We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveller rating
134
42
10
11
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
42
10
11
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner the main street old town gianni apartment heart terrace supermarket
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 238 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2015

We are 4 brothers travelling by bike - stayed at Kale for 2 nights.
We shared an apartment on the 2nd floor with a terrace.
Our stay overall was quite nice . We cooked for ourselves one night and enjoyed the ambience.
Our apartment was well equipped for cooking and groceries were nearby.
The catch was when we needed to do some wash and asked where a lavanderia (laundromat ) was . Giovanni , the proprietor , stepped up and said he would take care of it for us. So - we gave him a load of laundry which was returned to us, with a little prompting , 36 hr later. To our surprise the bill was €80 !!!
It put a damper on our stay there - so left somewhat disappointed.
Maybe a lesson learned as our Italian was not good enough to argue the cost.

Room Tip: Rooms look spacious. Terrace apartment available..
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2015

Stayed here for 5 nights and had a wounderful time.

The hotel is ideally located in the old town , close to the cathedral, bars and small shops. The beach is a <5 minute walk away. It is full of charm and character.

We booked the accomodation in February and paid extra for a roof terrace. However on arrival we were allocated a two bedroom apartment with no outdoor space. The man at reception said he will speak to the owner.

The next morning we were greeted by the owner and he apologised for the 'mix up' and said that we will be able to move rooms.

We went out for the day and returned late in the afternoon. We entered the apartment to discover people having afternoon siesta !!! Whilst we were out the staff had moved us into the new apartment - all our clothes had been neatly hung up or folded in the draws - and yes the terrace was amazing overlooking other roofs and terraces and the top of the cathedral - you could imagine Aladdin jumping from roof to roof!

This new apartment was clean and spacious with a powerful walk-in shower. We could not hear the noise from the bars below as in the previous apartment.

On three occasions the electricity was off when we returned to the appartment and we had to ring the owner twice as it was past 10 pm and there is no one at reception. The man at reception reported that in this particular apartment the electricity often trips!!

Despite the hicups I would recommend the accomodation because of its location and charm. We found the owner to be apologetic and friendly and did not experience hostility as described by some reviewers.

Room Tip: if budget allows, book a room with a terrace
Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank indianqueen39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2014

The place is located near the cathedral, in the very city center. Our room was very charming and absolutely quiet. We spent 2 wonderful nights there and we would recommend it to anybody. Gianni, the owner of the place, was very friendly and helped us find our way around and suggested some unmissable landscape and beaches.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lucia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2014

At the beginning of September I have spent amazing weekend with my partner, at charming Residence Kale in the very heart of the old city of Gallipoli. Welcomed by our gentle host Gianni, we got useful first informations about what to visit and how to organize our short time in the best way. Thank you Gianni. We absolutely loved our stay and we will come back for sure for a longer period.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Love S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2014

My partner and I spent two nights at Residence Kale in August 2014. We were not too sure what to expect from the property but were delighted by what we encountered. The Residence comprises a number of apartments surrounding a central courtyard. Our apartment was split level with a bathroom and kitchen/diner/lounge downstairs and a large double bedroom on the mezzanine. The layout was rustic ( not a euphemism for "tatty" at all - genuinely charming). The space was excellent, more than enough room for the two of us.

The property is situated right in the centre of old Gallipoli and entrance from the street is through a large arch into the courtyard. Very imposing and one felt very important when on returning home of an evening one had to "endure" the envious looks of other tourists watching as one opened the imposing gates and enter the courtyard - bit like being a film star.

We had a brilliant three day visit to Gallipoli and were delighted to have found this accommodation. The owner was very helpful and the property highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank msclaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews