We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
43
76
58
34
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
76
58
34
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mini fridge hotel is located lake maggiore railway station free wifi walking distance dated hotel big thanks top floor cakes excellent food the main road fabio ac promenade
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 239 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2017 via mobile

Although the staff are really fantastic and helpful and the food is great, what stops this getting 4 stars is the very dated dark rooms. But it is very clean and we just tried to make the most of it. We stayed half board and the food is really fantastic with an entree, choice of 4 starters, choice of 4 mains then choice of lovely desserts. Drinks are chargeable to the room. The waiting staff are really friendly and helpful. Fabio is very good happy waiter. Breakfast is continental style but excellent with a great choice of pastries. The room definitely needs modernising but has a fridge with some drinks/snacks (chargeable). There is a safety deposit box which needs a key from reception (free). The room also has a kettle and cups. Also good quality free Wi-Fi. The lake view rooms balcony had great views of the lake, Alps, and Castello Borromere. The hotel is right next to Arona station. Overall though despite the room, a lovely holiday with fantastic food.

Things to do:

Arona has a large market every Tuesday 9am to 12.30am.
Arona also has a lovely promenade that is nice to walk along to the square north which has lots of cafes, bars, etc.
Arona also has lots of nice shops along an atmospheric alleyway.

You can get train to Milan which takes 1 hour and cost 6 euro each way.

You can also get the train to Stresa which takes 15 minutes and cost 3 euro each way.

Just remember to validate your tickets before you get on the train in the machines.

Stresa is beautiful and has boat trips to Isola Bella and Isola Superiore.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MrMrsHappyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2017 via mobile

This hotel is very well located at downtown of Arona, near the train station! You can do whatever you need by your foot! The crew of the hotel is fantastic, since the barman until the owner! If you are planning to visit this area, undoubtedly that's tha place to stay!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank joaomarcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2017 via mobile

We where at Atlantic in holiday for couple nights. Even if the hotel and furniture are old, this hotel have a very good position, near train station, near lake Maggiore and in centre of Arona. The room (triple) was clean, very big (around 30sqm) and comfortable even in each morning we found ant inside. The staff of the hotel was friendly and very helpful in planning our trips. A good point at this hotel is free wi-fi that is functioning speedily. The breakfast isn't very reach and tasty but is good enough.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank mhctin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2017 via mobile

This hotel room was quite strange looking. However the layout was quite nice. The bathroom at the front near the door and then a separate room for the bed ect. The bed was large and relatively comfortable although the pillows were like flat pancakes. The shower was also terrible as my husband could barely fit in it (he's 6'7)and the water pressure wasn't anything to write home about. However as it was very quiet and peaceful, we would stay again.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank oostell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2017

The best of this hotel: 1) the location: the hotel is right in the centre of the town, in front of the lake, near the railway station, near the landing piers and near the congress centre; 2) the extraordinary views to the lake and to the Borromeo's castle ("Rocca di Angera"); they can be fully enjoyed from the front rooms, which are slightly more expensive than the others, but are absolutely worth the small extra; 3) the exceptional customer care: the management and the staff will go beyond any expectation to please you, everybody is welcoming and obliging, and I felt really pampered.

The hotel appears restyled (although the design is questionable). Rooms are reasonably large; my king size bed was perfect; my room had a private balcony with table, chairs and a splendid view to the lake; equipment included the safe (an older model, still operated with a key), coffee-making facility, refrigerator for the convenience of the guests, efficient air-conditioning (it was wintertime and the heating was excellent), small but well furnished bathroom, a TV set with lot of channels (but difficult to operate, due to its dual-use with two different broadcasting systems). Buffet breakfast is normally included in the room rate; it is good and reasonably abundant, but it is definitely tailored to suit the Italian tastes, i.e. with a large choice of sweets (of high-quality indeed) but no hot-foods in the buffet: anyhow they will prepare eggs and similar dishes on demand, at no extra cost. Parking is complimentary (at least it was when I stayed); the hotel has a few places in a minuscule and not easily accessible courtyard, plus some additional places in the street; it is wise to book in advance the parking place. There was no significant noise from the street, and the room was perfectly insulated from the noise in the corridor by a double door; some noise was however coming from the restaurant located on the 5th floor, where a soiree with deafening music was taking place. The staff communicates easily in several languages; I got the impression that they feel comfortable in dealing with the international clientele and that the hotel is popular with the air crews coming from the Milan-Malpensa airport. The hotel web-site has no provisions for making on-line reservation.

The overall comfort of my stay corresponded to what I expect from a good 3-star hotel. The hotel is however classified in the 4-stars category, a classification which may raise excessive expectations in the customer and feed possible disappointments. The rates are commensurate with the 4-stars category; in addition there is a city tax of 3 € per night. All in all, the hotel appears appropriate for business and pleasant for tourism, and I can recommend it.

Room Tip: Take a room with view to the lake !
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marco_Polo499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews