We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service comes last!”

Selliner Hof Hotel & Restaurant
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Selliner Hof Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Sellin
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Just returned from this hotel after attending a family member's wedding. It was nothing special but was clean and the breakfast was fine, so it seemed acceptable. And yet. We had our daughter with us and the room reservation was for three people. They put an air mattress in the room and charged us 20 euros a night for it on top of the exorbitant 115 euros we paid for the basic room+breakfast. We also had the room reserved for 4 nights but decided before we arrived to shorten our stay to 3 nights so that we could spend more time with the newlyweds in Berlin. The hotel owners would not budge on their policy of a binding reservation, meaning we would have to pay for all 4 nights. We were not aware of this policy prior to arrival, nor does the hotel state their policy anywhere on their website. After 15 years of traveling to Germany and elsewhere around the world, I had never before stumbled upon such a policy nor such blatant disregard for customer satisfaction. Often, I am willing to take such a risk and pay for the entire stay up front, as when booking through Expedia, etc. But to charge us for the entire reservation at the end of the stay despite vacating the room and leaving it for them to sell to someone else is at best poor customer service and at worst, a chance for them to literally cash in. Because the weather turned bad while we were there, the hotel was virtually empty when we left and there was no chance for them to resell our room or ANY of the rooms. And yet they still insisted on charging us 135 euros for the room and the breakfast that we wouldn't be consuming and the air mattress that wouldn't be slept on. In the end, they took off the charge for the air mattress and charged us 50% of the room/breakfast price. But this concession required an uncomfortable confrontational exchange with the owners and left the situation with neither party really satisfied.

I guess the moral of the story is, when a family member makes a reservation for you, make sure the reservation isn't binding, especially if it is on the overpriced, unfriendly island of Ruegen? Or, just avoid this hotel. There are literally tons of hotels on the island so it should be pretty easy to find a better, nicer place. That is, if you have to go there or you like swimming in subzero temps. Otherwise I would advise skipping it altogether.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LKBMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank ces100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die zum Parkplatz gelegenen Zimmer sind besonders ruhig (kein Kopfsteinplaster).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joachim1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Seebrucke Ostseebad som ligger i slutet på Wilhelmstrasse
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staffan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die Zimmer zum Parkplatz sehr ruhig, wer es etwas turbulenter mag: die Zimmer zur Straßenseite (alle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hasipalau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wir hatten extra ein Zimmer in der untersten Etage verlangt, was sich keinesfalls als negativ erwies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Blume25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sellin hotels
0.7 km away
Parkhotel Sellin
Parkhotel Sellin
#7 of 20 in Sellin
38 reviews
2.9 km away
Hotel Moritzdorf
Hotel Moritzdorf
#10 of 20 in Sellin
15 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Seeschloss Sellin
Hotel Seeschloss Sellin
#3 of 20 in Sellin
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Travel Charme Kurhaus Sellin / Insel Rugen
1.7 km away
Cliff Hotel Rugen
Cliff Hotel Rugen
#5 of 20 in Sellin
243 reviews
0.4 km away
Wald-Hotel
Wald-Hotel
#11 of 20 in Sellin
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selliner Hof Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selliner Hof Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Granitzer Str. 48, 18586 Sellin, Rugen Island, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania, Germany
Region: Germany > Mecklenburg-West Pomerania > Rugen Island > Sellin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Sellin
Price Range: $104 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Selliner Hof Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Selliner Hof Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selliner Hof Hotel & Restaurant Sellin, Germany - Rugen Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing