We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with a very personal vision”
Review of San Giorgio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Giorgio Hotel
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Modica
Reviewed 15 October 2017

I loved this place. It is brave and beautiful attempt to create a really different hotel. Blessed with a breathtaking view, with the Chiesa San Giorgio and its flower-decked steps to my left and the old town of Modica, bathed in golden light to the right and below, it would have been easy to spend my whole time on the balcony - I have never taken so many photos from a hotel window. (The September night was warm and I did consider sleeping outside!) Inside, the room was themed on a movie (as they all are). Mine was The Piano: I am no film-buff but could not work out how, but decided it should be The Life of Pi as the walls are sea blue and the apparent hull of a boat hovers on the ceiling below as a light fitting. How often does the decor of a hotel room make you think? I would have loved to see other rooms and explore the theme. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Parking was no problem in the street below and I could have got even closer. There will always be teething problems in an ambitious project: some flickery lights, a main door that wedged on carpet, but perhaps the best recommendation was from the envious looks of many tourists looking up from the steps at me on the balcony:'how come I am not staying in a place like that?' Try it.

Room Tip: Worth paying for the view. Stunning memories.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2017

We were transferred to this hotel from Palazzo Failla, because our bathroom had developed 'issues'. Recently converted from a splendid old building at the foot of the steps of the main church, the hotel had only just opened.
The rooms are themed, and ours, eccentrically, based on 2001 Space Odyssey.
check out the pictures!
The team running it are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble.
A word of caution - thick walls do not lead to good wifi coverage, although they said they were going to try and improve that.
Excellent breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony overlooking the church
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanGiorgio16, Responsabile reception at San Giorgio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Dear Mark,
sometimes being transeferred it is not that bad. We are happy that you liked everything. We hope to see you here for your next trip in Sicily,
kind regards,
Giorgio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

Very nice building, good breakfast, awesome views from the room right next to San Giorgio church. The rooms are designed by movies, each room has a movie theme. This does not quite meet the building's historical aspect, I believe a classic yet stylish design would have been more adequate. However, the location and staff (Giorgio in the reception has been awesome with help and tips!) made for the aspect of the room.

Room Tip: great views from the rooms to san giorgio church
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Monica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanGiorgio16, Responsabile reception at San Giorgio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Dear Monica,
thank you for your feedback. It was a pleasure to help you with you plan. I hope to see you soon back,
best regards,
Giorgio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

The hotel was very difficult to find and most of the town people had no idea where it was located. It has only been open for two months. We were greeted well with a complimentary coffee. But: there is no business center, not even one computer available for guests and when I asked I was told to use my phone. The room was not cleaned until late evening because we were told that they had a problem. The shower throws water all over the bathroom because the shower head is too big for the tiny shower. Soap was not replenished the second day, and I had to ask for clean towels because the room had not been cleaned by the time we wanted to take a shower to go out in the evening. What would improve a stay? Hire more employees: we only saw three people. One was at the reception (Giorgio), and the other two served breakfast and cleaned rooms. Day of departure I was charged out of the blue 10 Euro: 2 euros for a small bottle of water, and 8 euros for city tax. I never received a receipt for either the stay or the 10 euros because Giorgio was not there and the other two were busy trying to put on breakfast. Also: not even a coffee pot in the room or a box of tissues.
The attitude of Giorgio when I told him that I expected the water to be complimentary having had problems trying to check out; you got a free coffee! If this hotel wants to stay alive, they need to do more than just have theme rooms. We could have stayed at a more accessible hotel for less with better facilities. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone who has a physical ailment because it is not accessible from the main road without climbing over 150 steps or up a hill. I would not recommend to anyone who is on business because of lack of facilities. It is only good for one night. A very disappointing experience.

Room Tip: Not accessible for handicapped or old people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cauchigrech1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanGiorgio16, Responsabile reception at San Giorgio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Dear Cauchigrech,
thank you for your feedback.
I am sorry that you felt disappointed if your room was not cleaned till late but we cannot clean the room when the guests are inside the room. The room was left in the afternoon and cleaned as soon as you left the room, we don't disturb our guest if the are inside the room. New towels, soap and everything else it is replaced when we clean the room. If you stay into the room we cannot disturb you.
The 10 euros you paid for were city tax (2 euros per night per person) and 2 bottles of water (1 euro each bottle) and you did receive your invoice.
I feel sorry that you were expecting a complementary water but unfortunatly it is not for free, again the price it is just 1 euro per bottle.
Kind regards,
Giorgio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Fabiola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018
Thank pablo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Gambarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Modica hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Palazzo Failla
Hotel Palazzo Failla
#2 of 18 in Modica
514 reviews
1.1 km away
FerroHotel
FerroHotel
#6 of 18 in Modica
276 reviews
3.8 km away
Modica Palace Hotel
Modica Palace Hotel
#4 of 18 in Modica
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Principe d'Aragona
6.3 km away
Pietre Nere Resort
Pietre Nere Resort
#1 of 18 in Modica
570 reviews
0.5 km away
Grana Barocco Art Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Giorgio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Giorgio Hotel

Address: Via Lantieri 45, 97015, Modica, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Modica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Modica
Price Range: C$87 - C$143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Giorgio Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring free WiFi and a terrace, San Giorgio Hotel offers accommodations in Modica. Guests can enjoy the on-site bar. Every room comes with a flat-screen TV. Every room is fitted with a private bathroom with a bidet and shower, with free toiletries provided. You will find a 24-hour front desk at the property. In the city center of Modica. Noto is 27.4 km from the property. The nearest airport is Comiso Airport, 19.3 km from San Giorgio Hotel. This is our guests' favorite part of Modica, according to independent reviews. This property also has one of the top-rated locations in Modica! Guests are happier about it compared to other properties in the area. This property is also rated for the best value in Modica! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your San Giorgio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Giorgio Hotel Modica, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing