We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect”
Review of Kernos Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kernos Beach Hotel
Ranked #14 of 91 Hotels in Malia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2017

it was amazing hotel! the people in the restaurant was very friendly and the food really delicious. Also i have visited the spa ficilities and it was very relaxing the massage all the people there was professional!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eleni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017

A very nice hotel situated at a lovely little beach. The hotel grounds ooze with blooming plants.
Our room was clean, the food was good.
The reception reminded me of the front desk of a campsite, but they got things done.
The restaurant is located fairly close to the sea and you can enjoy the sea breeze during dinner. The downside is that it is only open until 9.15 p.m.
We loved the little taverna tucked away in a court yard. Very friendly landlord.
Not easy to get a sun lounger on the beach, though they do try by putting up signs. Tourists simply ignore them, see photo.
Were given a voucher for an allegedly free massage. When trying to book I was told I had to spend money on a massage of some kind, then the voucher would act as a discount or my massage would be extended by 15 minutes.
Anyway, we had an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We enjoyed being in a superior room, top floor, main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank UrsBrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

This is a beautiful, modern hotel, a very large complex, mostly filled with German-speaking guests. Food in the dining room very nicely prepared, always a choice of a meat, fish or vegetarian main course at dinner, and extensive breakfast buffet. There are a variety of tavernas, swimming pools and sports facilities on the grounds. The beach is beautiful and well kept. There is also a wide variety of rooms,

What I don't like are the hordes of people in the dining room, which is very noisy and certainly not relaxing. While the food is good, it is certainly not typically Greek. Beach can also be quite windy at times. Nonetheless, a lovely place.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

We have been in Crete at the beginning of September and we were sure about the good weather. We were definitely not wrong, so I think it is one of the best times of the year to have a holiday in Crete.
The resort is very beautiful and green and with nice spaces and flowers and ...
Buuut, we had a lot of issues, not because of the hotel necessarily, but rather a combined "thing" between the local travel agency and the resort:
- we arrived and we have been informed we have no room booked (actually we have been told our reservation have been canceled)
- we received a room but only for 3 nights and after we had to move (which was a little complicated just because when you travel with 2 boys of 2 you have top un-pack and pack everything multiple times)
- on the day of the rooms' change we have been informed that we can keep the room till 13 but the cleaning personal came around 11:30 when the boys were just falling asleep and we had to move 2 sleeping / grumpy kids from one floor to another
- on the departure morning we have been asked to pay a cafeteria bill that was not ours (luckily I manage to speak a little Greek and to make them understand that on the hour the coffee was "consumed" I was not even in Greece but still at home)

But generally a nice experience and again generally lovely stuff, especially if you are able to speak some of their language because the resort is mostly focused on German and Russian tourists so the personal speaks fluently those 2 languages and not so much English.

Special note to some of the restaurant stuff: do not consider a foreign traveler / tourist not able to understand when you speak bad about them in Greek. Some do understand you when you are joking about their refusal to get something to drink so that you can get a big tip.

Room Tip: Family suite in the main building are the best option: quieter and bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Veve_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

We have staying in the kernos beach hotel and I have to admit that from A till Z, it has been a very positive and excellent stay. Rooms are well equipped, we have booked a family room with 2 sleeping rooms and 2 bath room enough cupboards for all 4 of us. Everyday rooms were cleaned and properly despite the sand we have left everyday a big thank for the entire cleaning team.
Beach and pools are lovely and especially on the side of the baby pools. They are well done and cosy for families. The beach is wonderful. The food and services are outstanding, waiters and leaders at restaurant are helpful, great, amazing and friendly and pamper you as it should be. A special award to lovely Sonia, our son keeps talking about you :-) .

Why I am not giving 5 stars????? Only because on vacation I do not want that management of resort will force me to wear long pants for dinner. A nice and elegant short and shirt are more convenient for a 30 degrees no? ( even if the "maître de salle" let us coming with shorts and shirts special thanks to you master.

Lovely place lovely people It was nice vacation thanks to the Kernos team. We will come back .

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank LeLudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

We staied in the Kernos Beach for one week, with half pension.
The bungalows are very well, the employers are sooo friendly and there is a lot to do by the Hotel (Minigolf, Tennis, Watersports, Billard, Ping-Pong, Fitness)

The negative things were for us, that our room was a good walk away from the reception and also from the dining room (you can eat also outside on the terasse, near the sea)
and the dinner is only till 21.15. For us, who wanted to stay by the beach a little bit longer, sometimes, we had to stress a little.

On the whole, the Hotel was beautiful, the beach also (if you can catch some sunbeds early enough) and the pool too !

Stayed: August 2017
Thank SeryDivinaItaliana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile

I went on holiday one week with my 14months baby. Thé staff is friendly and helpful. I had a garden bungalow that was very modern with a beautiful bathroom with a great shower. The beach is Amazing, thin sand and very large Perfect for kids and non. The restaurant offers a varied breakfast and in the evening dinner is a very large buffet with salads, Fish, meat and vegetarian dishes as well as cheese and desserts and fruits. There is a pool for babies, one for children and one for adults. There is no music or entairtanment but it is good for a chilled holiday plus just walking outside of the hotel and few minutes walk there are2bars, restaurants, shops. ..i loved it!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mariella L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia H, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Kernos Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Dear Mariella,

Thank you very much for your review in TripAdvisor. We are happy, that you enjoyed your stay here in Kernos Beach and appreciate very much, that you published this as well.

We should be glad, welcoming you again here some day and will be at your disposal any time for questions concerning the hotel or a reservation.

Wishing you a nice summer and looking forward to hearing from you soon again.

Sunny regards from Crete,

Claudia Hauser
Sales & Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malia hotels
2.4 km away
Cretan Malia Park
Cretan Malia Park
#8 of 91 in Malia
404 reviews
2.2 km away
Royal Heights Resort
Royal Heights Resort
#6 of 91 in Malia
424 reviews
0.7 km away
Dessole Malia Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Drossia Palms Hotel Studios
0.2 km away
Ikaros Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 km away
Alexander Beach Hotel & Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kernos Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kernos Beach Hotel

Address: Road Stalis-Malia, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Malia
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Malia
Price Range: C$152 - C$531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kernos Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kernos Beach Hotel is a 4-star hotel, which comprises a main building with three buildings, as well as by several rows of bungalows. All bungalows are fully renovated, in the main house, there are still some unrenovated rooms. Our main restaurant for all half board accommodation disposes of a beautiful large outdoor terrace with view over the Aegean Sea. Additionally, the guests have the choice between a lunch in our Tavernaki or in our fish restaurant. Coffee, ice cream and cocktails are served at the beach bar. A sundowner in the main bar or an Ouzo in our typical Greek Kafenion under vine leaves is the evening choice. The sandy and gently sloping sandy beach free sun beds and umbrellas for the hotel guests. These are also available at the fresh water pool and in the area of the children's pools. A gym, 2 tennis courts, mini golf, table tennis and water sports external providers, except watersports free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kernos Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kernos Beach Malia
Kernos Beach Hotel Malia, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing