We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian Summer in Piano di Sorrento”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Having spent holidays in Sorrento & Positano 16 & 14 years ago we were looking forward to our stay at the Tui Sensimar Nastro Azzurro. We were not disappointed! This was our first all inclusive hotel stay and thoroughly enjoyed the experience from start to finish. Our room was on the second floor in the main building and was well laid out and had all the amenities - good sized room, bathroom and large shower which was like a walk in shower/wet room! Tea, coffee & fridge full of water which was replenished daily and free wifi! The food was great with lots of choices - and loved the salads which were also replenished as soon as they were low ! I can't understand how people complained about the food in previous reviews - and at breakfast omelettes & eggs etc were cooked to order! There was a good selection of wines & other drinks - I am a shareholder of the oldest wine society in the UK and always found a wine that would accompany our dinner - red or white - and prosecco was also available, all inclusive ! Some excellent Campania wines available - but when I went out for a meal I then tried my favourites such as Greco di Tufo & Lacryma Chrysti , but the hotel selection was good and went well with the food selections. The staff were all so obliging - nothing was too much trouble. They even left a bottle of bubbly on ice & birthday cake in our room for my wife's birthday which was actually on the day we were leaving so they did it the day before - a nice touch which was appreciated! The pool and amenities were good - plenty of beds to relax on - and lunch by the poolside restaurant was very pleasant. Regular shuttle into Sorrento but we enjoyed the fact that we could visit the town but had the ambience of the peace and quiet in pleasant surroundings - the best of both worlds! Thank you to the staff - Maitre D & Salvatore and special mention to Super Mario - we missed saying goodbye but enjoy your honeymoon & cruise - you deserve it ! Ciao ! Malcolm & Laurie

Room Tip: Depends what you like - some people prefer the annexe but we liked the main hotel building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Malcolmelwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,860)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 1,860 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2017

Annexe rooms
We stayed here for a week in one of the Annexe rooms which is separate from the main hotel. The room was really comfortable and had everything you needed including a safe (free to use), fridge (stocked up with water daily), kettle, coffee machine, dressing gown and slippers. If you are a light sleeper you may want to email the hotel in advance to ask for a room at the end of the corridor. We had the end room on the ground floor and whilst this room had the smallest outside space we were still really glad we got this room. The corridor outside has laminate flooring which is very noisy, so you can hear every time the other guests come and go. The walls are also very thin so you can hear the toilet flushing and showers being used from the room next door, so we were glad to only have one neighbour. Luckily though all the guests in the surrounding rooms were considerate and quiet so it wasn’t really a problem. The guests seemed to be exclusively British couples, no stag or hen parties.

Food
The quality of the food was excellent and there was always plenty to choose from, although it could have been more varied at lunchtime. Twice a week dinner is a buffet and we preferred this to ordering from a menu as it’s much quicker. We didn’t have to wait too long at any time though, but I can imagine in the summer with a fully booked hotel you’d have to wait a while to both be seated and to have your food.

Books
There is a very large book exchange in the main lobby and a smaller one in the Annexe lobby so no need to bring that many books with you. I saw new books added daily and all in English as well.

Park area
Don’t miss out on the Park area with the outside whirlpool and seats and sofas in the shade. There is also table tennis available in this area and it was really peaceful and relaxing spending time here. It was almost empty as most people sat by the large outdoor pool instead.

Staff
I found all the staff very professional and helpful, very hardworking at all times and eager to please. They seemed genuinely delighted when seeing returning guests as well.

Cats
If you’re not keen on cats don’t worry, there aren’t that many of them and they are quite timid so you won’t see much of them. If you do like cats you should bring some food for them as they do appreciate this! Seek out the ginger cat Rosie who mainly hangs out around the Annexe and park area, she is very friendly and likes a cuddle.

To sum it up, I would definitely recommend this hotel and would be happy to return.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

What can I say about this little gem. First time in Italy and so glad we spent it here. This hotel has no bad points. Rooms, food, view and , staff are all amazing. The drinks are all branded and and the hotel is spotless. The staff and managers know how to treat guests and were some of the friendliest I have ever met, nothing was to much trouble. They even got involved in the nightly entertainment and the pool party was great fun. They had a courtesy bus to go down into sorrento, so this was handy. There are no negative things to say about this hotel at all. We will definitely be going back

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JohnandLinda735764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

The hotel itself is nice, we were in a basement room in the main building, it was fine, much better than I was expecting looking at other reviews. The corridors smelled a bit drainy, but the room didn’t smell. The beds are firm, but comfy and big.

The food was on the whole really nice, plenty of choice but I don’t think in the whole week any of the food was hot, warm yes, but never hot, which was annoying.

The wait staff were pleasant and efficient, but personally I found the maitre d a bit much, and I came to dread going into dinner to go through a very awkward and weird conversation before we were seated for a meal.

The entertainment was at best cringeworthy and at worst ear piercingly terrible. There was no alternative and the TVs in the rooms only had cnn as an English speaking channel, which as the hotel has 100% English guests seems a bit nuts as you’re pretty much captive there of an evening.

On the whole, it was ok, but I wouldn’t stay there again

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sarah-Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

Stayed for two weeks beginning of October. Weather was fabulous. Warm welcome from hotel on late arrival with dinner waiting for us in dining room with a welcome glass of bubbly. We stayed in the annex which we strongly recommend, the room was clean with lovely balcony and twin walk in shower. Tea and filter coffee available with a fridge.
The food was great with plenty of choice and was also able to choose from a menu for all inclusive wine. The staff were all amazing and nothing was two much trouble. The courtesy bus to sorrento worked well and was never full. Sorrento was lovely with great views across the bay., but the best views were from the hotel sunset bar you could walk all the way round the bar and get the best scenery ever. The pool was heated but not consistent in temperature, I think there was a problem with the heater. A big thank you to all the staff but especially to Carmine no 1 the waiter who looked after us very well and Salvatore the assistant maitre de. All the managers were good at there job which really showed in all the departments. We have never been back to the same hotel twice but I think this hotel ticked too many boxes not too.
Janet and Michael

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

On arrival at Naples Airport Thomson staff could be a bit more welcoming and helpful.
At the hotel we were welcomed with a glass of sparkling wine, and as we were after the dinner time we were taken to the restaurant and given a cold platter while our luggage was taken to our room.
We had booked a superior room with side sea view which we found very spacious, bathroom having a double shower. Being on the first floor we had a great view and a large balcony/patio area. Room was kept very clean.
Shuttle bus was very good into Sorrento as the hotel is out of the centre.
Breakfast was of reasonable quality with enough variation.
Lunch at the pool give you choice of Pizza, grilled food and salads.
Dinner varied between Buffet/ Waiter Service and Buffet. Although there was a choice there was very little seafood on offer apart from fillets of local fish. Seemingly they have a seafood night once a fortnight, so if you are there for a week it might not be on.
Found the all inclusive drinks a bit hit and miss. Prosecco and wine very good, beer was Ruffo which is made by Peroni for local market definitely not as good as the real thing. Whisky was supposedly Johnnie Walker Red Label (have drank it for 40 years)but sadly did not taste of whisky, Raised this with a rep who said she would check it out but never responded.
Entertainment at night was so similar every evening and was second rate. What about opera and folk nights.
Pool area especially the toilets and sun beds could do with a refurbishment.
Very good wifi signal throughout the hotel.
Staff were generally good and attentive.
Although I would return I feel improvements could be made.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank AyrshireLad007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Food was excellent. A la carte five evenings a week and buffet on two nights with selection of canapés, starters, mains and desserts. Lunch buffet a bit more limited with fresh pizza, salad and three daily specials.

Room was comfortable with a large bed. Some dust and wear and tear on the furniture but otherwise clean.

Staff were friendly and happy to help with requests - for example our room didn't have a DVD player so they kindly installed one.

Excellent facilities: the outdoor pool is heated in September and October, three jacuzzis, table tennis and sky bar.

Good range of drinks at the bar, imported spirits and staff encourage guests to order by the bottle on wine and prosseco.

Regular shuttle bus to Sorento (although you have to beforehand). Sorrento is beautiful with easy access to Pompeii, Positano and several island. No beach in Sorento but plenty of bathing platforms offshore.

Slightly older clientele. Entertainment featured a range of live music in the evening.

Overall we loved our stay and would recommend this as a luxury all inclusive destination and wish we stayed longer than 1 week!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kristina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piano di Sorrento
5.4 km away
Tui Sensimar Atlantic Palace
3.8 km away
Mar Hotel Alimuri
5.7 km away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
La Ripetta
La Ripetta
#8 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
366 reviews
4.5 km away
Grand Hotel President
Grand Hotel President
#17 of 100 in Sorrento
1,358 reviews
3.2 km away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 20 in Sant'Agnello
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro

Address: Via Nastro Azzurro 20, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range: $1,329 - $1,422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro And Occhio Marino Resort
Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro & Occhio Marino Piano Di Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing