We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will not find a better or safer hotel! Loved it!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yiannis Manos Apartments
Ranked #3 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Malia
Reviewed 7 September 2011

me and 6 friends went to malia last month for our first holiday away together and it was everything i expected and more! first of all on the coach we were worried when we saw the state of some of the hotels we dropped off at, but when we arrived at the yiannis manos it was a sigh of relief..

our ages went between 20 and 32 and the hotel catered for all of us.. for the money we paid we were surprised at how clean the rooms were kept, the maids changed our sheets every two days and we were given fresh towels.. the hotel has two pools, there are no signs up but it looked like one was a more quiet and chilled out pool and the other was more lively, there were a couple of families in the hotel at the same time as us but they were really friendly and we got along with them all.. the staff in the hotel were great, they looked after us well, one day our tap got stuck and there was a man there within minutes and he fixed it straight away for us without fuss.

the hotel at night was a really nice place to be, the bar had happy hour on where the drinks were alot cheaper then clubs on the strip and you can actually taste the alcohol in them unlike most places. i recommend the fishbowls, many nights the staff played games with us at the bar with them and they did the trick! :p
security at the hotel was very serious but the man did his job very well, he didnt miss a trick, if you speak to him first you realise he is very friendly, we read alot of stories before arriving at the hotel warning us to beware of him but we had no issues atall and spent alot of time talking to him after our drunkern nights out, im sure he loved our stories haha!

all in all, this hotel is great value for money, if i went back to malia i wouldnt choose to stay anywhere else and i would definately recommend it to anybody, wether on a holiday to get drunk and stumble home, or a more relaxed holiday with the family, the hotel seemed to cater for everyone.. its just far enough away from the strip so no booming music all night long but only a 5 minute walk for people like ourselves that wanted to party, and party we did, malia strip was immense!

malia was the best holiday together we could of asked for, staying at the yiannis manos was a bonus for us! thanks to everybody there, we'll be back next year for definate! hope this post helps..

Room Tip: aircon might seem expensive but we broke it down between us all and was well worth it, when your han...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (550)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

516 - 522 of 550 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2011

Me & a friend stayed here last week in August. Its a great place. The staff are friendly,our room was clean. There is no noise after midnight & the music doesnt start until 11am ish. Plus the food is good. There is a shop down the road from the apartments if you need anything. Also the 10 minute walk into town I think is a bit less. But on the way there's a nice restaurant. If we go to Malia again. We are staying here. Wish I could of stayed another week.

Would say the only downside was an idiot trying to cause chew over a footy match.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stealth191274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We ve just come back from a week at this hotel and all though the hotel its self was nice being the reception area and the two pools with the free sunbeds thats pretty much all we enjoyed. The bar prices are completely unreasonable 2euro50 for a standard glass of oj was pretty shocking esp when they stand and pour it out in front of you from a carton of cheap juice. The food is all deep fried and all from a freezer, nothing is fresh you know this when the bar person turns to the chef and ask if they have in what you asked for and she looks straight in the freezer. Our room was a massive disappointment room 205 on the ground floor right next to the bar where they play music from 11 am to well after midnight even though there is signs in the room saying no music after midnight. The shower was like being blasted by a hose with the water going everywhere. Only one toilet roll all week, when we asked for another at reception we got our head bitten at and shouted at by the rude receptionist. But to be fair the swimming pools were lovely though your not allowed to take your own food or drink down to the pool they say for tax reasons but more likely so people buy at the bar. The free sunbeds are a bonus plus there was always a lot of them so you didnt need to run out at five in the morning to reserve them. There was alot of notices about taing taxis into the strip due to the anount of gyspy woman and children but we walked everyday bar the first night we got there and we never saw anyone or had any hassle from anyone. The strip its self is very lively with something for everyone. We had some really nice meals out and about. We would recommed doing the tour of the lepor colany where you get a bbq on the boat this was really interesting and the area very pretty.The beach is a five minute walk from the hotel and if you hangle with the guys selling the use of sunbeds you can get them fairly cheap. Overall we enjoyed our stay in Malia but not the hotel. It costs 60 euros for the aircon which is a massive con and 15 euros for a saftey deposit box which isnt too bad as you get the key and can use it when ever you want. I would recommed if your after a noisy week but if your after a fairly quiiet chill out time there will be better hotels in the area.

Room Tip: if you get a room on the ground floor near the bar asked to be moved as you wont sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finnsmum04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

i stayed there for 2 weeks with 4 of my mates an can honestly say i dont think there is a better hotel out there its got to be the best!
some people say the walk to the strip is too much, its litrally about 7mins away infact u could see the strip from r room so its really not that far and when uve had a drink an u walk there u dont even notice it!
the staff at yiannos manos make the difference they r absolutly brilliant every single 1 of them the recpetionists, manager, cleaners, care takers every1 was really nice to us and made r time there amazing especially the bar staff and sarah & sean.
security in the hotel is strict but they are nice guys george and his right hand man, think his name is angle or something in english! always said hello to us and than but if u give them a problem u will have a big one there not to be messed with seen a few people try and have a go and it didnt end well for them! u can bring people back but u have to sign a form pay 30euros to make it legitiment, which isnt that bad really because it means no idiots can get into the hotel.
hotels clean and rooms get cleaned every 2days so its always clean!
id say its more of a 18-30 holiday but there were families there who looked like they were enjoying it
all in all malia is probz the best holiday ive been on, nite life is brilliant and yiannos manos the best hotel ive ever stayed in by far, any1 wants any more advice just ask, hope this review has helped

Room Tip: my only advice would be if u can sleep without aircon, do so because we all have quite bad chests si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaySankey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Just returned from week staying at yiannos manos. The hotel is very nice and all the staff and amenities are great. Definately would recommend for a group of friends, the pools are great and there was always spare sunbeds available whatever time of day.

The walk to the strip and beach could be a little tedious but we easily made friends with others from the hotel so we all walked to and from together so made the walk a little quicker. The taxis were on strike whilst we were there so we probably would have paid the taxi fares some nights we couldnt be bothered but it wasn't too bad!

One word of advice do not upset George, he can get very angry!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chloec24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We arrived at around 5.30am and the bar was still open, the bartender was extremely friendly and we had no problems with our rooms.
As a group of girls that split up into smaller groups frequently, we were abit worried about the 10 minute walk to the strip in the dark. There is lighting along the road almost all of the time and there was always a group of english lads around that were happy to walk you back.
We were very ripped off by our travel agency as the majority of people had paid £400-480 for two weeks, and we had paid £500 for one week. Despite this I still think that we got what we paid for!!
Its extremely clean, bedsheets are changed every other night.
You do have to buy the airconditioning and safebox which is about 70euro for the week, and there is a list of how much you have to pay if you damage anything.
If you stain bedsheets/towels, break chairs/glasses/air con.
Theres secuirty all night, George. He is everywhere and on the ball all the time.
He won't give you any trouble if you on't give him any, but be cautious!

I'd definately recommend this place!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tash M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

The hotel is great. Only a 10 minute walk from the strip. There are 2 pools and a bar which they serve food in also. Food is very good and plenty cocktails to choose from. The hotel rooms are lovely and clean, but you will need to get air con (they charge about 70 euros for air con and a safe for 1 week). Overall a brilliant hotel and would go back straight away. Perfect hotel for a holiday with friends :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reb004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malia
1.3 km away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
1.4 km away
Socrates Hotel
Socrates Hotel
#22 of 91 in Malia
165 reviews
1.1 km away
Malia Mare Hotel
Malia Mare Hotel
#27 of 91 in Malia
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Stelios Gardens
Stelios Gardens
#20 of 58 in Heraklion
214 reviews
1.0 km away
Primavera Beach Studios & Apartments
1.0 km away
Kastro Beach Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yiannis Manos Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yiannis Manos Apartments

Address: | 1866 Str, Malia, Crete 70007, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Malia
Price Range: $25 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 79
Also Known As:
Yiannos Manos Apartments Hotel Malia
Yiannis Manos Apartments Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing