjoyed the weekend! It was a true pleasure to host you here!
Hope to see you back real soon- karibu!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKarlyn
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic beach front villa, private, low-key, super-comfortable. Really super!”
Reviewed March 22, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We spent a week at Karin's villa and wish would could have stayed even longer. The villa itself is fantastic, right on the beach, the pics don't do the house or the setting justice. The location is far enough away from Stone Town so you feel away from it all, but in reality it's only a 90 minute drive. Karin was the perfect host, ensuring all our needs were met, checked on us regularly, but was not intrusive at all. She made arrangements for local snorkeling/scuba (the Mnemba Atol marine park is some of the best coral and sea life we've seen on the EA coast in many years), as well as a walk-about through the neighboring fishing village with a local tour guide. It was all very low-key, and we appreciated the attention to detail which made the holiday stress free, but at the same time quite fulfilling. The house staff were super attentive and helpful. The resident chef prepared wonderful local fare (optional but highly recommended, and works out very economical). He accommodated our last minute requests for prawns, lobster, and fresh fruit juices of varying kinds. The meal times were planned around our schedule, whether an early breakfast before heading off for snorkeling, or a late lunch after coming back from a tour of the local spice/botanical garden. Overall we would highly recommend Garden Beach Villa and hope to return in the not too distant future.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2017
Dear Andrew and family,
thank you so much for your stay- it was a trye pleasure to host you all here! I am so happy that you all could relax and enjoy and just let us take care of you and to arrange what you needed and wanted.
We hope too that we will see you soon again!
Thank you and welcome again!

Karibu tena!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riles2017
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little bit of paradise”
Reviewed March 20, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had the most wonderful four nights at the Garden Beach Villa in Matemwe, Zanzibar.

Upon arriving you walk through the front door and have the most amazing view where you over- look the infinity pool towards the perfectly white beach sand and clear blue sea and realise you have arrived in paradise.
Karin Jonsson welcomed us to the villa and made us feel so at home. She looked after us and was a superb hostess.
Garden Beach Villa offer a wonderful shopping service so that when we arrived our fridge was filled with all the items we had ordered. We did not have to cook as we had a private chef, Mati, who cooks local and international food using fresh produce that he sourced on the island. We had the largest freshest prawns I have ever eaten in my life. We never wanted for anything, everything was fresh, vibrant and exceptionally good.
We spent most of our time around the swimming pool enjoying the sun with the odd trip into the sea. Karin organised excursions like scuba diving, snorkeling, or whatever we wanted to do.
The last night we went to a beach bar called Seles and enjoyed spending time with the locals as well as eating very good food.
The holiday was paradise for sure and we were all sad to leave our little portion of paradise but hopefully we will be back in the not too distant future.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simen S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Paradis”
Reviewed March 13, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Me and my friends was staying at Garden Beach for a week at the start of March. It was a wonderful start on the vacation here in Zanzibar. Our host, Karin is such a nice person, she was very helpful with everything and advised us on things to try or eat. She's the best! Also the chef, Mati and the "associate" chef Muhammad were both very fun and made very very good food. Everything at this place is perfect, I can't have dreamt about a better first impression of Zanzibar and Matemwe. The place is peaceful and beautiful. I recommend this villa for everyone!
Asante sana Karin :D

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2017
Hi Simen,

it was so great to host you and your friends! And I am happy that we all did your stay such a great memory. We wish your coming days in Zanzibar to be as nice as they were with us! Welcome again anytime!

Warm regards//

Karin & the team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing