We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
88
22
12
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
22
12
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 124 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2017

The hotel is in a very pleasant setting and is highly rated by many reviewers.I would agree with almost all the positive comments but feel that to be objective the are some small negatives that should be mentioned. The pool is quite small and does not provide space for more than six people poolside.Its location is close to Thuirs but you have to drive for some distance to find a restaurant.In the evening the food is limited and cannot be described as offering a restaurant service.We did have platters of cheese and charcuterie which were good,but the wine selection is very limited. There is an offer of dishes presented in boxes and cooked "sous vide" which I did not find appealing.In contrast the breakfasts were very good including freshly cooked bacon and eggs.The owner is charming and has a young team assisting her.The service in the evening was patchy as the owner was not present.If the food service in the evening matched the breakfast experience it could be much better.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank part0ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2016

This hotel was a refreshing change from the norm. A lovely old Spanish style building in pretty grounds. A pool and pretty courtyard and a great room. We arrived after a long drive and had the charcuterie and cheese in the lounge upstairs. It was perfect. The next evening they recommended a great restaurant in town. They offered omelette, scrambled or boiled egg (with soldiers) for breakfast along with fruit, croissants etc etc. Friendly and helpful at reception. If we're that way again will definitely go back.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2016

Tranquility ! This is a very special boutique hotel which we would love to stay at again. The building is a beautiful, old, rambling building which has been modernised to a very high standard; creating beautiful modern rooms in a characterful setting. The pool is really pretty and the deck area has a small stream running past it which creates a beautiful setting to relax. The staff are lovely - very welcoming and nothing was a problem from a kettle in the room to a random bottle of wine and plate of cheese request late one evening. We stayed for 7 nights in Room 8 which is a double room with a private balcony; perfect room - peaceful, well appointed, lovely en-suite shower room. We opted not to have breakfast and went to Thuir every morning which is a 5 minute drive and there are a number of cafes to choose from. The hotel is in the Catalan region and there are lots of fab hilltop towns and vineyards around the property; Castelnous is just 5 mins away, Collioure is about 30mins and the hotel is just over an hour from Beziers airport. There is a fab weekly market in Thuir on a Saturday morning that is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Room 8 has a private terrace
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank hgarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 30, 2016 via mobile

After a week on business in Barcelona I needed somewhere to get away for a night. I was curious to learn about Byrrh so looked in the Thuir area for something that was the antithesis of a chain hotel. I knew I'd made the right choice when I walked up the path from the car park past the pool and the owner greeted me by name.
We ate the small plate dinners he offered (I had veal ragout) from the menu which had been translated to multiple languages and he provided a bottle of local wine he liked to enjoy sitting out on the terrace. The room was spacious and quiet with a huge private patio to sit out. Breakfast was brought to our patio at the time we asked and included a wide variety of foods. The only negative was that as someone used to American Venti sized coffee I do find the local small coffee servings frustrating. We like this place so much we are planning to come back here next year for longer.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 29, 2016 via mobile

We booked Room 9 which is the size of some apartments. We basically had an entire floor to ourselves. We had an absolutely huge room with a walk in closet with refrigerator and separate area for the desk.
The bathroom was wonderful. Double sinks, shower with soaking tub and the toilet and bidet were in a separate room. Lastly, the suite included a private terrace that was big enough for a small table with two chairs plus a sofa and coffee table with plenty of room to spare.
All this for 135€ including breakfast! We had dinner in the terrace area when we arrived. The plates are small but filling.
There is also a beautiful pool but, unfortunately, it was too chilly to make use of it.
Our host was very accommodating and completed the experience. Would highly recommend!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews