We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
140
26
7
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
26
7
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachhoneymoon suitefamily owned hotelaegean seathe ground floorprivate accessrooftop barmini bara short taxi ridestylish hotelsingle roombeautiful viewbooked this hotelbreakfast roomstayed nightsperfect locationorange juice
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 182 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2017

Arrived by ferry and a short taxi ride (around 5 mins) to paradise! A family run hotel, and 5* service! As soon as we got there we felt well looked after, the advice of the local restaurants, bars and swimming areas and a personalised tour of the hotel. We upgraded for a small cost to the Balcony room, totally recommend this room, great balcony & views and space. The hotel backs literally right onto the water. There is a lift in the hotel, then stairs to the private beach chairs/umbrellas. Walk down some stairs to jump (or go on the ladder) into the ocean , absolute paradise, stayed 3 nights wish was at least 5!
We were wanting to tour the whole island , and to spend the day at one of the beaches. Spyros and his family advised us of the best beaches if windy or not windy and arranged a taxi (25Euro per hour ..cheap!) to take us around the whole island ,. The driver was lovely and stopped at all the sights and we finished at Kinni beach, (takes approx. 1.5 hrs)had a fabulous lunch at a café right on the sand -- fresh seafood and icy cold beer! The water was so clear we could see tiny fish swimming from our table! Awesome! Spyros gave us the number for the taxi and the restaurant called for us, and in no time taxi was there. Breakfast was all homemade, served on the roof terrace overlooking the ocean, at night it turns into a bar , drinks affordable prices , friendly service. We left the hotel for a short walk to the restaurant strip, don't know the name of restaurant , however it is the only one with the bright orange tablecloths. Ate there twice, staff couldn't do enough for you , prices cheap, food fabulous!
One afternoon we walked to the beachbar (can been seen from our rooftop or sunbeds)across the water (short walk) , great cocktails/vibe and we swam and then ordered drinks and snacks. Such a relaxing stay, we will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wisepeople1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2017 via mobile

We booked this hotel as it had great reviews. We specifically asked for a double bed. When we arrived we had 2 separate beds pushed together. The bedside lights didn't work and there were teenagers fighting outside our window. No way is this a 5 star hotel. I never complain about hotels but for the price we paid I will be now.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jane1971015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spyros-X, Ιδιοκτήτης at Apollonion Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Dear Ms Jane, goodmorning from sunny Syros.
First of all we would like to thank for your choice to stay in our family hotel. We received your reservation for 1 night stay in the middle of the weekend, through an online reservation system, only 4-5 days before your arrival. Some requests subject to availability. We tried until the last minute to see if a room with double bed will be available to fulfil your request. On the confirmation of your reservation it was clearly wirten "Double OR Twin room" and a room with double bed never confirmed. A couple of hours after your reservation you received a confirmation email from us trying to give you a detailed description of what you are going to find on your arrival and especially to take a look in the virtual tour through hotel's official website which describes everything with every single detail in order to avoid any misunderstandings.
On your checkout you mentioned about the backside lights, but i informed you that there are 2 ways to switch on/off these lights. The 1st way is from the light switch next to the bed. The 2nd way is from the cord under the lights. Some times a combination of these is needed. So, there wasn't any techical problem, only a misunderstanding.
Refering to the teenagers fighting outside you had the information that the room you booked is facing the street. Unfortunately as a small family hotel we don't have employees for security of what is happening outside on the street.
Refering to hotel's category you also had the information that the hotel is a historical building about 180 years old and as you can understand it hasn't got the amenities of a new building, built from the begining as a 5star hotel. I think that this which makes our hotel special and have some great review as you mentioned, is the unique position just over the sea with an amazing view to the Aegean Sea, the family warmth and atmosphere which i think you didn't receive on your less than 24hours stay. Sometimes it's better to discuss your problems in order to find the best solution for your own convenience than leaving the hotel "disappointed".
Concluding refering to the price you payed 75€ for your stay where about the 60% of this amount is commissions and taxes. I am wondering if really there are many 5 stars hotels in the touristic places all over Europe in which you pay 75€ / night.
However we would like to thank once again for your choice to stay with us and for your negative review. It makes us better and also help us to avoid same problems with our potential guests. We will be at your disposal for any further assistance.
Kind regards,
Spyros Chalaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2017

We booked a 2-night stay here and loved it so much that we cut short our stay on Mykonos and returned for 2 more nights. The building was restored in a very tasteful and organic elegance that melded with the magnificent Aegean landscape. The Presidential Suite was amazing. We loved waking to the sunrise and the sound of the waves. We would start the day with a quick swim in the sea followed by a leisurely breakfast on the rooftop enjoying the view. The rest of the day consisted of multiple swims, strolls in the beautiful town, drinks on the harbor, reading on the terrace...Spyros and his family made us feel right at home. Next year I want to go for a month!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CoryJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2017

Booked this hotel direct through email. From the moment of the booking till my check out, the hotel managed to make a memorable holidays for me. Ms. Altouva was very helpful with anything that I need including booking of the room and arrival and departure transfers too. The hotel is situated in Ermoupolis which is the center of the hotel where the majority of restaurantans and nightlife is situated, but secluded from the busy and the noisy part of the center assuring a great privacy and good sleep after a long day exploring and strolling around the island, its beaches and the magnificent center. The staff was friendly and very helpful all the times. One thing that surprised me and as a frequent and fluent traveller never experienced is that the mini bar was very cheap!!. They would charge the water just 0,50 Euros (which is what it costs to buy it at a Kiosk). Therefore, you wouldn't need to get to the kiosk and buy it. Breakfast was amazing with a good choice of traditional delicacies and pastries. Orange juice, milk and water was provided in medium size jars just for yourself (I was travelling by myself). The hotel features a private beach which you can take advantage of, even though Greece is all about exploring your surroundings and getting to know every corner in each destination you visit and this is what I did and unfortunately didn't make use of the private beach. For solo travellers, be very careful with the room selection and what is the bed that they give you as I booked the smallest room of the hotel (I was provided with that information in advance so I knew what I booked). Despite the small room, what it is rewarding from this room, is the mini balcony and its views to the mini private beach, traditional venetian style buildings and the Aegean sea. I would recomend this place for anyone seeking a high - end travelling at a budget. I booked this hotel direct at a 220 Euros for three nights including bed and breakfast at a peak season.

Room Tip: Be careful with room selection
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCortezGilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2017 via mobile

Situated in a wonderful location of the island of Syros (place named "Small Venice"), just in the "heart" of the town of Ermoúpolis (so, is closed to everything that you can visit in the town by foot), this hotel with its nice rooms and most of them with wonderful view to Asteria beach and Vaporia district is one of the best hotels in town.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Flavian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews