We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ONLY place to go”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yiannis Manos Apartments
Ranked #3 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Malia
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

This was our 2nd year staying at Yiannis Manos in Mallia and we honestly didn't think it could be beaten, but it was!!!

We picked this time of the year as it is perfect for couples, families and single people to relax.

We arrived in the early hours of the morning (03:30am to be exact!!) and we were instantly welcomed by the member of bar staff who was very courteous, and explained we were welcome to have a drink as the bar was open around the clock 24/7 which was needed after the long journey!

We was also greeted by the night security who checked us in and directed us to our rooms.

Our room was exactly what you would expect from self catering and provided what was needed.

When we awoke the next morning we went down to grab some breakfast and await our rep for the mandatory welcome briefing.

The resort staff were very courteous, as they were last year and couldn't do enough to help you in any way possible.

We noticed straight away a new feature that wasn't there last season, some very luxurious sun lounges for couples although you could prob get 4 people on it to share.

We were told they were available at an additional cost, which was very reasonable for what you were getting and although the normal Sun lounges were great and had also been upgraded this year, we really enjoyed the luxury of being able to relax in comfort together with huge comfy pillows.

As last year the food was perfect, any additional requests and the staff were happy to oblige, I must point out that the prices were VERY reasonable as well.

I noticed a comment on here recently about the price of drinks being cheaper at the local supermarket, kopperberg to be exact, someone had posted it was only €1 compared to the €5 the resort were charging, this is completely false as I checked the price myself and it was €2.50 in the local shop, yes it is cheaper but tell me do you get a frozen glass with ice when walking to the supermarket? Or even a smile? The answer is no.

At the resort you don't even have to go to the bar as the staff come out to your sun lounge, now tell me a supermarket that does all that?

Our favourite night was the BBQ which was really good. The food was lovely, my favourite was the Greek salad!! everyone was seated together on long rows of tables, which was nice as we all had a chance to chat to other people in a relaxed atmosphere, followed by everyone being put into teams afterwards for a great quiz which had the WHOLE place in stitches!

I really can't stress how amazing the staff were especially when we heard horror stories from other people staying in Mallia at other hotels, our staff were always visible quick to respond to our needs.

I'm 100% glad we made the choice to go back and we cannot wait to return next year!!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2017

Just arrived back from a weeks holiday here with myself and my partner, we've been to various greek islands within the last 4 years and Crete was such a beautiful scenic island.
I'll start with the good points, Check-in was quick efficient, needed after a early morning flight. There is 2 nice pools to choose from with plenty of sun loungers.
Room was a good size on the corner of the hotel.
The cleanliness of the hotels facilities was good, floors washed down every morning.
Bar and restaurant staff all pleasant (although receptionist was fairly stern at times) and the host of the BBQ night was a character and great fun.
Location is 10/15 minute walk to the Malia strip so perfect for a relaxing stay and not too far for a great night out. We preferred to go to Patamos beach rather the malia beach which was much more calmer and no disturbance from people trying to sell stuff.
Beautiful breathtaking scenic mountains at the back of the hotel.
Negatives - Air-Con was a charge of 40 euros for the week, but as we was out most of the days decided to not bother but with only 4 nights left we thought we'd enquire about purchasing for the remaining 4 nights but was told it was still 40 euros!? Receptionist wouldn't budge on the price even though we would of had 3 days less then if we bought it at the start of the week. Poor service there.
Bathroom was fairly cramped considering how big the room was, floor was constantly wet due to poor shower curtain.
Shared balcony, couldn't relax fully knowing your neighbors could walk past your doors.
Room was only cleaned 3 times for the week with 1 day a couple of fresh towels left on the unmade bed with a notice stating we must leave the room at 12:00PM the following day leaving us stranded of a room for 17 hours until our flight. Was offered an extension at 25 Euros untill 6:00PM but thought it was unfair as we booked 7 nights but only got 6 nights and a few hours untill checking out. Being picked up at the hotel at 2:00 Am should not really be classed as 1 night at the hotel.
We were Half board which was a from an A la carte menu, decent selection for myself but not my vegetarian partner, only 3 options at best. Only 1 main course allowed to order, all drinks and extras charged which was poor. Food is fantastic but be aware its not your usual half board buffet selection and everything else is extra.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicolle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

These reviews to do not live up to their expectations!
We came out to Greece for our anniversary expecting to have a wonderful time and making it a memory never to forget! However, it was a memory never to forget but not the way we expected!!

Firstly, the hygiene there is extremely poor and disgraceful for many reasons.
In Greece you are not allowed to flush the toilet roll and have to put it in the bin - which is fair enough. However, the maids would only come and clean the rooms every other day. This meant the bin with the used toilet roll as well. This made the room smell because it would be a day old and just sat there.
Also, during dinner we had an encounter with cats. My partner has a phobia of cats so this made his experience at dinner very discomforting. He felt like he had to watch his back 24/7 . I asked one of the bar staff what we could do about this and he just said 'shoo it' every now again he scare them away but they just came back making it worse. There is nothing worse then sitting around your worse fear when your supposed to be on an enjoyable holiday. We would see the cats jump on the table and rub their chins along the open vinegar and oil bottles. No where did it explain this when we booked the holiday that their would be cats otherwise we wouldn't have came to this place!!

When we first came to the hotel, one of the male receptionists took our passports to which we thought they would scan them in and return. However, he just gave us our room key to which assumed they would give our passports to us in the morning. (as it was very early when we arrived) After a day went past we still did not receive our passports, so I went to the female receptionist and asked for them back. She did not look happy and gave us a weird rude look as if to say "why do you want your passports" she showed us that they were locked away to be safer. However, we were not told this in the first place so this caused a lot of worry and inconvenience.

The prices for additional features where extortionate! Air conditioning was 40€ a week! Wifi cost 12€ a week, to which we bought however it kept disconnecting every 10 minutes making it not worth a penny!!! You had to pay for extras on your meal like a bit of cheese for example! If you wanted to stay in your room for longer it was 25€ for another 6 hours or 55€ for 12 hours! One of the lady bar staff would come around and pressure you to buy yourself an unlimited BBQ for 12€ each! The food wasn't great from the menu and drinks were not included!!!

The room looked like a prison, the shower curtain wasn't even worth being there, it would run off the curtain making a paddling pool in the bathroom. Not to mention the flies coming out the drains, hair not cleaned from the plug. There was bugs underneath the beds caught in cobwebs!

We felt like we couldn't approach the staff for any of these issues because of their attitude. They very rude and spoke to you like they didn't care especially on the last day.
We had a late flight home and the transfer didn't pick us up until 1:50am. We paid unwillingly to stay until 6pm as our baggage would only be left outside for anyone to grab. After which we went to the reception to stay at for the rest of the night. During the time it started to get cold and the air con was on the rude receptionist asked the girls if they were ok but completely blanked us!! When it got to 12 o'clock we were kicked out of the reception and had no where to go but steps by our luggage. It was freezing and not staff member that walked past asked if we were ok. The bar was open but we did not want to go in their as a bar staff was making out with a random guest and it was full of drunks.

Finally, you cant bring food or drink around the pool for "tax regulations" unless you bought it from the bar. It wouldn't have made no difference if it was a coke for example because it's no different to anywhere else!

The only pro of this holiday is the pool - but you can get pools anywhere, the weather, and the Chef. He was the only one who seemed to care as he always checked if our food was ok and shook our hands before we got kicked out of the reception to say to have a safe a flight home.

Don't know why the reviews are so high on this resort - it's appalling especially by the way you get treated.

We feel people need to know this because if they want to go on holiday with their family and haven't in such a long time and they came here they would be gutted. We don't want to lead them to false hope.

DO NOT COME TO THIS HOTEL.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

The Staff at Yiannis Manos were brilliant, food was superb, position of apartments was great...close enough to walk to a beautiful sandy beach and lots of lovely tavernas.
However, as for self catering that was impossible....we had a two ring camping hob, 1 frying pan and 1 saucepan...not even a kettle....No way could we cook in those conditions. There wasn't even a draining board to put any washing up (if we'd been able to do any) Our room had 4 single beds in it, how 4 people would have coped in that space beggars belief.
The bathroom was tiny with a weird plastic fan type contraption that held a shower curtain....when the fan thing was opened the curtain went around and clung to my body as the space was so small, the water didn't drain away so flooded the room each time, luckily there was a drain hole in the bathroom floor so it eventually went!!!!
Weird signs all over the place made it look cheap and nasty!!!
A real shame that the accomodation was so bad.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank patbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel was an absolute gem of a find. Positioned perfectly, just far enough away from the main strip so as not to be bothered by noise, but only a 10 min walk to join in the action. The hotel you can tell they take pride in its appearance. 2 lovely swimming pools, with fantastic views of the mountains one side and the sea the other. What made the holiday though for us though was the staff. A small close knit team who couldn't do enough for you. Cannot praise them all enough. Lovely to talk to, really cared about making your holiday special. Fantastic bar, open 22hrs of the day(Nicki, your ace!) excellent variety of food as well, reasonably priced. Best holiday we've had in ages, highly recommended and can't wait till we go back.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Do not understand anyone leaving a review of less than 4 stars!!!!

Ideal location!

Nice, genuine and hard working staff!

Good food!

The standard of room and amenities you get for your money is great!

Would definitely come again ;)

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank liamlad19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

We've just come back from a week staying at Yiannis Manos apartments.

Overall the experience was good, there are a handful of minor issues that prevented this from being a 5* review.

We had a one bed apartment (room 142), staying on a self catering basis. The room was nice and clean and the balcony was huge with a sea view.

The staff are all friendly and helpful, the service at the bar is good as are the prices and happy hour.

You're far enough away from the strip that you don't have to deal with all the noise that comes with it, but close enough to the nightlife that you can go and have a night out if you choose to (y). Both the beach and Malia Port are a short walk away.

The 2 pools are clean and well kept with plenty of sunbeds around which are free to use. The larger pool has inflatables to use and volleyballs with a net stretched across the shallower end of you want to hit a ball about while you're in the pool :)

We really did enjoy our stay, but the issues I've listed below detracted from it somewhat. This isn't a review to put the place down, I'd still recommend a stay here, just to make sure people are aware of the issues they may encounter.

Bad points:
-We went self catering, which is fine, but even by self catering standards it was pretty spartan. No tea towel or draining board for when you've done your dishes after making food. I've never stayed on a self catering basis before where there wasn't some way to dry or leave your washed dishes to dry provided. No kettle provided in the room.
-Cooking facilities in the kitchenette were minimal, a microwave (without convection option, so no way to oven cook things) and a little hob thing that has 1 large hob and 1 small.
-The shower.... the shower is a massive let down, a (maybe) 10cm tall plastic tray with a plug hole in it and a weird suspended shower curtain set up which makes it impossible to wash without flooding the bathroom. (There is a drain on the floor of the bathroom itself to assist with this issue, but the bathroom mat is soaked and unusable for a full day after one of you has a shower).
-Pool tables at the bar cost €2 per game (which is double the price of anywhere else we found). This wouldn't be such an issue except you're paying a premium price to use a table where the balls are all mismatched (not even all the same sizes) and cracked from having landed on the floor every so often.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank PhilHaylock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malia hotels
1 km away
Drossia Palms Hotel Studios
1.2 km away
Kristalli Hotel Apartments
1.9 km away
Ikaros Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Alexander Beach Hotel & Village
2 km away
Royal Heights Resort
Royal Heights Resort
#6 of 91 in Malia
424 reviews
0.7 km away
Cretan Malia Park
Cretan Malia Park
#8 of 91 in Malia
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yiannis Manos Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yiannis Manos Apartments

Address: | 1866 Str, Malia, Crete 70007, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Malia
Price Range: C$37 - C$117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 79
Also Known As:
Yiannos Manos Apartments Hotel Malia
Yiannis Manos Apartments Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing