We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel on our visit to Greece”
Review of Apollonion Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apollonion Palace
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Hermoupolis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2017

We booked this hotel after reading TA reviews. It wasn't our first choice (a friend had recommended another place) but we couldn't be more happy about changing our minds. We loved this hotel and it's room rate was much lower than the one we lodged at on Mykonos and twice as good.

The room we had was enormous, beautifully furnished with a superb sea view. Oh and the highest ceiling I've ever seen any in hotel we have lodged in. The hotel's large outside terrace overlooking the ocean is superb, has a small bar and also a few sunbeds to let you rest in the sun. We felt this part of the hotel was its jewel in the crown.

The reception staff were extremely professional and courteous without being intrusive. As this was our first visit to Syros they were very, very helpful in giving us recommendations of where to visit and also where to eat. Hotel breakfast is served to you in your room and we enjoyed it very much. The hotle's Wi-Fi signal is strong.

The location of the Apollonion is excellent and from it you could walk around the city very easily. We fell in love with Hermoupolis and it's architecture and without doubt we will be back. Also without doubt we will lodge at this hotel but this is my only very small criticism. We wish to book for specific dates in September 2018 using their own online system but the only rooms being sold at the moment are up until June next year.

Finally, if you'd enjoy a beautiful city with few tourists and a hotel that works hard at making you feel special we recommend you visit.

Room Tip: Perhaps think of booking a room on either 4 or 5 and request a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ciceronesw17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2017

Arrived by ferry and a short taxi ride (around 5 mins) to paradise! A family run hotel, and 5* service! As soon as we got there we felt well looked after, the advice of the local restaurants, bars and swimming areas and a personalised tour of the hotel. We upgraded for a small cost to the Balcony room, totally recommend this room, great balcony & views and space. The hotel backs literally right onto the water. There is a lift in the hotel, then stairs to the private beach chairs/umbrellas. Walk down some stairs to jump (or go on the ladder) into the ocean , absolute paradise, stayed 3 nights wish was at least 5!
We were wanting to tour the whole island , and to spend the day at one of the beaches. Spyros and his family advised us of the best beaches if windy or not windy and arranged a taxi (25Euro per hour ..cheap!) to take us around the whole island ,. The driver was lovely and stopped at all the sights and we finished at Kinni beach, (takes approx. 1.5 hrs)had a fabulous lunch at a café right on the sand -- fresh seafood and icy cold beer! The water was so clear we could see tiny fish swimming from our table! Awesome! Spyros gave us the number for the taxi and the restaurant called for us, and in no time taxi was there. Breakfast was all homemade, served on the roof terrace overlooking the ocean, at night it turns into a bar , drinks affordable prices , friendly service. We left the hotel for a short walk to the restaurant strip, don't know the name of restaurant , however it is the only one with the bright orange tablecloths. Ate there twice, staff couldn't do enough for you , prices cheap, food fabulous!
One afternoon we walked to the beachbar (can been seen from our rooftop or sunbeds)across the water (short walk) , great cocktails/vibe and we swam and then ordered drinks and snacks. Such a relaxing stay, we will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wisepeople1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

We booked this hotel as it had great reviews. We specifically asked for a double bed. When we arrived we had 2 separate beds pushed together. The bedside lights didn't work and there were teenagers fighting outside our window. No way is this a 5 star hotel. I never complain about hotels but for the price we paid I will be now.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jane1971015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spyros-X, Ιδιοκτήτης at Apollonion Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Ms Jane, goodmorning from sunny Syros.
First of all we would like to thank for your choice to stay in our family hotel. We received your reservation for 1 night stay in the middle of the weekend, through an online reservation system, only 4-5 days before your arrival. Some requests subject to availability. We tried until the last minute to see if a room with double bed will be available to fulfil your request. On the confirmation of your reservation it was clearly wirten "Double OR Twin room" and a room with double bed never confirmed. A couple of hours after your reservation you received a confirmation email from us trying to give you a detailed description of what you are going to find on your arrival and especially to take a look in the virtual tour through hotel's official website which describes everything with every single detail in order to avoid any misunderstandings.
On your checkout you mentioned about the backside lights, but i informed you that there are 2 ways to switch on/off these lights. The 1st way is from the light switch next to the bed. The 2nd way is from the cord under the lights. Some times a combination of these is needed. So, there wasn't any techical problem, only a misunderstanding.
Refering to the teenagers fighting outside you had the information that the room you booked is facing the street. Unfortunately as a small family hotel we don't have employees for security of what is happening outside on the street.
Refering to hotel's category you also had the information that the hotel is a historical building about 180 years old and as you can understand it hasn't got the amenities of a new building, built from the begining as a 5star hotel. I think that this which makes our hotel special and have some great review as you mentioned, is the unique position just over the sea with an amazing view to the Aegean Sea, the family warmth and atmosphere which i think you didn't receive on your less than 24hours stay. Sometimes it's better to discuss your problems in order to find the best solution for your own convenience than leaving the hotel "disappointed".
Concluding refering to the price you payed 75€ for your stay where about the 60% of this amount is commissions and taxes. I am wondering if really there are many 5 stars hotels in the touristic places all over Europe in which you pay 75€ / night.
However we would like to thank once again for your choice to stay with us and for your negative review. It makes us better and also help us to avoid same problems with our potential guests. We will be at your disposal for any further assistance.
Kind regards,
Spyros Chalaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

We booked a 2-night stay here and loved it so much that we cut short our stay on Mykonos and returned for 2 more nights. The building was restored in a very tasteful and organic elegance that melded with the magnificent Aegean landscape. The Presidential Suite was amazing. We loved waking to the sunrise and the sound of the waves. We would start the day with a quick swim in the sea followed by a leisurely breakfast on the rooftop enjoying the view. The rest of the day consisted of multiple swims, strolls in the beautiful town, drinks on the harbor, reading on the terrace...Spyros and his family made us feel right at home. Next year I want to go for a month!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CoryJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

Booked this hotel direct through email. From the moment of the booking till my check out, the hotel managed to make a memorable holidays for me. Ms. Altouva was very helpful with anything that I need including booking of the room and arrival and departure transfers too. The hotel is situated in Ermoupolis which is the center of the hotel where the majority of restaurantans and nightlife is situated, but secluded from the busy and the noisy part of the center assuring a great privacy and good sleep after a long day exploring and strolling around the island, its beaches and the magnificent center. The staff was friendly and very helpful all the times. One thing that surprised me and as a frequent and fluent traveller never experienced is that the mini bar was very cheap!!. They would charge the water just 0,50 Euros (which is what it costs to buy it at a Kiosk). Therefore, you wouldn't need to get to the kiosk and buy it. Breakfast was amazing with a good choice of traditional delicacies and pastries. Orange juice, milk and water was provided in medium size jars just for yourself (I was travelling by myself). The hotel features a private beach which you can take advantage of, even though Greece is all about exploring your surroundings and getting to know every corner in each destination you visit and this is what I did and unfortunately didn't make use of the private beach. For solo travellers, be very careful with the room selection and what is the bed that they give you as I booked the smallest room of the hotel (I was provided with that information in advance so I knew what I booked). Despite the small room, what it is rewarding from this room, is the mini balcony and its views to the mini private beach, traditional venetian style buildings and the Aegean sea. I would recomend this place for anyone seeking a high - end travelling at a budget. I booked this hotel direct at a 220 Euros for three nights including bed and breakfast at a peak season.

Room Tip: Be careful with room selection
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCortezGilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

Situated in a wonderful location of the island of Syros (place named "Small Venice"), just in the "heart" of the town of Ermoúpolis (so, is closed to everything that you can visit in the town by foot), this hotel with its nice rooms and most of them with wonderful view to Asteria beach and Vaporia district is one of the best hotels in town.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Flavian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

I would recommend Apollonian Palace to someone travelling to Syros for a few nights even weeks. This place is nice and cosy, it has a great family feel to it. There is a 24 hour reception. Our room is comfortable and clean with excellent wifi, air conditioning and a large balcony overlooking the Aegean Sea. The staff are very friendly, polite and always asking if we need a hand with anything. Great location to all the cafes, fruit and fish markets.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Naloki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermoupolis
0.3 km away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#9 of 14 in Hermoupolis
104 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Ploes
Hotel Ploes
#1 of 14 in Hermoupolis
211 reviews
0.7 km away
Esperance 1
Esperance 1
#6 of 14 in Hermoupolis
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Ethrion
Hotel Ethrion
#2 of 14 in Hermoupolis
158 reviews
0.7 km away
Diogenis Hotel
Diogenis Hotel
#5 of 14 in Hermoupolis
119 reviews
6.4 km away
Hotel Benois
Hotel Benois
#1 of 4 in Galissas
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollonion Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollonion Palace

Address: 12 Apollonos, Hermoupolis 841 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Syros > Hermoupolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Hermoupolis
Price Range: $115 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Apollonion Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apollonion palace hotel is housed in a historic 19th century neoclassical building, completely renovated in 2009 and fully restored to its original architectural form. Built in five levels, its foundations touch the sea. It overlooks the bay of Ag. Nicholas in the "Vaporia", area while its main entrance is right on the prestigious Apollonos Street. It is located a few steps from the imposing Church of St. Nicholas, the patron saint of Hermoupolis, the Apollo Theater and the Hermoupolis Town-Hall, a famous work of Ziller. During the last century it served as a home of prominent Syrians, while in 1996 it was bought by M.N. Captain Emmanuel Halaris, owner of "Halaris Hotels S.A.", Who spared no labour and cost to give Ermoupolis this unique 5-star hotel, which was missing from the island. The building's aesthetic is based on Hermoupolis' neoclassical flair. The magnificent terrace on the east side of the building, ideal for weddings, receptions, a glass of ouzo and musings in the moonlight, and the smaller terrace with access to the sea for swimming, offer a feeling of total relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Bookgreece.com so you can book your Apollonion Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing