We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pleasant hotel, excellent hosts!”
other travellers have booked this property
Triple room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Triple room
Inside room inside room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
44 reviews
Triple room
Inside room
inside room
outside
outside
bathroom
family room
Room
family room
Triple room
Double room / Single room
At dinner
Room
Single room / Double room
Room
Guests
Room
Room
Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
B and B -
1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
Ella, Uva Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
HelenK240...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel, excellent hosts!”
Reviewed April 11, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My boyfriend and I stayed at Ella Grand Peak for 3 nights in March/April 2016. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and very well kept. The room was really spacious and very clean with a lovely area out the front for chilling/reading etc. The location of the hotel is excellent, it being walking distance to loads of local sights. By far the best thing about the hotel was the hosts. Sony was incredibly friendly and went out of his way to help us. Really enjoyed our stay in Ella!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2017
" Thank you for your review _ it was great to have you stay"
sincerely
Sonny & Sujatha
Grand Peak Hotel Ella.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cnadian
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good stay.”
Reviewed April 6, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Rooms were good for the money we paid.Gļood location. But water was brown color. Breakfast is very basic. When I phone to the hotel and asked if they have room for drivers and they said yes. So I assumed like other hotels they have rooms for drivers free. When I arrived they said they are charging for drivers. And after they charging the second day I checked his room and I was so sad to see the state of the room. I have booked lots hotels this trip and got confirmed from all the places about drivers room. Only one hotel did not have drivers room and I booked normal room for him. For me I think it's essential to give a comfortable room for the driver because he needs after all the driving to sleep. My point is they should not charge for drivers room after they said they have drivers room. Or say they don't have rooms for drivers then we book a room driver too. That way he get a good room too.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2017
" Thank you for your review _ it was great to have you stay" sincerely Sonny & Sujatha"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikedf21
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed March 30, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had 2 rooms for 2 nights at the Ella Grand Peak and very much enjoyed our stay. The guest house has a lovely atmosphere and is very well located in the heart of Ella. Sony was a very friendly, attentive and helpful host as were the other staff. We stayed in double/triple rooms with a ceiling fans which were very comfortable and on the second night one room was asked if we would mind moving to a smaller double as they had a family staying. This smaller room, opposite the breakfast area was ok but very basic with just a small fan.
Lovely generous breakfast and good wifi outside bedrooms.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Larger double/triple rooms , breakfast, the service
Liked least: small double opposite breakfast area
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2017
" Thank you for your review _ it was great to have you stay"
sincerely
Sonny & Sujatha
Grand Peak Hotel Ella.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodgnome...
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay with welcoming, hospitable hosts”
Reviewed January 31, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here two nights and the owners and everyone working there did everything to make our stay pleasant. The breakfast was tasty and the rooms very comfortable.It was really good value. They took a lot of time and trouble to help us find places which we wanted to visit. And made sure when we were leaving, that we did not leave any valuables behind. A most accommodating and friendly place to stay. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2017
" Thank you for your review _ it was great to have you stay"
sincerely
Sonny & Sujatha
Grand Peak Hotel Ella.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
curlycham...
Kiribathgoda, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay in Ella”
Reviewed December 27, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

I spent Christmas night @ Ella Grand Peak Hotel with three of my friends. It was a nice and pleasant place to stay. We had an awesome night there. Thanks goes to Mr. & Mrs. Ranatunga for providing us a wonderful accommodation. Also, it has fast WiFi access.

Thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2015
THANK YOU VERY MUCH.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
javisonas...
Gijon, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“At home”
Reviewed November 23, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We,ve been during two nights at Ella Grand Peak Hotel and it was like being at home. It's really close to the centre of Ella, only two minutes by walk. The owner's daughter has another hotel at Nuwara Eliya, The Trevene, and she recommended us this one in Ella. They picked up us in the railway station. The owner is really nice and she always takes care of you. Rooms very clean, hot water and delicious breakfast, specially coconut with honey rotti!! They recommended us a nearly place for dinner and it had a really tasted food, familiar ambiance and a very cheap price, better than touristic places in the centre of town. We'll come back. A bientot!!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Con mi pareja
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2017
" Thank you for your review _ it was great to have you stay"
sincerely
Sonny & Sujatha
Grand Peak Hotel Ella.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzy B
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in Ella's crown!”
Reviewed August 17, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed in this beautiful b&b for two nights while in Ella and we really wish we could have stayed longer! The team is wonderful and can't do enough to help - they are keen to make sure you have compete satisfaction and will go the extra mile to make sure you have everything you need. We really couldn't recommend this place enough! Thank you guys...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2017
" Thank you for your review _ it was great to have you stay"
sincerely
Sonny & Sujatha
Grand Peak Hotel Ella.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing