We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All thumbs up!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dumaguete Studio Apartments
Reviewed 4 February 2013

All thumbs up!

My wife and I lived at Studio Apartments for 6 months while we were waiting to get my wife's travel documents. The experienced was fantastic. David and Marisa did everything possible to make our stay comfortable. They were honest and treated us fairly. They also keep the apartments and grounds spotless. We felt "at home" during the entire 6 months and plan to return many more times. The Internet is super fast, and free. The only extras were our electric and cooking gas. For the money, Dumaguete Studio Apartments is the best place to stay in the Philippines.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Haydn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 55 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

My Filipina wife and I have stayed at Dave's place several times. Our baby daughter was conceived there. Although children are normally allowed, Dave was very accommodating. Dave is an American and knows how to make Westerners feel at home and provides all of the logistics that a Westerner would need without the hassles. The place is clean, quiet, secure and everything that a visitor might need is available. If you don't see it, just ask. Thanks Dave for all the help.

Al, Dell and Evie.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlexanderA233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We found stuido Apts very nice, first ill say it is newand very clean like no other , 2 , David and Marisa go out of there way to see you are happy, 3. if you need anything they will have one of there staff help you get it or they will get it for you, 4. The phone and interent is as good as it gets ,i called severl times to Canada and the USA also to Manila with no trouble. 5. they also have a comon area where you can buy your fav drink i have stayed there with my wife 4 different times and we will be back real soon Bruce and Jenny Alain

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 850alain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I spent 6 weeks at the studio apartments last march 2012,when i went looking for self catering apartments this development ticked all the boxes for me,modern,clean,bright,spacious apartments in a secure walled in complex,Dave the owner is from the Usa and has been living in the Philippines for a number of years and is basically a walking and talking encyclopedia of anything to do with the Philippines,i have lost count of the long conversations i had with Dave from the Philippines to politics and even he shed some light on the reason why whales get beached after an earthquake,the studio apartments had the fastest internet connection of anyway i stayed due to the decision of Dave to install a dedicated fibre optic line for the complex,if i had one complaint about staying at the studio apartments was that i could not stay long enough but i am looking forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: I likes the upstairs rooms as i had the balcony in the front of my room to myself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

I had the pleasure to stay with Dave and Marisa in one of the studio apartments. My impression was that nothing in Dumaguete, or even the Philippines, could offer the comfort provided here.
Each tenant has the opportunity to relax in a clean, secure and picturesque courtyard or cook up a storm in a most functional outdoor kitchen. No need to spend time doing laundry or hunting for water either. To go shopping or sightseeing is not a problem from these facilities. Everything is at hand for a price that will not hurt your budget. The rooms are equiped with television, hot and cold showers, air conditioning and a thoughtful array of furniture. I have been talking about this from the time I commenced my stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

My wife and I recently spent a month at this accommodation. It was clean and well organized, the staff did an excellent job of maintaining the facility. The proprietors, Dave & Marissa, provide a place where all you need is to show up and everything you need to be comfortable is there. They also rent scooters and the staff will wash your laundry if you so desire, for an additional fee. This is a very safe and secure place, the only way it could be more so is if they had a small safe in each room, so no worries about security. We were here when typhoon Pablo hit. The facility was snug and everything was dry and in good order after the storm passed. I was impressed by the forethought Dave took in building this place.

I would gladly stay here again and unreservedly recommend it for others seeking a safe, comfortable place to stay in Dumaguete.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dougsams58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, Owner at Dumaguete Studio Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

This tenant said they gave us 5 stars. But tripadvisor gave us 3 gigs! What's going on?????

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumaguete City
4.7 km away
Hotel Essencia
Hotel Essencia
#14 of 37 in Dumaguete City
328 reviews
4.9 km away
Go Hotels Dumaguete
Go Hotels Dumaguete
#20 of 37 in Dumaguete City
192 reviews
13.5 km away
Mike's Dauin Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 km away
Eden Resort
Eden Resort
#1 of 2 in Oslob
276 reviews
15.8 km away
Sea Dream Resorts
Sea Dream Resorts
#10 of 17 in Dauin
128 reviews
25.2 km away
Kav's Beach Resort
Kav's Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Zamboanguita
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dumaguete Studio Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dumaguete Studio Apartments

Address: Candau-ay Road, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6200, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Dumaguete City
Price Range: $27 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful swimming pool is featured all over Tripadvisor. You will love it. And, as an extra bonus, each of our large apartments come with a free motorbike. They also feature a separate open-air kitchen with cooking (both microwave oven and 2-burner gas stove) and laundry facilities and a huge American style bathroom. Studio Apartments are located in a crime-free residential area along Dumaguete-Palinpinon Road in Purok Yellow Tops, Barangay Candau-ay, Dumaguete City. The neighborhood is upscale, only 300 meters west of El Pueblo and Casa Alicia Subdivisions, the two most exclusive subdivisions in Negros Oriental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA so you can book your Dumaguete Studio Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing