We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous 4 day break based at 'La Retraite'”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Retraite, a lovely Charantaise house.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
La Retraite, a lovely Charantaise house.
The lounge.
The eat-in kitchen.
The master bedroom.
The master bathroom.
One of the twin rooms.
One of the twin rooms.
The bathroom which serves the two twin bedrooms.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gillian S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous 4 day break based at 'La Retraite'”
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I visited Aubeterre-Sur-Dronne (listed in the Top 100 Most Beautiful Towns in France) in September and had the good fortune to enjoy wonderful accommodation at La Retraite. We flew to Bordeaux Airport and had no problem find the house using GPS. The journey in a hired car took approx 75 minutes. The house is completely charming, very spacious and wonderfully well equipped. It is situated in a small hamlet surrounded by gorgeous french countryside with a river at the end of the garden. The owners have left DVD's for guests to enjoy and there is a small pool table. I have wonderful memories of sitting on the swing seat under the large catalpa tree in the garden with the sun streaming through the leaves and the only sounds were of nature. It was perfect !! The walk to the town is along a lovely treelined road, very safe and very scenic. There is a lake a short drive from the house and it is a super place to swim. Many locals go there to enjoy the inland beach with picnic tables and a cafe and bar etc. - and plenty of trees which offer the option of shade from the sunshine if so desired - wonderful !! All in all it was a super break and I would highly recommend this part of France (on the border of Dordogne and Charente Maritime) and 'La Retraite' as a wonderful place to be based.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful gite in an area brilliant for food, wine and recreational activites”
Reviewed April 14, 2015 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed at this lovely gite during summer and had a brilliant time! The property is located in a small collection of houses within walking distance of the picturesque hilltop village of Aubeterre-sur-dronne. The gite had a large kitchen with an open plan living area and plenty of rustic features. It was airy inside and stayed cool even during when it was particularly hot. Outside the pool was great for cooling off during the day and we spent most evenings barbecuing and trying wines from the local vineyards that we had visited.

The surrounding area has plenty to offer with restaurants in Aubeterre and a beach next to the river with a cafe and diving board which the children (and adults!) particularly enjoyed. When we decided to be slightly more active there were some beautiful cycling routes that pass through the french towns nearby. Another must is kayaking down the river which actually passes the gite before ending at the nearby beach. A car journey took us into the Bordeaux wine region where we visited St. Emilion. Here we happened upon some of the less well known vineyards where the owner invited us into his cellar for a full wine tasting tutorial! My personal highlight was a festival of local produce at the watermill, a 15 minute walk away. A do it yourself barbecue had been set up and we bought local meat to cook, bread and snails from stalls next to the river.

Thoroughly recommended!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trebus1
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great place to stay!”
Reviewed September 6, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just a few minutes from the picturesque village of Aubeterre-Sur-Dronne, the gite is in a great location for a holiday to suit most people. We found La Retraite to be well equipped for our requirements and enjoyed our stay very much. Local restaurants and boulangeries are only a 5 minute drive away or easily reached by cycling along the quiet roads. St-Emilion and Bergerac are around an hour away by car and both are recommended. The river beach in Aubeterre is well worth a visit where you can also rent kayaks or have a game of tennis on the courts. All in all we had a great stay and can definitely recommend the gite, hopefully we will return. The weather was also fantastic for our stay, mid-high twenties and sunny every day :-)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunnagall
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning Gite in beautiful location”
Reviewed August 20, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed here at the beginning of August 2014. The gite is in a magnificent quiet backwater location beside a river. The property is charming, finished to a very high standard with loads of character and very clean and comfortable, a real getaway retreat! It is a short drive to the local village and we also used it as a base to visit St. Emilion, Bergerac, and Bordeaux (well worth a visit)”

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing