We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday ever!”
Review of Cretan Malia Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cretan Malia Park
Ranked #8 of 91 Hotels in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Me and a friend made a last minute decision to go on holiday to Malia this year and it was the best decision we've ever made. This hotel is exceptional, it has the best staff, the lovliest surroundings and just makes for the perfect holiday destination. Everybody seems to think this is a hotel for over 30s but as I am only 21, i disagree...not everybody wants to stay in the roudiness of Malia town, but still want to be able to have a good night out. Let me tell u now, if you want the combination of a totally relaxing holiday plus the benefit of being able to go out and party at night, this is the place to come! It is only a 30 minute walk or 5 minute drive to Malia town, which was perfect. I cannot tell u how friendly the people are here, we even got taken out by some of the staff who showed us some bars where the locals drink, so it does not have to be clubbing every night, sometimes it was just nice to sit in a bar, have fun and talk to the locals. Food was lovely, cocktails even better! The beach was literally a 10 second walk away from the pool where we sunbathed. This was good as when it got a little too hot the beach had a nice breeze. This was the most amazing holiday and i would recommend it to anybody. It was so good that i am even concidering moving out to Crete for a few months to see how it goes. Absolutely love the island! I really cannot say enough good things anbout this hotel/holiday so u must go and see for yourself!!

Room Tip: I would not worry about the room you are given, if u do not like it for whatever reason, the staff a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2011

The staff in the Cretan Park are very attentive and obviously well trained. This is a mature hotel and its location in the well maintained gardens with its own seafront is excellent. The quality of the drinks included in the all inclusive package was very good.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hoteluser_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel in August as a family of four (kids aged 11 and 14).
First of all, the botanical garden surrounding the hotel is really beautiful and very quiet, there were always sunbeds available, even though the hotel was full! The swimming pools, especially the lazy river, were really nice and the kids enjoyed them!
Food was great, plenty of fresh fruits available, and there was a corner with cretan specialties.

Room Tip: Junior Suites are particularly nice, with a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Me and my boyfriend went to the Cretan Malia Park in June for a week. We got the holiday on our 6ht holiday together but our first package booked through Thomson Holidays.
When we first turned up we were intially disappointed with our room. Although it was clean and roomy, it was dark and overlooked some rather dirty and horrible shurb land and the children's play area. Our room was on the ground floor so our patio doors went straight out into the play area. We are a young in our 20s and don't have children- this was supposed to be a relaxed romantic holiday so we were annoyed we might have children right outside our room.
But there were never any children so our concern never came to anything.
When we went for a wander around the hotel complex, we started to warm to the place. The grounds are beautiful with two very different pools, hundreds (I'm not even exaggerating) sunlounges and a private beach.
We then found the restaurant (we were half board) and the food was amazing. There was loads to choose from and it was being constantly refilled and was always fresh (either hot or chilled). The waitressing staff were so polite and lovely.
We had a drink at the pool bar every evening before dinner and it was just perfect.
We went for a walk on our first evening and found it was just 20 minutes straight round from Malia. It was a good road and such a pleasant walk, we did it every day.
So after being initially disappointed with our room, it turned out to be a perfect holiday.
There are lots of hotel cats which roam around but don't let this put you off. They don't bother the guests and just make for a quirky and amusing sight around the place.
The hotel was prodominately german and in their 50s and 60s. We didn't mind because we like to feel we're on holiday (I don't want to be surrounded by English people) and also I didn't have to worry about looking thin in a bikini in front of people because the women were all a lot older than me. But this might bother some people.
Overall we had a relaxing holiday in the lazy, quiet and spacious hotel grounds (as well as it being in easy access of Malia- walking and other place- with a car).
Perfect!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank J2theNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

First the good: the hotel location is around 1km outside of Malia itself, which was exactly as we expected so we could walk into the town if needed but be sufficiently outside so as not to be bothered with noise. The staff were very welcoming, the gardens are beautiful, the beachfront location is ideal and the hotel is very clean and well looked-after.
The air conditioning is not fantastic so the room and public areas were not startlingly cool and there is no temperature control within the room - we actually reported it as broken twice until we realised that was as cool as it got - helpfully, the maid left us another key so we could keep it on when we left the room and it was noticeable when we returned.
Unfortunately the food really disappointed. Breakfast was good, but the evening meal was limiting, repetitive and we were frequently waiting for it to be replenished. Many times dishes were not hot. Pork with plums, chicken thighs with artichoke, rabbit with marrow and olives, peas, cauliflower, brocolli all undercooked, from a freezer bag and in tomato sauce. Starters was a choice of 1 soup or salads - and boring ones too - shredded carrot, white cabbage and red cabbage, cucumber, tomato... no tuna, prawns, pate, mussels, chicken, bacon, coleslaws to go with the salads - most people seemed to skip a starter and bulk up the main couse with the salad items rather than go for the vegetables. Dessert was good though.
We ate out on a couple of occasions and even walked into town one night after dinner to get ourselves something to eat! It was a huge let-down but there is so much that Thomson can do to ensure that the food meets British palates as well as Russian, German etc. We met some French guests who also thought the evening meals were poor.
I've travelled abroad a lot, and lived overseas for many years, so I understand 'foreign' food is not always Warburtons Bread and roast beef, but when a 5T hotel is re-using food from the evening meal in the afternoon pool bar for those on 'all inclusive' it's a little poor.
Don't do all inclusive whatever you do.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Pollyanna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed here for two weeks. We had a lovely meal waiting for us on our very late arrival. We were then shown to our lovely room. It was over looking the sea, and had a large bed and sofa. We loved the room so much, it got the sea breeze when the heat was on. This really made a difference to me who is not really a beach bunny.

The food was good, try and get your meat from the chef as it is freshly cooked.

The pool was diving warm and was not our my depth in the one near our room.

The sea was lovely and healing. The lifeguard friendly and handsome.

The evening entertainment was a bit silly at times but you could walk into Malia when the sunset. Though it was more of a kids show than an adults.

Do take mossy repellant as they are very active here! Also buckets of the right sunblock as it is very expensive to buy it locally, think we had to pay £26 a bottle when we ran out!!

We had a wonderful relaxing time here. I would go again, I was very reluctant to leave my sea view room. It is worth paying the extra for this room as the room we were moved to on our last day (as a night flight) was crampt in comparison with no view.

Happy times!!

Room Tip: The sea view bungalows are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LordHansonthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Although that was the sixth time we've been to this hotel, we cannot wait for the next one. We have only good words to say, starting from the hospitality, the great place (we LOVE the great pool including the Pool bar and Irini who's serving there), the palm trees and generally the wonderful garden, the very well equiped and perfectly clean rooms. The most tasty and rich food (breakfast and dinner) is served there thanks to the people that supply it but also cook it and serve it. What can we say about the front office manager and the public relations Ladies who are always there to listen and solve problems with patience, kindness but charm as well. The Lobby bar is also a great place to be in the lovely cretan evenings drinking cocktails made and served with special humour and fun. And last but not least is the Animation Team. The chief animator Niki and of course all the team make their best during the day to exercise, entertain and make everybody feel happy (boccia and aquagym in the mornings, special shows in the evening and a number of other activities for all the tastes).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giannis_Anna96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malia
12.3 km away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#9 of 173 in Hersonissos
770 reviews
2.6 km away
Royal Heights Resort
Royal Heights Resort
#6 of 91 in Malia
423 reviews
2.4 km away
Kernos Beach Hotel
Kernos Beach Hotel
#14 of 91 in Malia
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 173 in Hersonissos
3,210 reviews
1.5 km away
High Beach Hotel
High Beach Hotel
#7 of 91 in Malia
367 reviews
0.3 km away
Carolina Mare
Carolina Mare
#13 of 91 in Malia
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cretan Malia Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cretan Malia Park

Address: Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Malia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Malia
#8 Family Hotel in Malia
Price Range: $144 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cretan Malia Park 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Cretan Malia Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cretan Malia Park Hotel Malia
Cretan Hotel Malia
Cretan Malia Park Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing